2008 Skoda Octavia Reviews

2008 Skoda Octavia Elegance Estate 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

A Golf that's better than a Golf, which is what the Golf should be!!

Faults:

Nothing really, the dark grey paint marks easily.

General Comments:

52,000 miles in one year! And nothing's gone wrong.

Front tyres replaced at 30,000 miles, rear tires only last week at 50,000 miles.

I have had a lot of cars, and they always have to do approx 50,000 miles per year. Normally after the end of the first year, the car will start to feel a little worn, and by the end of the second year, a bit ropey! End of the third... scrap!

But the Skoda still feels secure and strong... dependable, Golf like, but better, bigger and cheaper with a better ride due to the Skoda suspension (slightly softer).

The drive is a little truck/4x4 like in a good way, feels very planted at all times.

On the down side, the 1.9 TDi engine is coarse, but pulls strongly in all gears. I would like to try the new 1.6 TDI CR engine next time!

It returns around 47 mpg most of the time more, if I don't push it.

The dark grey paint is very thin; branches of trees can scratch the paint, which is disappointing.

Climate control, leather steering wheel, gear knob etc all have a quality feel.

At the end of the day it smashes my old pug 307 SW into pieces, then puts them all back together and smashes it again just for the sake of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2009

23rd Dec 2009, 16:27

That's a lot of miles you do. It would be great if you could update us, say, every 6 months (given the distances you travel) regarding any problems you encounter.

24th Jun 2010, 15:30

Just a update, 76000 miles, still no problems.

On the second set of rear tyres and 3rd set of front's, which is very good!

Engine, gear box etc all OK.

Just about to go in for its 4th service, which I do believe is a major service, possibly cam belt change, which could be expensive if running the car as a private car.

We have about nine Octavias in work, and this is typical of them all, no real problems with any of them.

29th Jul 2013, 09:24

My Skoda's been gone for a while. This car did 146,000 in its 3 years with me.

The car did let me down once with a bad relay.

I miss this car; it was a good one. It did have alignment issues after a motorcyclist fell off and collided with it, but that was also all fixed.

A good car, one of the best I have had. Space, reliability, comfort and economy in one affordable package.

The registration was RE58 VNT if anyone has it!

2008 Skoda Octavia RS 2.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired28 kilometres
Most recent distance5455 kilometres
Previous carHonda Legend

Summary:

An amazing car for the price, ahead of the pack

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, but that is expected, I bought it brand new.

General Comments:

This is a new Octavia RS 2.0 Turbo Diesel wagon with DSG.

When I first got it, the car was very tight, a bit stiff perhaps, but also a sign of good build quality.

After 5,000 kms, it has loosened up a bit and is much more comfortable to drive. My previous car was a very comfortable Honda Legend, so it took a bit of getting used to. It is much more comfortable now.

This car is seriously quick. It has incredible acceleration and holds the road like glue.

Fuel economy is fantastic now averaging around 5.8ltr/100kms. I drive over 100kms to work each day with a share of city and highway driving.

The cabin is very roomy and storage with the back seat down is pretty big.

The features are very good, and it is surprising how many features are available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2009

5th Jul 2010, 06:52

Well I have this car for 15 months now and have had problems for the last 3 months. Firstly the glow plug alarm started beeping intermittently, then every 5 seconds. The engine service light came on at the same time. That was just the start.

I live in the Canberra region, and to make a booking to see the local dealer takes a month every time. So I ring up to get the glow plug alarm checked, a month later they say they need to replace the throttle control in the computer. OK, so wait another month. During that month the Diesel Particulate Filter alarm comes on. So when I take it back, they say the DPF needs to be replaced, wait another month. This is annoying as the vehicle had gone into "limp" mode, meaning it has no power at all. I drive 40 kms on a highway to get to work so this mode can be pretty dangerous at times, if not very frustrating ie, only able to do 80km/hr up a slight incline and taking a long time to speed up to 100 km/hr.

So after 5 weeks of limp mode, I take it back and they say Skoda sent the wrong part, wait another month and start again. Needless to say I am not happy. I have complained to Skoda and the dealer, but who knows.

The end result is that 25% of the time I have this car from new, it has had problems. I have little faith they they will fix it next time. To be continued...

24th Jan 2014, 16:00

Well 5 years on and the car is going great. As for the DPF filter problem, it turned out to be the sensor that was the culprit and a problem for many turbo diesel owners. So I bought a new sensor and had the local garage replace it and get the computer to commence an adaption process. The car runs great.

All in all, this car is as good as the day I bought it. Fantastic value.

25th Jan 2014, 16:12

What's your mileage now, five years later?

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews