1991 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Subaru Legacy 4 cam Turbo 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

4 wheel cure for constipation

Faults:

Not a lot the things that have needed replaced were mostly my fault.

The door mirror lens.

4 new tyres due to enjoying the handling.

General Comments:

This car is the best handling car I have ever driven especially in the wet.

The interior is boring seats are rubbish compared to my peugeot nice momo steering wheel though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1991 Subaru Legacy GT 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

Fast, but expensive to run and mechanically pathetic

Faults:

Within the 1st month of owning this vehicle my Transmission Died. $1000.

Followed by the motor. $1500.

CD Player has never worked. Justs spits the Cd's back out at you.

CV Joints faulty from day one.

General Comments:

This car has been an absolute nightmare. Was going o.k till the transmission locked up on a long trip and almost killed me. As a result the motor decided to die at the same time. Have replaced both the transmission and the motor and finally it is running well. The only nice thing I will say about the car is that it's quick and handles well. Every mechanic I have spoken to has told me to keep away from Subaru's. Damn my crappy timing!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

16th Feb 2003, 16:42

I bet this is nothing bot a second hand Japanese import... so not very sure about the mileage or service records. I've been there myself. Bought a Jap import that gave me trouble and trouble. Subarus are some of the best motorcars ever produced. The one you bought must have been seriously abused. Anyway, good luck with your next one...

Cheers

Ted.

26th Jul 2004, 01:22

I've had my legacy for two months and I also have had a multitude of problems.

One set of CV units. ($300)

Two brake pads. ($150)

Power Steering Sensor. ($200)

And now the transmission is on its way out I think, along with the starter motor.

I don't think I would buy one again, or at least make sure I get a pre-purchase inspection so I know what I'm up for.

31st May 2007, 02:13

I had a 1991 RS Japanese import against all the "expert" advice. I chose carefully and looked after it and NOTHING went wrong. Completely reliable and still felt bulletproof at over 200,000km when I got rid of it. Luck of the draw. Would definitely have another one.

1991 Subaru Legacy RS 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Not for the faint hearted

Faults:

Gearbox made a very bad grinding noise. But the car dealer got a new one for it.

General Comments:

This car is very powerful.

The turbo does about 7psi and goes nuts.

The suspension is very bumpy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1991 Subaru Legacy L 4WD 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

A keeper if you can find one!

Faults:

The clutch has been replaced once, a rather expensive affair. A clutch for this car (four-wheel drive) runs you $800.

The body is beginning to rust around the wheel wells and on the front of the hood.

The rear suspension went at 110,000 miles, though I will admit it received higher-than-average wear.

General Comments:

The Subaru Legacy is built for snow. This car drives circles around other vehicles. The four-wheel drive system is amazing - I won't drive anything else!

The interior is surprisingly roomy for a compact car and very comfortable. The seats offer good support even after twelve years of continuous use.

Performance-wise, the Legacy is a sporty little car. The 2.2 liter 4-cylander engine is jumpy and energetic, and handles the demands of a five-speed transmission well. I can easily beat much newer cars off the line.

Overall, the car is still in very good shape, and is only now beginning to show its age. I will hang on to it for as long as I can - probably 200,000 miles or more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

15th Apr 2004, 12:08

I bought one new in January of 1991, and am still driving it to work to Yale University every day. It has over 180,000 miles on it and asks for nothing! Best car I ever had!!

16th Jun 2010, 21:01

I just bought mine with 175k :)

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 22 reviews