2000 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2000 Subaru Impreza GT Turbo 2.0 turbo from Belgium

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Calibra

Summary:

Great fun to drive

Faults:

Air flow meter broke down at 30000 km

Engine blew at 60000 km.

General Comments:

Until 2006 Prodrive kit fitted: 240 HP / 350Nm.

Later ECUtek tuning: 275 HP / 380 Nm.

AP-Racing brakes, adjustable suspension, nylon bushes, big anti roll bar fitted.

It handles like a go-kart and out-accelerates (up to 200 km/h) about anything on the road.

In the mean time it's just for fun, got a WRX for business trips, since the GT Turbo is so stiff the whole car rattles and shakes when driving over a coin lost on the road.

Even performing well on the Nuerburgring Nordschleife.

Big drawback: fuel consumption: 20 - 25 liters / 100 km!!

However, this car is a man's perfect toy!

The new series WRX, STI... after 2000 is not the same anymore. Too heavy, too much comfort accessories (who needs an air con or stereo in such a car?)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2007

14th Dec 2007, 04:45

Yes your right, they do make them too heavy for the type of car it is these days, you don't buy it for the comforts. The 90's models had plenty and only weighed between 1200 and 1300 kgs. Now STIs are around 1450. But I do think a stereo is a must have.

2000 Subaru Impreza GX 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

Had clutch repaired once under warranty.

Brake slave cylinder replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Excellent car, can't fault it at all. Handles well, goes fast enough, very reliable and well built.

I just wish it was a bit larger - should have bought the Liberty/Legacy instead :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2007

2000 Subaru Impreza from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Worth every penny

Faults:

Bad battery when purchased, needed new one after I owned car for a few months.

Changed spark plug at 45,000.

A/C needed recharging at 54,000.

Nothing major!

General Comments:

I loved this car! It doesn't have the most stylish interior, and the cupholders are much to be desired, but overall I think this car is fantastic. I had a horrible dealer where I purchased the car from, but I am not quick to assume that all Subaru dealers are as awful as they were. And they were idiotic. The car itself is a quick, comfy, solid little machine that tends to hold up superbly compared too many cars in its class. It rips in the snow - I owned it in Vermont and it was great in any weather. Everything always worked in a very sharp, responsive way. Not as luxurious as some of the loaded outbacks, but its cheaper and smaller so what do you expect? Tight on corners, felt like a little tank when I test drove it. Great cruise control, fairly quiet on the highway, just be careful where you get work done because Subarus aren't the cheapest cars to repair. I don't think the dealers are known for their service, but I had a bad experience with them when my engine light came on, they said I needed a tune up (I got one for $250) and it turned out to just need a spark plug. Not THAT big of a deal, but it made them look stupid. Hey, I don't know cars, I expect the dealer to. I adored my Impreza. Buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

2000 Subaru Impreza RX Wagon 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Impreza - Not impressed

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I previously owned German or Swedish cars in England and this is the first Japanese car that I have owned and I am not overly impressed.

Most of them seem soul less, but I thought the Impreza might be different.

They call it a wagon, but really it is a hatchback, Room in the boot is OK, but not amazing.

There is not much room inside, I am not a big bloke, 176cm (5ft 10ish), but it is still cramped.

The interior is very plasticky and cheap looking, although I have to say it doesn't rattle.

The air con struggles on really hot days.

It is gutless (manual may be better). You have to floor it to make it kick down.

Parts and service seem to be expensive, cheaper to run my old Saab I reckon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

11th Aug 2006, 14:08

You may be disapointed to find that your Saab and your Subaru are made by the same people...

13th Aug 2010, 19:25

Well why did you buy it in the first place if you don't like interior and the looks?

17th Sep 2011, 23:13

Your A/C struggles? I find this hard to understand. I find it equally hard to believe. I have houses in Arizona and Northern California. Temps in both places easily reach 100 degrees for months at a time in both places, and top 110 for days at a time in AZ regularly. My Subarus, even in hot spells exceeding 110 degrees, never have a problem keeping me cool. Good airflow, good temp draw-down. I have no idea how anyone could have complaints about the Subaru HVAC system, unless the driver in question hadn't got the settings right. After reading this reviewer's other comments, I'll bet that this is the case.

2nd Sep 2012, 20:34

Nope, not true. Only the Saab 9-2x and the Tribeca are Saab-Subarus.

And they are actually just Subaru's with a Saab nameplate.

Saab is no more :( But Subaru just keeps plowing on and on and on. And I do mean plow... we lived in Michigan and now in the High Sierras in California with 500-600 inches of snow each season. My V8 Explorer does the trailer towing, but when it comes to pulling stuck cars and trucks out of the snow, our 95 Impreza and 2001 Outback do just fine. It sure puts a confused look on the big car owners when a little Impreza is their rescuer. It's funny stuff!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 28 reviews