1995 Subaru Impreza Reviews

1995 Subaru Impreza AWD from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Faults:

Basic stuff. Brakes, wires and plugs, tires. Nothing else was wrong or had gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

I bought this 95 Subaru Impreza in 2001, and it had 179000 highway miles on it. It was a one owner when I got it, and it had all wheel drive. It was in excellent condition, had been garage kept since it was bought new. I paid $1700 for it at a dealer. It was a new car trade in. The whole car was built, I was told, for the international market in Japan. It was shipped to the US to be sold new. In the few years I had it, I had no problems with it but the usual maintenance.

This car, with the exception of a 1969 Buick Wildcat I once owned, was the best car I had ever bought. I bought the car in Missouri, and moved to New York a couple years later. I drove to New York from Missouri with no issues. The truth is, I didn't expect any. I knew this car would get me to the moon if there were roads to go there. If you find one in good condition, buy it right now. It will serve you well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2011

14th Feb 2012, 16:20

I agree 100%. I too bought one, same year, almost the exact same mileage, but mine needed a new water pump, timing belt and pulleys.

The owner was told it was ruined when a timing belt pulley failed. Knowing this was impossible with a noninterference engine, I got it for $600. Cost $30 for a new belt and I swapped out a nearly new water pump from a block I pulled from a 96 Legacy, that the 19 year old owner ruined by never adding oil. Got a nearly new (but used) pulley from the same block. Replaced the oil pump o-ring as well.

Started right up, and has been running like new ever since. 30-31 mpg on the freeway at 65-70 mph, and 25-27 mpg at 75-80 mph.

It's a hatchback, so it is just what I wanted for an all purpose mountain-snow car. Just snowed last night (it averages 37 inches here by a ski resort in the Sierras of California). Just drove it out a drift more than 2 ft high. Better than a Jeep. Seriously!

And I found a used 6 CD factory stereo unit from a 2005 Subaru, plugged right in!

Great car. No tappet noise at all, put new rotors on it and new tires. Better than the 2002 Impreza with the 2.5 interference engine that my friend just bought for $4200. Gotta love these non-interference 2.2s.

If I don't see 350k I'll be surprised. It's at 173k right now. And feels like new.

1995 Subaru Impreza L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles

Summary:

Great car for what I paid for it

Faults:

Nothing. Bought it needing new motor mounts and that's all.

General Comments:

This car is quick and very fun to drive.

The interior is not the best, and the auto is a little slow, but get this baby to higher RPMs and it really shines.

I can't complain much; I only paid 2000 for it and I have yet to have any trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2009

1995 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 turbo sedan from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo sedan Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 kilometres
Most recent distance197000 kilometres

Summary:

Absolutely the best car I have ever owned!

Faults:

Nothing major.

Replaced a couple of radiator hoses.

Replaced the coolant reservoir, the old one was leaking at the seals (this is a common early model WRX fault)

General Comments:

My version is a manual sedan, with upgraded 17 inch wheels and upgraded seats. No engine modifications that I can see.

When you drive this car for the first time, you realise why it is a rally car. It's a normal car under 3,000rpm, but once you hit that magic number a whole new world of fun awaits you. The whistle of the turbo indicates you are preparing for liftoff and then BANG away you go, and it feels as though everything is moving past you at warp speed. The turbo kick really is something different, you don't realise how brutal it is until it hits you. This really is a rally car at its finest, brutal acceleration and even more outstanding cornering performance.

I can achieve 0-100kmh in roughly 5-6 seconds. Which is amazing for a stock car, especially since I purchased mine for under 10,000!! 2nd and 3rd gear is where all the fun is, hills, corners and winding stretches of road are just so much fun in a WRX. I live in a rather hilly part of South Adelaide, so the WRX is in its natural territory.

Overtaking is easy, just drop it back to 3rd and it's right on the magic number 3,000, and whooosh away you go!

The handling is just out of this world, it just grips and grips and grips! The good thing about the AWD system is that you can hit it half way through the corner and not come un-stuck or kick the back out. You can literally throw it at a corner and it will just eat it alive. You really have to upset it to lose it, which I'm yet to experience.

The interior is as it should be, short and simple, no tricky or stupidly placed buttons or switches. Everything you need and it's all conveniently placed.

The only thing I would pick about it is the change from 1st to 2nd gear is sometimes a bit heavy, depending on how much throttle you give it, it can really feel quite heavy. Mine feels like it can pop out of 3rd really easy, but it never does.

Oh and the fuel consumption is average, but so so so so worth it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2009

9th Jan 2009, 07:43

I had the same problem with my 1994 WRX. The stock coolant reservoir is plastic crap. I replaced it with a later model alloy part. I was sick of using a bottle of coolant a week!

Has anyone else had the same problem???

10th Jan 2009, 07:07

Yep, same here, I had a 1993 WRX import and one day clouds of steam started coming from under the bonnet, it was the reservoir. The early ones go so brittle after a few years.

9th Feb 2009, 04:22

I agree with this review. I bought a 1996 WRX and it has turned out to be the most reliable car I've owned, never left me stranded always performs and pulls hard even after 220,000 kms on the clock!

23rd Sep 2009, 05:01

Hey I have a MY95 wagon, high flowed turbo and 3in stainless exhaust from the turbo. Great car, but the fuel economy is terrible! Try a maximum range of 250km to a tank! And that's all highway driving, 5th gear, 100kmh. I sold a V8 Falcon and bought this, thinking it would be cheaper to run! The falcon got 600km to a tank doing the same run.

23rd Oct 2010, 17:48

I know exactly what you mean with the first to second gear!! Not exactly an easy shift 1-2.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews