1995 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Subaru Impreza STi RA Turbo 2ltr turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2ltr turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

One truly awesome car!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car as yet.

General Comments:

After my last car a Toyota GT4WRC I thought that I wouldn't get any better, but boy was I wrong!

The Subaru Impreza is an awesome machine, very fast and sticks to the road like glue.

Best car I have ever had.

The sound of the flat four is brill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

1995 Subaru Impreza 2000 Turbo AWD 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A real eye turner with performance to match.

Faults:

A small water leak from front screen into passenger compartment, Passengers side. Fixed with screen sealant.

Rear wheels on car are to wide, scuff inside of arches when car is fully loaded and turning hard into corners.

General Comments:

Mind blowing acceleration and top class grip.

Drinks fuel like an alcoholic if driven hard.

Insurance is expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

1995 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Unbelievable performance and handling together with a fabulous engine note!

Faults:

Needs new brake discs all round - £700+ ouch!

General Comments:

1995 5 door Impreza - possibly the world's ugliest car and the interior is even worse (mine has the non-sporty tweed seats). Shut your eyes, turn the key and listen to the engine note though and suddenly things seem better. Find your favourite country lane or even a good roundabout an feel the adrenalin.

Get on a slip road onto a motorway and see how you leave other cars behind - you'd swear they were stopped.

What else could give this much fun for £5500 and it will start every day, even in the wet - try that in a Lotus!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

1995 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 DOHC turbo Charged Boxer E from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC turbo Charged Boxer E Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

For its price and its power the Impreza Turbo is the best car in the world

Faults:

First gear had a substantial amount of lag. This was easily fixed with different, and more expensive gearbox oil.

Handling is to good to be true. it simply isn't right, a car shouldn't be able to handle this well.

Gets dirty to often.

Mechanically, nothing has gone wrong due to a fantastic engine.

General Comments:

Our family owns a green Subaru Impreza Turbo sedan and it is by miles the best car we have, and probably ever will own.

The car has no body-roll whatsoever and handles like nothing else.

And then of course, there is the power and agility of the car itself.

No other car at the same price and in the same league even comes close to the sheer ferocity and aggression that is the Impreza Turbo

Our car has been tested and does 0-100Km/H in around 5.5 seconds, which, for the $AUS25,000 we payed for it and $AUS40,000 new is, and I think you will agree, bloody fast.

The acceleration is mind boggling. Drive an Impreza Turbo and you will wonder how a tiny two-litre engine can produce so much grunt.

The Impreza Turbo is a light, agile, nimble little car with traction on the road like a train on train-tracks.

Test drive one that isn't the 2001 'bug-eyed' model and you will have to have it.

I have test drove many Holden and Ford V8 vehicles and none of them felt as fast and involving as the Impreza Turbo. Personally I think the Impreza Turbo, let alone the Subaru, Technica International Impreza version bring the V8 revolution to its knees.

All in all, a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

5th Nov 2009, 07:02

I agree. I own a green 1995 Subaru WRX and the thing is a rocket! I would compare it to a Porsche 911, but a fraction of the cost. It is by far the best car I have ever driven, besides my mates' rexy, which is a 1999 model, although the 95 I found has more balls. There is NO CAR OUT THERE that can compare for the price you are paying. NONE! What a great car. I love my rexy :)

1995 Subaru Impreza WRX type RA 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

One seriously quick car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This vehicle is very fast. It takes corners like a constipated cat, very pleased with this purchase.

I was considering the Mitsubishi EVO series, but they just don't have the WRX appearance, sound, or feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2001

30th Jul 2003, 21:11

I own one of these and I have upped the boost to 17 psi. With a set of 17 inch wheels this car leaves all others for dead, the close ratio gearbox and no ABS this car is a dream and I couldn't recommend this car enough. Leaves early model Evos for dead.

My next car will be an Evolution Six though...

Cheers guys, great website!

1995 Subaru Impreza 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

Sychromesh on 1st and 2nd gear replaced at 40k miles under warranty.

General Comments:

Brilliant handling and performance for the money. I owned the car for a year and servicing and repairs came to £890.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 1999

1995 Subaru Impreza GL 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Tailgate jammed, lightbulbs, headrest catch broke.

General Comments:

Considering it's done nearly 70k miles in 3 years, the list of breakdowns is trivial. A bit boring compared to its predecessor (MX5) but goes from A to B safely, smoothly and fast enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

24th Jul 2004, 12:38

MX5? that's a Miata buddy.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews