2009 Subaru Forester XS Premium 2.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Wish I'd bought the turbo


Centre console wobbles quite a bit.

General Comments:

Comfort and quiet.

Superb handling.

Engine feels under-powered. Need to rev it a bit.

Build quality is not as good as I expected.

The car had burning smell from under the bonnet for quite a while when new, due to wax in the engine bay according to the dealer.

Gear changing feels a little binding.

A pillar blocks fair a bit view.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2009

30th Dec 2009, 21:06

Just took delivery of a shiny new black XS premium... And we (my wife, 2 kids, and I) love it! We had a Ford Falcon G6E, but we had many problems with it, and the kiddies always complained about the lack of leg room back in the Ford, so we decided to get a much more practical car, and we just love it. The sunroof is a favourite, and I really like the driving position - not to high, not as low as the Falcon, and fantastic visibility! The only thing I miss about the Falcon is the power... we could get from 0-100 in about 7 seconds in it... the Forester gets there at about 9-10 seconds (which isn't bad for a SUV). I feel safe in the forester. It just feels like a really solid car.

The only gripe I have with it, is the blue interior illumination. It's a little distracting at night, and doesn't match the red dials and buttons.

Our family would definitely recommend this car to anyone looking at an compact 4X4. It's out 4th Suby (for some reason we switched to a Ford). but I can tell you, we won't be going back.

23rd Apr 2010, 00:17

I am the author of the original post and here are some updates:

1. The paint job is really terrible. The paint is so thin that any slight scratch will exposed the white inner layer.

2. The windscreen is faulty. It looks as if it has been sand-blasted when the sun light comes in from a certain angle, and I couldn't see a damn thing.

I started to really question Subaru (or Toyota Management) 's quality control process.

Very disappointed.

13th Dec 2012, 06:06

The head gasket will leak sooner with the turbo version on the 2.5. Avoid 2.5-litre Subaru engines unless your hobby is changing head gaskets.

2009 Subaru Forester 2.5X Premium 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


An affordable, fun and comfortable car to own and drive


Minor rattle occasionally in the area where the moon roof retracts into. This goes away when the roof is retracted and closed again. Will look into it further, but my guess is that it simply a loose clip or something similar.

General Comments:

Subaru finally listened to its customers and has lengthened the Forester to add almost 4 inches of legroom for the back passengers. They maintained the fantastic gas mileage while increasing horsepower and torque slightly. This car is quieter, more comfortable and spacious than previous Forester models. They also lowered the price from last year by nearly $1200 U.S.

Did I mention that it is incredibly smooth and fun to drive?

I owned the 97 Forester when it was first introduced in the U.S. and kept it for 3 years before I had to get rid of it because the leg room in the back was prohibitive for my then 7 year old daughter. Other than that, the 97 Forester, while being a bit homely, was a flawless performer. This included as far as reliability went as well.

When I heard the 2009 would increase the leg room, I immediately went out and drove one. Much to my surprise Subaru completely redesigned the car inside and out, as well as in the suspension, and with changes to the mechanical features also. The back seat has plenty of room for me and my long-legged family to sit in comfort with room to spare before our knees touch the back of the front seats in the fully pushed back position.

They also now allow the back seats to recline 4 inches back (the earlier models' suspension did not allow for this).

The overall size is slightly larger while holding on to it's "car" status (which really helps with insurance costs).

The reliability of the Forester (still built in Japan) has been constantly in the "above average" category and I expect this one to be the same.

I will post more as we put more miles on it, but I am delighted to have the privilege of posting the first review of the 2009 Subaru Forester.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

8th Aug 2008, 19:59

Thanks for sharing. I actually just test drove the Forester and I am very interested in it. How many miles per gallon are you getting on your Forester? Thanks.

12th Aug 2008, 23:22

I've got a new Forester and average 27 MPG and can push 30 MPG if I just use cruise control on the freeways. Hope that helps. Keep in mind that I drive conservatively and don't do jack-rabbit starts nor do I go past the speed limits.

9th Dec 2008, 11:39

I am a proud owner of a new 2009 Forrester Limited. I LOVE IT! I searched for a month and test drove a variety of different makes and models. On my way home, I decided to try the Subaru lot. I drove it, loved it, and bought it. I think this is the best car! It has everything. There is comfort, room, luxury, etc. without a huge price tag. I feel you pay for what you get. You might actually get a little more :)

I have only had my car for 4 days, but I love it more everytime I get into it!!!

I would definitely go with a Forrester if you are looking for a compacy SUV with luxury and reliability!

8th Jul 2009, 12:47

I bought a new 09 Subaru Forester. Love it; it handles and drives great, very sporty and the extra room in the back seat is a plus. The car sits higher too.

Still own a 02 with 120000 miles. Never a problem even with some off road abuse; sand dunes, dirt, mountain roads, never a complaint with this car.

Now the 09 3000 miles and the engine ate a rod bushing; the engine is toast, and I babied it as I usually do for the first 10000 miles. I hope the Subaru dealer replaces it properly. I still am very happy with this car and I hope this was just a fluke happening.