2006 Subaru B9 Tribeca Limited 9 Passenger from North America - Comments

18th Dec 2006, 07:23

"Don't forget that subaru is partialy owned by GM and that the tribeca is actualy a saturn."

Wow. There's not one part of that statement that is accurate. Subaru is a division of Fuji Heavy Industries and is not at all owned by GM.

27th Jan 2007, 14:17

I have a Subaru with 10000 miles on it, haven't had an issue with the car. I love the way this car handles and drives. About the only negative comment might be the gas mileage which appears to be less than the EPA MPG ratings. Other than that great SUV!

27th Jan 2007, 15:34

Subaru was majority-owned by GM for a while (GM owned something like 25% of it) which is why the Saab 92-X came into being. GM sold off its share two years ago, which is a shame since Subaru was one of the few quality "divisions" GM had.

The part about the Saturn is wrong. Some modern Saturn minivans/crossovers have shared platforms with Opel/Vauxhall owned by GM.

5th Jun 2007, 13:14

The real issue with the Tribeca is it's abysmal sales record. These vehicles have massively missed Subaru's sales targets. The vehicle is ugly. I'm sorry to those who bought them, but they are on par with the Pontiac Aztec in terms of appearance. There is not enough lipstick to put on this pig. Subaru will have redesign the exterior if they want to see sales climb.

15th Jul 2007, 01:53

I bought my Subaru 2006 Tribeca. I love the way it handles and everything about it. BUT, It has been in the shop 4 times due to overheating issues (close to the red zone). Each time the dealer had to replace something. the dealer replaced the radiator, theromstat and flush and fill the cooling system. they cannot figure out whats the issue or at least that's what they tell me. I've had the rental car 4 times as well this past 2 months... Now it seems the car over heats (close to the red zone) when its in sports mode and the AC is on. I live in the mountain area; dealer tells me its normal operation whereas everyone else tells me that's not normal. My gut tells me there is a defect somewhere... In order for the dealer to duplicate the issue, they would have to climb the mountain. But Subaru of america will be authorize a tech to drive up the mountain...

22nd Jul 2007, 01:11

There must have been something wrong with the cooling system, it was redesigned for 2008.

23rd Jul 2007, 13:59

There never was a 9 passenger model of this vehicle ever made.

22nd Sep 2007, 18:53

Someone mentioned something about a tie in with Subaru and Saturn. Have you looked at a Saturn?

Subaru's have had all wheel drive and a flat 4 engine for years. Are you saying there is a Saturn with a boxer engine?

About the only similarity, both have or had a tie in with GM and have better than average safety ratings.

RGM.

20th Dec 2007, 17:27

I hate mine too. Mine has had two complete suspensions and still rides like a box truck. On my fourth set of headlights, the side of the seat came apart, the fuse cover fell off and I ran it over. The only good news is it's a lease and back it goes. Watch out next buyer.

22nd Jun 2008, 21:25

I believe that this reviewer is just another competitor trying to scare people away from this exceptionally nice and reliable car. (Probably a Ford or Toyota Salesman - Just kidding!)

9th Jul 2008, 11:59

I have owned a Subaru Legacy for 11 years.. has over 200k miles on it and will out run any car in town going up the side of a mountain. Subaru is the BEST car I have ever owned.

I have had many other brands in my years but this car kicks it in all directions. NO Engine issues, no NOTHING issues.

The Tribeca was a flop... anyone who has one I feel for, but if yours works well then consider yourself lucky. I agree with the person above who said they thought this was a sales guy trying to bash Subaru, because they can't sell their domestic CRAP to ANYONE anymore.. did I say that..oops..sorry.

My dad would never buy Japanese because he lived during the war, but I know 9 people with Subaru's and we all love our cars.. they go through anything...snow, ice, flooding, whatever we throw at it... and we don't have to have GAS GUZZLING SUV's to go up a mountain or cut through snow.

The ONLY complaint I have with Subaru is their SEATS... I swear you think your riding in a go cart. If they could build a seat like HONDA, then they would have the whole enchilada!!!

Tribeca...never was a 9 passenger made...yes, back window is TOO SMALL... I agree too dangerous. I liked the B9's interior but the functionality was too small for me. If you really want a good SUV go check out the NEW 08 and 09 Forresters.

Dave.

30th Oct 2008, 10:33

I had the 2006 5-Passenger model. The basic really. I have to say this is a great car. Never once had a break down or any engine problems what so ever.

-The ride is a comfortable one. At 109 MPH the car doesn't feel like it's going to fall apart like others do.

-It's quiet when you're cruising and when you put your foot it makes a great noise.

-The turning circle is not a great one I will admit.

-The acceleration was a bit lazy from 0.

-Brakes were amazing.

-A/C and heating excellent.

-Styling was not too great.

-Driven this through snow and mud never gotten stuck.

-MPG in city was 17MPG. 22MPG if I really really tried. Highway was 24ish (I never got better than 26MPG.

-Not the easiest car to park.

Overall a great car. Though I don't see how you could fit 7 people in the other model.

1st Nov 2008, 20:14

Well the Foresters are junk, just look at the reviews for all modern Subarus. In order to make them last for more than 100k, you have to spend a fortune.

30th Dec 2008, 00:47

Are you talking about Motor Trend's Car of the Year, the 09 Forester, or the other Forester's that have continually rated tops in Gov't crash worthiness tests, as well as Consumer Reports "Best Buy" for how many years running? Puhleeeze.

15th Feb 2009, 06:36

I agree that the sales did miss the target on the B9. It is one of those vehicles you either love or hate the looks of.

I have a 2007 with around 15K so far and have not had one issue with anything. The person who said Foresters were junk seems to be misinformed. Just look at the data available. Subaru had their entire lineup get recommended by Consumer Reports for 2008.

My family had been driving them for about 10 years now and have no plans to change. The outer design changes did spur much better sales for the Tribeca until the car market and the economy started sliding, so you can't fault the looks on that one.

Someone also posted that Subaru was owned by GM and that the Tribeca was a Saturn. This is not true. GM did own a small part of Fuji Heavy Industries which owns the Subaru brand. I think it was less than 10% that they owned. Don't quote me but I think it was 6%-8%. They sold all holdings to Toyota a few years ago and then Toyota bought some additional stock in Fuji Heavy Industries. They now own somewhere around 16% of it.

Anyway... Back when GM had the stock, they did use some Subaru technology in a SAAB. No GM technology was ever used on Subaru vehicles. GM wanted them to mate an inline 4cyl to the AWD system and they basically told them to get on down the road. Toyota is now sharing some of their manufacturing know how with Subaru to keep costs down and build their vehicles more efficiently. You will notice that Subaru has been able to lower base prices on most of its vehicles in the past few years, which is rare these days. There is also no such thing as a stripped down plain Subaru anymore. They decided to start making many options people included in the base vehicle to help with resale value. I hope this helps.

I am a bit biased since I do work for Subaru at the Indiana plant where the Tribeca, Outback, and Legacy are built. But my family was driving them well before I ever went to work there. I worked for Toyota before that so I have seen how they both are made, and let me tell you Toyota uses much cheaper parts, paint, etc... and they build their cars much faster. The interior of a Camry basically snaps together and the Subaru has more screws and bolts holding things in place. Toyota does not even use primer under the paint on the Camry. Like I said, I am a bit biased, but I have owned them for years and have only ever had a wheel bearing on an Impreza get noisy that had to be replaced before it was supposed to be.