2001 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2001 Subaru Forester 2 litre non Turbo 2 litre non turbo from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2 litre non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres

Summary:

A good value for money investment

Faults:

Rattling sounds in the back of car. Timing and Fan belt breakage causes major problems.

General Comments:

This car was chosen because I wanted to have a new 4X4. Made detailed research to what was available in Singapore. The positive reviews were main reason for the purchase. Was not disappointed with the car although I wish the design was a little more progressive. However, the local licensed dealer is truly the all time winner for the Worst Dealer Award. The car was handed to me covered in dust and the fuel tank empty. Several times when I sent it in for service my ceiling lining was soiled by the mechanics. They refused to do anything about it.

The car itself is an excellent and safe car. However, it is not perfect. When the timing belt broke, all hell also broke out. The power steering failed and accelration disappeared. Fortunately they repaired it very quickly, but of course all belts were paid by me.

The rims were OEM, but really dull looking. Tyre provided are capable, but noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2003

2001 Subaru Forester L 2.4 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance18600 kilometres

Summary:

Great potential, but get the bugs out!

Faults:

At the beginning, I had great difficulty filling the fuel tank. It would require "trickling" the fuel into the tank and take 15 - 20 minutes. Subaru could not identify the problem. This difficulty has somewhat disappeared, however, on the odd, random occasion, I cannot fill the tank completely.

Second, every 1 - 1 1/2 months the fuel economy drops through the floor and is reduce by approximately 1/3. No rhyme nor reason to it and Subaru cannot seem to identify the cause. It's very frustrating and I am pursuing the issue with Subaru now.

General Comments:

The Forester has definite potential and I like the All Wheel Drive. I just wish that the good times, when every thing works well, would be all the time; I only have 18000 kilometers (11000 miles) on the odometer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

13th Mar 2003, 21:15

Hello: Possible cause of fuel consumption could be either air conditioning in summer, or defrost in winter (air conditioning as well). To check this, idle in park, turn fan on, and check each heat setting, Listen to engine for idle to change. Unknown to some drivers, that defrost uses air conditioning.

2001 Subaru Forester S with premium Package 2.5 litre 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

A nicely designed car that is backed by a disreputable company

Faults:

The 2001 Subaru Forester S with Premium Pkg. ran well for the first 45,000 miles except for a constant odor of oil. No wet oily spots were visible under the vehicle until about 44,000 miles when it was discovered that the automatic transmission was leaking onto the catalytic converter which had been burning the leaking oil. The car had the transmission replaced under warranty and 3 days after getting it back the motor suffered a major failure. Subaru has not honored the warranty so I had to replace the engine myself. The new 'short-block ' threw a connecting rod, and Subaru hasn't paid for that either.

General Comments:

If you buy a Subaru product make sure you first have a good lawyer to go after the company when they fail to honor the warranty.

I purchased this vehicle because Consumer Reports rated it best in its class. It is just too bad they didn't buy the one I own, it would've changed their opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

5th Dec 2003, 18:37

Steven,

I completely agree with you regarding Subaru not standing behind its product. I bought a 2001 Subaru Forester S when it was allegedly new. It had only 17 miles on it. The first thing I noticed was that the fob didn't work to unlock the vehicle. Actually, it worked, but only if you stood on the driver's side of the vehicle, about 2 feet away. The first time I brought it in to get it repaired, the dealer told me it was fixed. I picked up my car. Not only was the fob not fixed, but the mechanic got grease all over my new carpeting.

So, I brought it back. Again, they claimed to fix it. It wasn't, but they cleaned the grease stain. In the winter, I noticed that my windshield wouldn't de-ice properly. I discovered that there was no air coming out of one of the windshield air vents. I took the car back. They told me that it was "normal" for air not to come out of ALL the vents, as they work in conjunction. So, I took it to another Subaru dealer. This guy took things apart and said that the hose had never been connected to the air vent. He connected it. I asked about the fob. He said that he'd have to take the whole dashboard apart, and he wasn't willing to spend the time doing that, since I didn't buy the car there. He also asked me if I had tampered with the wiring under the dash, because some of it was held together with electrical tape! No, I hadn't. He then said that some of the hoses under the hood appeared atypical - as if the car had been in an accident.

So, I called the Subaru "800" phone number and asked to please have a factory rep come and check out my car. They refused, saying that I needed to work things out with the original dealer who refused to fix my fob, and lied to me about my air vent, and got my car dirty.

Since that time, the cruise control light doesn't work; neither does the gadget over the rear window that is supposed to emit windshield wiper fluid. And, the gas tank flap doesn't close all the way. This car has been a hideous disappointment. And, last, but not least, the car only gets 16 miles to the gallon, and that's doing Thruway driving! No better than my Pathfinder V8. I would not recommend this car or this company to anyone.

16th Nov 2004, 21:10

I agree, Subaru seems to try its best to avoid paying for anything. They are lacking in customer service and they aren't backing their product. I can relate to your experience with them. PAINFUL.

30th Jun 2005, 15:33

I agree. My mother has an '01 and has had nothing, but problems with it. The O2 sensor has gone out on it 4 times. The dealer said it was because she was putting mid range gas in it and that the 01 Foresters must have regular gas. The self dimming mirror in it stopped working around 20K miles, the car shutters a lot in the winter and she is on her 3rd set of tires. She rotated the tires every 3000 miles when she got the oil changed. This car only has 76k on it. I told her to get a Honda next.

27th Jul 2007, 11:49

'01 Forester S, bought new, 58,900 miles, needs new plug wires and coil. #3 plug wire leaks electricity to metal retaining bracket. #3 plug wire terminal at coil cracked and arcing. $450-475 repair estimate.

2001 Subaru Forester L 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Constantly Impressing Us

Faults:

Expansion valve in Air conditioner is bad - getting replaced though.

General Comments:

My husband and I bought our car over a year and half ago. We had to replace the tires at around 25K miles, but everyone else I know with a newer car has had to do the same... no matter who the manufacturer. I beat most (if not all) other 4 cylinders off the line. The gas mileage continues to get better!We did not buy the car with the intent of off-roading, but we have become hooked. Big 4x4's look at us in amazement and confusion as they thought they were the only ones to get to certain places. I can haul ANYTHING! I don't have to take my husband's Huge truck now! My husband just recently changed my brake pads and was amazed at how easy it is to work on my car. He is looking forward to working on it now!

Dealer service not the best, but not the worst.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2002

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 53 reviews