2008 Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI from Sweden

Summary:

Most bang for the buck of any brand

Faults:

A little noisy on the inside with winter tires on.

General Comments:

Very quick engine, acceleration 0-60 is phenomenal.

It puts a smile on your face every time you push the gas pedal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2008

23rd Mar 2010, 02:54

I know for sure the Octavia is an accomplished car with lots of good/excellent reports said about it.

I'm contemplating buying an Octavia Estate, probably in 103kW-118kW (14bhp-160bhp) 1.4TSi guise or the heavier-engined 118kW (160bhp) 1.8TSI model.

Any news/info/figures on your real world fuel consumption? Thanks

2008 Skoda Octavia RS 2.0 TFSI from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Rapid, comfortable and excellent value!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

This car replaced my Mazda 3 2.3 litre MPS - nice car, but the handling was not very good. The Skoda is a little slower, but handles better and is a much better package overall.

I got the car for a very good price. Very very impressed with the performance, handling, equipment level and comfort. The car is extremely spacious inside and the build and trim quality is excellent - I have previously owned Audi and the Skoda is of a similar quality. Economy is good so far.

My car is equipped with dual-zone aircon, power windows, auto-lights, auto-dipping mirror, auto-wipers, 18" alloys etc etc. Pretty much all I could want in terms of equipment.

Downsides: Rather a lot of road noise in the back from those 18" tyres. Stereo is adequate, but could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2008

2008 Skoda Octavia Ambiente Estate 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Nothing, but will keep this updated just in-case.

General Comments:

I bought my 1.4 Ambiente estate on the 28th of February, though I did have to wait 8 weeks for it to be delivered. I got no extras or anything fancy off the dealer, only got a mph speedometer which I wanted.

I bought aftermarket 17" alloys, as the Skoda alloys were very dear in my opinion, and a K&N induction kit to give it a nice sound.

I have now wrapped up 5600 miles as of today, and what a blast it has been. The car has exceeded my dreams in every-way, it will give everything when pushed hard.

This I know some people will probably disagree on, but it will run 100mph in 4th gear. I didn't believe it either, but have done it a few times so you may test it for yourself.

The handling is smooth, even on tight twisty roads, and steering feels weighted.

The boot is massive, even with the back seats up.

The interior is nothing special, but everything is nicely positioned and the radio is top notch, and has the iPod connector, which comes in very handy for long distances.

The economy is very good - near 450 miles on a tank on only city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2008

24th Jun 2009, 17:21

I have now racked up 19000 miles as of today, and got it its first service as well today. The service which also included a new left wing mirror glass came to €189, which in my opinion was very cheap. The car is still as fresh as the day I bought her, and gets better as the miles are climbing in my opinion. M.P.G is averaging 40' which is very good. Next service is due in another 15000 miles, hopefully won't have to write anything till then.

2008 Skoda Octavia Elegance Estate 1.9 turbo diesel (105ps) from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap to run, very practical and well equipped

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Cheap to run, and incredibly practical and well equipped. Quality of materials inside is excellent too.

Only complaint so far is the road noise from the standard fit Bridgestone tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2008

2008 Skoda Octavia Elegance 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great value for money!!

Faults:

Nothing yet!! 8 months and no faults!!

General Comments:

Great power and great pulling ability!

Rather fast and sticks to the corners like glue (probably the diesel engine?)

Great mpg.

Seats are uncomfortable on long journeys, and a little too hard!

Automatic wipers are not a good idea, either too fast or too slow.

Great interior cloth - Eniment Onyx, goes well with the colour - Anthracite Grey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

2008 Skoda Octavia Classic 1.9 PD tubro diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent car and value for money

Faults:

Reverse gear difficult to select. Have been back to dealer for adjustment that only lasted 2 weeks. Have to go back again, is this a common fault?

O/r passenger door adjusted and boot lid adjusted.

General Comments:

I use this car for a taxi, and the m.p.g is great. I`m getting around 50m.p.g about town, and in the 60`s on a run.

I would recommend this car if you are looking for a new cheap car to run.

Comfort is OK, and use the lumber support.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2008