2000 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2000 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Overall, as long as you do not want interior toys, this car will satisfy any performance enthusiast

Faults:

No faults since new, and very reliable.

General Comments:

An excellent performance car with a few problems. Firstly due to the light body panels it picks up an unbelieveable amount of dents in car parks.

Secondly it is not a very high revving car in that peak power seems to arrive at between 5500 and 6000 rpm, after this all you do is increase the noise level.

In saying that I am being picky as the roadholding and performance are excellent, and the car is even unbeatable in snow as long as you don't brake hard and active the anti-lock brakes. In comparison to other cars apart from obviously an Evo, there appears to be little than can beat it - I recently had passed an M3 that could just keep up, but not overtake, and I don't pretend to be a great driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2001

2000 Subaru Impreza RS 2.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

The greatest car that I have ever driven

Faults:

Relatively nothing, but the passenger door latch broke, I don't know how, and the dealer only said that it is very rare.

General Comments:

I love this car, it's fast, it handles like a dream and has taken anything I have thrown at it, off road to tight turns, and quick acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

2000 Subaru Impreza RS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance12550 miles
Previous carHonda Civic LX

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Fog lamps blown out while driving through the rockies. But they were under warranty.

General Comments:

This car crushes! Totally good opportunity to trick the car in any way you'd like.

Super fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

2000 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy GL

Summary:

Fabulous power for the money ratio

Faults:

I've only had it for 6 months but nothing has gone wrong. My only complaint is that the glass on the passenger door catches on a retainer when closing the door. I checked this out on a couple of other MY2000 turbos and they suffered from the same annoyance.

Boy racers!

General Comments:

Suffers from a bit of lift off oversteer.

Rear view mirror vibrates at high speeds.

Spartan interior - but so what!

This thing is an animal. Get one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2000

2000 Subaru Impreza P1 2000 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2000 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

Fastest and safest A to B all-weather cross-country road car in the real world

Faults:

Boy racers trying it on at traffic lights, bikers and BMW M3s slowing me down on the twisty bits.

Slight difficulty selecting reverse - or maybe this a deliberate design feature? ;)

General Comments:

The ultimate Impreza for the road - has all the advantages of the standard Impreza Turbo, but with much quicker (911 level) straight line performance. 4wd combined with Prodrive tweaked handling helps the car corner faster than a 550 Maranello (according to Evo magazine).

Practical too - seats 5 and has a good sized boot.

The car is friendly on the limit, unlike a 911 or Modena, and copes with anything the worst roads can throw at it - ruts in the road, camber, streaming rain, standing water... all are soaked up even if you are travelling at ridiculous speeds.

Easy to slide too if that's your thing. Now just watch out for that driving license....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2000

7th Jun 2001, 04:09

Got my P1 with WR upgrades about two months ago and I am still dumbfounded by its performance. Surely nothing is faster or handles better than a P1. Cross country (across Oxfordshire) nothing can stay with it including several hot 600cc sports bikes. Get near a twisty B road and you can leave them for dead.

The 18" 225/35s provide an unbelievable amount of grip (they need to), and help the ride. 330m Prodrive brake upgrade means you never get any fading. Finally the bigger P1 Prodrive exhaust, improves high-end in gear times by seconds (for example 80-120mph is 4th only takes 8.0 seconds!).

Every time I drive the car I get a huge grin. Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Paul from Oxfordshire...

22nd Jul 2001, 17:04

Paul, you are a very lucky man.

23rd Jul 2001, 17:24

You have no clue as to how envious I am, unfortunately I live in America, land of the free and home to low end versions of truly great cars if we can even get them. I own a 2.5 RS would die to drive a P1. (however I did get to see one on our latest trip to England, lovely place)

20th May 2003, 07:02

If only I could convince the insurance company my driving style wouldn't change, if they insured me on a P1!

16th Jan 2004, 05:04

Had P1 Now for 2 months, its better than the rb5 WR and EVO 6 GSR I had previously, listen to that engine note!!!

25th Jan 2004, 11:11

I have had my p1 for eight months now. this car is still incredible to drive and a pleasure to own.

Still causing schoolkids to bump into lamposts every morning. I love it!!!

13th Aug 2004, 08:36

I fitted an Impreza 2.5RS 99 model black 'leather' cover over the front of my P1 to protect it from stone chips. About 1" of the front spoiler is still left exposed at the bottom and holes need to be cut in the material to allow for the headlight washers; but that is as close a match as I could find to fit a P1 - and it works (as well as attracting lots of attention).

The cover part number is M0010FS140, obtainable from Subaru dealers in the US.

23rd Feb 2007, 21:39

I own a p1 and a ferrari 348. The p1 prevails.

29th Nov 2007, 07:35

I drove one the other day, and they are quick, but if you think they are as quick as a WELL-ridden sports bike (on anything other than very twisty roads) then I'm afraid I have to say this isn't the case.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 28 reviews