Subaru Baja Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Subaru Baja Turbo 2.5 boxer turbo from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 boxer turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance9820 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Comfortable, quiet, responsive motoring, good utility, great all weather performance

Faults:

So far there have been no service issues beyond normal maintenance.

General Comments:

Very quiet and comfortable. Suspension is very compliant in the rough stuff and cornering on pavement is quite flat and precise with minimal body roll, considering the generous ground clearance. Seats are good on the long haul with good lumbar, bottom and side support. Steering offers excellent feedback and is quick and precise. Handling is very secure in all weather and performance snow tires make it unstoppable in the bad stuff. Turbo motor is responsive and smooth, but gas mileage could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

2005 Subaru Baja sport from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10700 miles
Most recent distance11900 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Fantastic vehicle that's fun, sure, and reliable!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Great concept car, perfect for the weekend project or the daily commute. It's powerful, sure footed, and drives like a dream. It is a solid vehicle with all the creature comforts you want. Very sporty. Having owned 4 SUV's before this AWD, I can tell you there is no comparison! The AWD is head and shoulders above the 4x4 in handling snow and rain and wind. I am a Suburu convert! Gas is about the same as SUVs, and slightly better then trucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

18th Feb 2006, 10:58

Makes you wonder why Subaru is having such a tough time selling these...

18th May 2006, 14:34

Can you go up a tire size with AWD cars like the Baja?

1st Mar 2007, 05:30

The Baja isn't a bad car. I got one. What Subaru did, was try to make a vehicle for people who were either in college or just getting out. Good company, but they totally misread the market, and last I heard, still had some 2005's sitting in storage unsold. The car just cost too much for people just starting out in life.

So instead of people buying them for surfboards and skies, us middle-aged people who can afford them find them perfect for dump runs, trips to the hardware store, or a local greenhouse.

I do carry a bike now and then.

8th Mar 2007, 06:46

Apparently not enough middle-aged people were buying them, which may be why Subaru quietly dropped the Baja after 2006.

26th Sep 2008, 22:19

I bought my daughter her baja for the last year of high school and now in college. Have to drive on the 4 seasons of Dakota roads. Best and safest vehicle on ice or gravel there has been made. Got 27 MPG before the first oil change and been about 24 to 29 in all conditions. Rides better and more stable than our 05 Outback. Seats seem to fit good and only beef is that the rear seat should have been made to hold and seat-belt 3 people, minor to say the least. Interior lighting when its dark out could be better also. Go Subaru.I'd buy another but don't want my daughter to lose that special feeling.

2005 Subaru Baja Turbo 2.5 turbo from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance19450 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Perfect fit

Faults:

Window seals leak, making a buzzing sound at extreme speeds.

Paint was peeling off of climate control unit. Dealer replaced entire unit, no questions asked.

General Comments:

Very unique, only offered in North America and a few select countries in south America. Built in Indiana. It gets a lot of looks and the turbo will surprise a lot of people on the road. Solid reliability and great dealer support. Absolutely unstoppable in foul weather (snow tires help). Can haul a lot more than it would appear if you are creative. Does everything I wanted it to and more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

10th Mar 2006, 22:35

I agree this vehicle will haul, hold and carry an amazing variety of things if you're creative. Some people complain the bed is small, but it's bigger than what you get with any SUV or wagon, and you can strap things down and attach any number of racks. I have mine rigged with removable tools: a bike rack in the bed, a pair of weather-treated 2x4's in the slots provided for them with brackets, loops, and tie-downs, a Yakima roof rack, and with the factory tie-down loops, bed rails, switch-back, bed extender, and so forth, I have not really had problems getting things to stick and hold to this little car. Strap a pair of long 2x4's front-to-back on cheap canoe brackets attached to the Yakima roof bars and you can carry sheet rock. If you need more space or load capacity, get a big pickup. But then you have to drive a big pickup.

27th Apr 2006, 17:22

I have a 4x4 2500HD 6.0, and have been considering down sizing to a baja turbo. I know there is a big difference and central Texas has little or snow.I'm concerned about reliability and plan on putting a min. of 250.000 miles on this truck. The salesman talk positive, but I need owner comments. I know the load and carrying capacity is less, but I have trailer that can be used. What are some of your comments. I do go to the mountains frequently, and my present truck is great " but " 10 mpg.

15th Jun 2006, 16:06

You should be able to double you mileage with the Baja although you can only carry about 900 lbs.

31st Jan 2011, 13:08

How is the gas mileage on the Baja?

2nd Feb 2011, 11:39

Expect around 24 MPG combined, I get about 22 city/25 highway, with an automatic. Mind you, I have the Outback and not the Baja, but they are on the same chassis and driveline. I'd expect something similar.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews