1999 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1999 Subaru Impreza RS 2.5 boxer from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 boxer Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn SC2

Summary:

Fun and reliable at a good price

Faults:

There was a squeal from the brakes after 3 months of driving. Mysteriously, this went away on its own about a month later. The dealer had no explanation.

General Comments:

The overall performance level is very good, especially the all-wheel drive handling.

However, the car could still use another 25-30 hp (currently at 165).

Ride is exceptionally comfortable for a performance car. Road imperfections do not upset the car, even when driven hard.

Good seats, great visibility.

All in all, a pleasure to drive, a breeze to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2001

1999 Subaru Impreza RS 2.5 supercharged flat 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 supercharged flat 4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carBMW 530i

Summary:

Better than sex!

Faults:

Ugh.... nothing has ever gone wrong. Never been to the dealer for anything. I need a clutch right now, but with 240 hp and 235 lbs of torque, it's going to happen!

General Comments:

This Impreza does not come with a supercharger. I added the supercharger and intercooler. The supercharger is an Opcon Autorotor and is of the screw type design. I use a Bell Engineering rising rate fuel pressure regulator and a Mazda RX7 Twin Turbo fuel pump. I eat Honda's for lunch all day long!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

11th Jun 2001, 02:10

Where did you get the supercharger kit, Thanks, LVSUBARU@CS.COM.

23rd Jan 2002, 14:16

Yeah, where did you get the kit?

9th Feb 2002, 01:15

Where did you get the S/C charger itself? And which model of the autorotor do you use?

Joe@ProCooling.com

11th May 2002, 08:38

I just bought a 2002 Impreza Outback Sport, 2.5L (USA). Thrilled with the handling and so far the power is good up to the break-in 4K limit. I also have a Toyota Tacoma that I supercharged. I'm sold on superchargers. Can you tell me where I might find a 2.5L supercharger for the Scooby?? Thanks! Ztsd@Yahoo.com.

1999 Subaru Impreza Turbo 5 Door 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 620 Ti

Summary:

Bargain of the decade

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Bought a 5 door because I needed the extra space, and don't regret it for a second. It's cheaper to service than a Ford, and I've had no troubles with it at all, which is surprising, seeing how much I enjoy myself in it.

Car returns 16-26 MPG, depending on the type of road, which would be an issue if I had to pay for fuel. Watch insurance costs too, as they can be on the large side.

Everything that's been written about this car is true. From the bad (dull interior and understeer) to the extraordinary (performance, grip, handling and grins per mile).

Recently sent the car to Prodrive to have the performance pack fitted. It's not cheap, but it makes the car at least 20% faster and 50% more refined (1.2 seconds off the 0-60 time and 2 seconds off the 0-100 time).

To top it off I joined the Impreza drivers club (www.sidc.co.uk), and the friendly and knowledgeable people there have made owning the car even more pleasurable.

Big downside? What in hell am I going to replace it with for the money?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2000

20th Jun 2004, 10:09

You could buy a secondhand Mitsubishi Evo 6 or a Nissan Pulsar GTI-R. I have been driven around in my friends 5door bog standard Scooby 2002 awd Turbo and have outran Ferrari 348's, cosworths, BMW M3's and everything from Mazda and Honda. However the EVo 6 is even quicker, and handles even better and servicing is marginally cheaper.

I drive an Audi Avant.. I think I will buy an Evo 6 soon and beat my friend in his Subaru.

1999 Subaru Impreza RS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreaza LX

Summary:

Exhilarating - the nimbleness of a Japanese Zero combined with the power of a Thunderbolt

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

Let me first say something about the strength of a Subaru. My previous car, a 1996 Impreza LX was slammed into, while at a stop, by a tractor-trailer going 25 miles per hour. All the force of this crash was transmitted through the frame of my car, and was unleashed on the two cars in front of me. Needless to say, no one in my car was hurt, but the two people in front of me were, and both of their cars, a Dodge Neon, and Toyota pickup were totaled. My son owns this Impreza now, and drives it all through the mountains of Virginia. Just try to part him from his car.

My new car, an Impreza RS is a fantastic car. It is not often that something can totally erase the effects of a bad day at work, like this car. It makes it a pleasure to scorch those ponderous Yukons and Suburbans. On more than one occasion, I have had "goobers" in VW GTI's and BMW 3 Series pull up beside me, only to find that they did not have time to read the nameplate, getting progressively smaller, on my trunk!

Have replaced the factory 13mm rear sway bar with a 20mm one. It makes a great difference. You can take curves 20% faster.

The factory sound system is a little suspect, but if you are like me, the windows and sunroof are always open. That is certainly the least of my worries.

Once you drive this car, you will have to have it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

12th Apr 2001, 08:28

Good to hear about the safety in a crash - hopefully I won't have one in my Impreza! You should come over to the UK sometime and try out the 276bhp versions - try logging onto http://bbs.scoobynet.com/ for an excellent Impreza forum.

13th Jan 2007, 15:30

When you say "The factory sound system is a little suspect" what do you mean by this statement?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 51 reviews