1991 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Subaru Legacy 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance377600 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Excellent buy

Faults:

Replaced Clutch twice.

Engine went at 358000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This has been the most fun car to drive since my 69 Lotus Elan.

It drives and handles well, with good acceleration and is a good highway car.

For the Canadian climate, this is one of the best combination of features you could get as a standard package (i.e. all wheel drive, turbo, air-conditioning, sunroof, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1991 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 gasoline 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 gasoline 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

Best car I ever had

Faults:

Disk rotors warped. I had to replace them about four times. This was the only serious recurring problem. The first two times were under warranty.

The clutch required replacement after about 200,000 km.

The front axle boots had to be replaced a couple of times.

An oil leak in the front axle required a seal to be replace.

The paint on some of the trim flaked off early.

The tail gate locking mechanism gave out eventually.

General Comments:

It was fun to drive. I often took it out in snow or icy conditions just for fun. Even on dry pavement it felt like a cat with its claws dug into the carpet. It would go with no effort when everybody else was spinning their wheels on ice. I did get it stuck a couple of times by being really foolish.

After 11 years it still had the same muffler, and there were just the first few signs of rust on the body paint work. If you know Ontario driving conditions, with salt on the roads for five months of the year, this is amazing.

I never had any major work done on the engine, transmission, ignition, steering, power windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1991 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A quality car that won't leave you stranded

Faults:

Axle and Boot replaced, 130,000.

Back seats wearing on the top.

Minor interior breaks. (Visor, and jockey-box mechanism)

Brake pads need to be replaced again soon.

General Comments:

I really like this car. It has decent acceleration and excellent reliability. Subaru's have been known for their ability to drive for quite awhile. This one is no exception.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

19th Dec 2006, 07:45

Please tell me you're kidding...

This junker left my grandmother stranded 3 times then I inherited the car and then it left me stranded...

When it left me stranded, the engine tore itself apart due to a manufacturer defect. No way that I was putting any more money into it after all the times it's been in the shop!

I had it in the shop numerous times due to oil leaks, burning oil, air leaks, ticking engine and a bunch of other miscellaneous stuff. Mine was very unreliable... My grandmother treated this car well as did I... Must have bought a lemon.

1991 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Excellent value and dependability flourish throughout the car

Faults:

I had to replace the front axle(s) and CV boots.

Otherwise, just regular maintenance including oil change, tune up and brake pad replacement.

General Comments:

I bought the vehicle for $1900.00 U.S. dollars, unsure of the future. Within the last year, I have put 25,000 miles on it and have driven a 1,600 mile round trip and it ran great!

The interior is very ergonomic and comfortable for the basic model.

I also am impressed with the standard features that are equipped on the base model: power windows, locks, tachometer, and speakers.

When the time comes to buy another vehicle, especially a new one, going to the local Subaru dealership is top on my list!

I intend to keep it until I reach 200,000 miles on the car. Others I have talked too who have owned or own a Subaru have all spoken of it's high reliability mark and that these vehicles are known to reach 300,000 to 400,000 mileage marks. Incredible!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

18th Nov 2008, 16:46

Wow! Getting one to 400,000 miles is amazing!! Mine only lasted to 100,000 miles because the engine crapped out and was only running on three cylinders. Cost more than the car was worth to get it fixed, so I got it scrapped. Great wee car to drive, Subarus, and cheap!! Despite my last experience I would still buy another one.

16th Jun 2010, 21:09

400k is do-able... My dad did side repair work when I was in my teens, Our neighbor had a 90 Loyale Wagon, with the exception of a head gasket and a few clutches axles etc. He sold it at 463,000; still running and driving fine.

1991 Subaru Legacy GT 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Cinquecento

Summary:

A lot of car for the money, but devalues rapidly, expensive to maintain

Faults:

Power steering seals went. Cost a small fortune to have them replaced.

Door auto-lock servo in the driver's side failed (able to replace it myself with 2nd-hand one).

Maintenance costs are very high, and the engine is so complex it's hard to do yourself.

General Comments:

Loved this car when I first got it. Great on long trips; very comfortable; excellent acceleration when overtaking; but chews through the gas when the turbo kicks in >2,500 revs.

BUT it lost 1/2 its value in a year. Hard to insure (most often stolen car in this city). Repairs and maintenance very expensive - apparently you need a special tool to remove the spark plugs!

Sold it before the auto gearbox failed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

1991 Subaru Legacy LSi from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Quantum

Summary:

Worth its weight in gold!!

Faults:

One of the fuel injectors, other than that just your normal oil changes and maintenance.

General Comments:

When this is on, it's so quiet that when I first bought this I had to check to make sure it was running.

Great acceleration.

This car is the best one I have ever owned and I will definitely purchase another one when time comes to upgrade.

Stereo system is really nice also.

Very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

1991 Subaru Legacy RS 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49833 kilometres
Most recent distance67621 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Cordia

Summary:

Absolute bargain for the performance

Faults:

Ignition relay burnt out approximately 3 months into ownership, $30.00 all up to replace.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Love it. Have started modifying the air-intake system for better performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 22 reviews