2008 Subaru Forester XT 2.5 boxer four from UK and Ireland


When you REALLY need to move a refrigerator across a ploughed field quickly :)


Loose power steering belt.

General Comments:

I needed a car that was comfortable enough on the road to cover many motorway miles, but that was also reasonable offroad (as we have a smallholding). I found this mint Forester in Glasgow, and flew up to make the purchase.

The only problems with this car was that it had done such a low mileage. It was stiff, and belts were baggy etc.

The Forester is a real engineer-designed car, not a sexy shape, but extraordinarily practical and well screwed together.

With the Impreza WRX's 2.5 litre, 237 BHP boxer engine in it too, it is powerful enough to see off many "performance" cars.

Possibly the best and cleverest 4WD system on earth keeps the car gripping, and 8 inches of ground clearance are enough for 99% of off-road needs.

The interior is airy and comfortable if incredibly nineties-naff. Controls are heavy and require a firm shove.

It has proven so far to be a good all-rounder, all the better for not being conspicuous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2017

5th Dec 2017, 19:05

Owner here: I booked the car into a renowned expert garage to take a look at freshening everything up. Such low mileage, but the car had evidently been standing for a long time. Just as well I did; they identified a bunch of stuff that had seized or perished, and I had all fluids and cam belt replaced while it was in. This cost a quarter of the price I paid for the car, but it now looks, feels and drives like new.

Let's see how many miles I can put on this now :)

14th Dec 2017, 15:47

Owner here - talk about good timing! A weekend of heavy snow and -11 temps just passed. The Forester was flawless, traversing any depth of snow and sheen of ice with calmness. This is a profoundly capable and well engineered car.

They say that "A camel is a horse designed by a committee". Well, this car is an extremely effective camel!

As quick as an old skool Impreza turbo, as good offroad as a Freelander, as capacious and comfy as an Avensis estate, and as ugly as a bowling shoe; this is a really strange collection of assets.

I am very much liking it so far though.

20th Jan 2018, 19:41

Owner here again.

Had some niggles with this Foz. A gasket in the A/C system had failed; front drop links seized, a rear half shaft failed. According to the specialist independent garage, it's a GOOD example but it has been standing for too long.

It rides and steers miles better now. Hope nothing else goes, else it will be a flippin' expensive car to run!

2008 Subaru Forester from Australia and New Zealand


Excellent all round car


Not a single problem as of yet.

General Comments:

Handles excellently. Almost impossible to slide out, even in the wet.

Acceleration is impressive for such an economical engine (sitting at 8.6L per 100km).

Roomy and comfortable inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2013

2008 Subaru Forester 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


Not impressed at all. If this is Japanese quality, then I am going back to buying American


Driver side power window motor quit 4 months after purchase; replaced under warranty.

Automatic transmission rough downshifting when slowing from 40 mph or faster, starting at around 35K. Dealer service 'made adjustments'; so far so good.

Began to develop engine oil leaks at 67K. 2 to 3 drips every other day, stains on the driveway. Needed a new pan gasket.

Seats starting to show signs of wear at 50K.

Windshield wiper blades freeze up in freezing rain and icy weather, despite defrosters.

General Comments:

Comfortable ride and roomy, but uses a lot of gas with the AWD; even more than my Ford Crown Vic used to use, and that car was twice as big. Don't expect fuel economy from a Subaru.

The expected reliability of this car is well below my expectations for what I paid, and the dealer service was horrible. Subaru Authorized Dealer Factory Service is about the worst I have ever experienced; incompetent and poorly managed. Find yourself a good private mechanic, and stay away from the Subaru dealership for post-warranty service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2012

7th Mar 2012, 08:58

These are your complaints?

God, I had a Crown Vic that was in the dealer every 5 minutes.

31st Mar 2012, 21:36

I retired my Crown Vic with 203k miles on the clock. Apart from routine maintenance schedules, the only major repairs in 17 years of ownership were a new alternator and fuel pump. These repairs happened near the last years I owned the car.

This Subaru is showing signs of wear that should reasonably be a full decade in the future. It's cheaply made, and probably uses Chinese made parts. Never another Subaru; my next car, I'll go back to Ford.