2005 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Do not be put off by the badge!



General Comments:

A mean looking car with mean performance to match.

Magic black is the colour to have, as the white and black seats have a strong contrast.

However, if you turn the ASR off, you will end up paying through the nose for new front tyres!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

2005 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland


Great car - nice to have something more unique!


Faulty alarm sensor made alarm go off randomly. Fixed same day by local dealership (not the dealership I bought the car through).

General Comments:

Excellent compromise between power and economy. Using expensive "Ultimate" diesel, I can average over 60mpg on my 30 mile journey to work. More likely to get around 45mpg if I pushed it.

Pulls extremely well in all gears, except for 1st - as with most diesels, 1st gear is only going to get you moving before a change is needed. That's why the 0-60 time is not that great. I'm sure that it would beat many more cars on a 10-60mph race.

Slightly plain dashboard, but very comfortable car. Heated seats and sunroof are nice extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

2005 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 dieseel from UK and Ireland


Best car I have ever owned



General Comments:

The car has been sensational.

I have had many company cars, ranging from a Jeep Grand Cherokee to a Vauxhall Cavalier, but have never had so much fun in a car as this one.

I have decided to buy my own car this time, rather than take a company car, and have not regretted any minute of this.

The car is excellent, and despite the stigma that other people seem to put on the car, I find myself proud to own a Skoda.

I have done only 3500 in the car so far, but every mile has been full of fun.

I cannot recommend this car strongly enough………….

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

22nd Sep 2006, 05:25

It's too soon, after 3500 miles, to get an opinion about so many aspects. Post again at 300.000 miles!

27th Feb 2007, 16:01

"Post again at 300.000 miles!"

Be sure to send us any other comments the next time you visit the planet earth.

28th Feb 2007, 06:03

You can write a review on the Fabia Vrs after a 10 minute test drive. That's all it takes to realise why most owners feel like they have their own secret nuclear weapon. Torque, torque & more torque... and 300,000 miles later, you'll still be talking about how much torque it has.

2005 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 TDI 131Hp from Croatia


This toy is for those of us who never knew how to play with other children


I've had the car for less than two weeks, so nothing serious that could have gone wrong. Then again...

There is some weird resonating noise coming from under the car when full throttle is applied. Maybe it's the exhaust (anyone?).

The antenna is probably not set up correctly, since my radio can't search for stations automatically, only manually. When set, the signal is lost if I enter narrow streets or tree avenues!

When going over 120km/h, I hear a *TUP* *TUP* *TUP* noise from somewhere. I doubt it's a rock between tire channels, since it's been there from day one.

Got a screw in my rear left tire the very first day I had the car (now have a new tire, this one is a reserve) =)

General Comments:

I must say that carsurvey.org was one of the biggest decisive arguments for buying a new car. It was the vRS that had great reviews, and since it was my first choice, the thing was set! Got it new from the factory in under one month.

What to say about the car that hasn't been said already? It's damn faster than the SDI I test drove =)

Now seriously, it's extremely quiet for a diesel; inside you can barely hear it.

The turbo is very happy, whooshes even at 1100 RPM.

Ride setup is really something I admire, handling is GREAT while not sacrificing comfort. City driving is a breeze; don't hear or feel the potholes, and no fear climbing sidewalks either.

Already had a few close calls; once I braked in the middle of a bend, and the car just said "At this point most cars would run into that tree over there, but I won't so be careful next time" =) The car tells you exactly where its limits are!

Tires that come with the car (Continental ContiSport2) are very good. Even when raining, the car doesn't slip in second and third! Nice looks too.

Looks of the car... In daylight it doesn't quite show itself, but when night falls (dusk especially) and the xenon headlights fire up... Uh, it just runs through you like poison.

Now something I would like other Fabia vRS owners to comment...

I thought the car would be FASTER.

Yes, it gives punch in every gear.

Yes, it goes 160km/h in town without even knowing it.

Yes, it goes thorough city traffic like hell.

Yes, other cars just pile up in your rear view mirror.

But I expected more...

Somehow when I pass the initial punch, there isn't any more brutal acceleration. The speedo and the revs go up, but no feel =(

Maybe it's due to the its heavy weight, by the papers I got with it... 1347kg!!! Somehow I doubt it's true, more like 1247kg.

I even had a few measurements of my own.

80-120km/h in fourth the RS does in 6.8s.

My old Nexia (75hp, 990kg) did that in third in 7.5s. Not such a big difference.

The 700 eur ECU mod to 164 HP is my next upgrade. Will have to wait for that though (or buy one of those Powerboxes for 300, which I don't like)...

The fuel economy isn't bright either; 10l/100km in town and 6.5 open road.

Maybe that goes to the fact the car is new and the revs never drop under 2000 (I always accelerate at over 3000, don't want any outtake elements clogging). Also, I quite often I drive like I stole it =)

Oh yeah, I almost forgot, ABS on bumpy road is death! But that's not Skoda's fault.

What other people have already mentioned is the "looks of other people's faces when you pass them". That is incredibly true! I have to share this with you...

Just the other day I was cruising around town when a BMW 3xx (the old one, which looks like a cube) fully tuned (alloy wheels, sports exhaust, sports suspension...) got past me doing a slalom during rush hour. I waited till the traffic cleared, and then just put the pedal to the metal...

That next moment was the very reason Skoda built this car.

When the guy saw the xenon headlight in his rear view mirror, he revved his BMW to the fullest, but it was too late, I just whooshed past him.

Now, what happened next is truly amazing.

He saw it was a SKODA FABIA that took him, I was going about 120~130km/h and had to take a turn right, I slowed down. It was obvious he had to go straight because of his speed, but NO, he stopped in the middle of the road and wanted to go around me somehow, just to be first, left right, almost looked like he wanted to go over the sidewalk! But it was too late, we got to another traffic jam and I slowly stopped while he went his old way furious =)

I had more similar occurrences, but none so interesting (more like giving a short honk or blink when the race is over), yet =)

If you can't buy one, definitely TRY one, you'll love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

6th Oct 2005, 01:50

Yes, ABS on a bumpy road is death, that is its biggest drawback

6th Oct 2005, 04:43

Turbodiesels are never as fast as they feel. If they were, nobody would buy petrol cars.

8th Oct 2005, 10:29

It's me again (the author =) ).

I had to make a little trip around the country in the last two days, traveled a bit over 600km.

Anyway, I calculated the fuel consumption not by the board computer, but by filling it up to the fullest at the gas station. 100% of very active city driving, 8.5l/100km! And it could go lower!

On the other hand, open road (measured on 310km), 5.6l! And I didn't spare it, no-one was in front of me =)

Highway consumption is 6.7l (measured on ~270km), mostly driving around 140-150.

Also had more fun with a lot more powerful cars =) ) )

Will keep you updated since my radio antenna is dead, can't catch anything anymore, and the car is shaking while driving fast. Will see what the dealer has to say.

2005 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 TDI 130 from UK and Ireland


Unique blend of driver appeal, fun and economy


No problems.

General Comments:

Fast fun & frugal. The VRS provides relaxed performance that's accessible on a day-to-day basis.

Good comfort and practicality for a small hatch, very good for a car with this performance.

Practical, but light coloured upholstery is not ideal for family use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2005