2004 Skoda Octavia Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Skoda Octavia L&K 1.9 TDi from India

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carHonda City

Summary:

BIG NO - please do not waste your hard earned money

Faults:

1) After 2000 km of running, the clutch became heavy. It's so heavy that it's hard to drive in city conditions for more than half an hour. Strangely Skoda cannot do any thing (as the dealer said). They told me that I should learn to live with this.

2) Horn is way too hard to press. It needs to used frequently on Indian roads.

3) Steering is much harder than other cars.

4) Leather seats and granite solid steering in the L&K is also a let down.

5) Engine gets killed suddenly at low RPM, and can invite an ACCIDENT if the car behind comes, since you have to turn the ignition way back to zero & crank it again.

General Comments:

A BIG NO to folks wanting to buy this car. It is a tank like car in terms of safety & has very good mileage, but what's the use if you find it hard to drive.

After all, cars cheap or expensive, have to first get driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

1st Apr 2006, 13:15

Most of your gripes look to be fundamental traits of the car rather than faults.

I can't comment on the engine killing bit as I have no idea what you mean by this.

3rd Apr 2006, 01:07

They're still much better cars than Tata!

10th Aug 2006, 11:05

I have been using a Skoda Octavia L&K since January 2006, but I don't have any problems yet.

Recently I changed the audio system. After that I coudn't get steering wheel remote system working. Please tell me what I have to do to get the previous functions working (Steering Wheel Remote System).

Thanking you

2004 Skoda Octavia Elegance Auto 1.8T from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Refined, smooth and powerful cruiser

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is a cruiser, and makes no pretense otherwise. More 'sporting' drivers will prefer the vRS. It does however handle quite well and have plenty of power.

The 1.8T engine is the same unit that powers the Audi A3/A4 and VW Bora/Passat - 20-valves, variable valve timing and the K03S turbo. It has a smooth delivery with very little lag and provides ample power. Quiet when cruising, it also sounds good when worked hard.

The 4-speed automatic gearbox is smooth and changes quickly, never leaving you stuck in the wrong gear. Gearing is quite long and as a result initial pull-away is quite leisurely, but quickly picks up. This is where the extra 1.5s to 60 is compared to the manuals. 75mph in 2nd gear however means overtaking is effortless and the car feels quick.

The interior is smart and well made - no squeaks or rattles and everything works properly. Road and wind noise are well controlled, and the seats are comfortable.

The Climatronic air-conditioning works extremely well and is a "set and forget" system. It can take a while to cool the car if it has been standing in the sun though.

Other features such as cruise control and parking sensors work very well.

It is hard for me to fault this car, especially at the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

20th May 2004, 17:55

Be careful. You may cook the turbo and it will dissapoint you if you try to race the car with 75 mph in second gear.

On some Passat models this engine is derated because of that.

3rd Jun 2004, 02:11

The auto box won't let you take the engine past the red line.

29th Jun 2004, 06:19

I get high 60s in 2nd before it changes up at the redline after kickdown from 3rd when overtaking. Must have different gearing or redline to get to 75? Or does selecting '2' allow it to rev (needlessly IMHO) beyond the redline?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews