2003 Subaru Baja Sport 2.5 from North America


Reliable, practical, and it rules in snow


Had to have 2 seals replaced near corners of front windows because of wind noise.

General Comments:

This thing gets looks wherever it goes.

The bed is made more useful by the bed extender you can get for it.

Works for small hayrides!!

This thing goes everywhere in snow!!!

You change the oil and drive it, that simple.

We love it so much we're thinking of selling this one and getting a newer model with turbo.

If you look at reliability rankings, Subaru is doing excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

2003 Subaru Baja Sport 2.5 liter4 cylinder boxer from North America


You get your money's worth with this one


Wind noise on driver front window gasket. A rock took out left fog light.

General Comments:

It's been very solid and reliable. Aside from the wind gasket in the left front door, nothing wrong with the car. Only things I ever did was scheduled maintenance since it was bought for 23000 bucks.

I have hauled everything including the kitchen sink. Added a tonneau cover lately, so now the bed is covered. Plywood could be a problem, but it can carry anything else.

Goes anywhere, I mean anywhere. Snow, Ice, Sleet, Rain, it gets more places then the USPS. Limited slip and AWD makes slick look like dry. Not a rocket off the line, but it can cruise down the road. Mileage is about 28 on the highway.

Rear visibility kinda poor, but I use my side mirrors anyway. Legroom is barely adequate, but I come with long legs anyway.

Still not used to the silver cladding, that's gonna go bye-bye someday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

1st Mar 2007, 05:17

I posted that review in 2004. It's now 2007, February. The car is solid as a rock. The only thing of note is that the right side of the stereo is out and I have no intention of tearing the car apart to fix it. It's hauled just about everything.

Regret to say that since it is a pickup, it has been treated like a pickup, so it has more than it's fair share of dings and scratches. Over fifty thousand miles now.

2005 Subaru Baja Turbo 2.5L turbo from North America


There is no other car I would rather drive


Nothing as of late.

General Comments:

I look for reasons just to drive it.

It handles better than my Honda did.

It cruises at 80 mph.

It is different, in a good way, than any other cars out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2004

2003 Subaru Baja V4 from North America


Rides like a Boeing 747


Not one thing wrong with this car yet. And hopefully there never will be since it is a Subaru.

General Comments:

This car is so solid it isn't funny. The turning radius is excellent.

Acceleration for the car is real good considering it has only a tiny V4 in it.

It is unstoppable in the snow. Brakes are still good and look new the service man said.

Stylish and unique in every way. That's what I like, it catches eyes and there's not a lot of them around.

Inside the car is great. The leather seats are very comfortable and everything is in reach. The sunroof adds so much to it. The shifting pattern is weird, but I like the old fashion shifting in a row. The electric seats are a bit slow. But for what I paid for the car, approximately $19,750.00, I can't complain at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

28th Jan 2005, 12:31

That's not a v4 in your baja, it's a boxer 4.

26th Apr 2005, 16:37

I just took ownership of my new 2005 BAJA turbo this Saturday, (with full leather interior).

I can't agree with you more, it rides like a 747, it's a kick in the pants to drive!!

Just buy chance the plate number that was issued with my new starts with 747 and the last three letters are T S A(transportation safety administration), coincidence??? Kind of spooky.


19th May 2005, 13:51

You hardly ever seen any Bajas on the road and when you do see one, invariably it is being driven by an old geezer or geezette, not exactly the target market Subaru was aiming for!

4th Sep 2005, 12:56

I have put nearly 14000 miles on my 05 Baja Turbo since February 05, not a rattle no problems at all. I love this car.

27th Apr 2006, 16:42

Gas mileage is killing me with my present 2500HD silverado, and this is a step down for sure, but reliability is paramount. not to mention gas mileage. the Subaru turbo is where I'm headed this weekend to buy, keep writing your comments it will help me decide.

11th Jan 2007, 03:53

I am 21 and own a 2003 Baja with 67,000 miles on it. in the last year I have put 28,000 miles on it. I took it to North Carolina last spring and took it on the beach (stupidly). the clutch was burning and it got so bad I had to stop and let it cool down. when I got back in it drove off the beach no problem. after I took it to a mechanic he told me I should get at-least 20000 more miles. I now am over 20000 and the clutch is still going strong with no other problems and I am planing my next trip to North Carolina with out worry. this is my first Subaru and I am very impressed and pleased with it.

13th Feb 2012, 11:54

Be nice now - just because I bought a used Baja 2003 at age 62, doesn't make me old at heart! I owned a Subaru Brat way back in 1975, and that too was fun.

29th Jul 2013, 21:43

That's the way we feel too! Go 62.