1992 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1992 Subaru Legacy Brighton SW 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Seriously quick go anywhere

Faults:

Power steering pump died at 155000km, found a 2nd hand one for cheap (no worries so far).

Climate air linked, fixed for $100NZ.

Front crank shaft seal starting to leak (but only when driving at high revs), will probably last until next the cam-belt change.

Little play in the steering rack, but nothing really needed to be fixed so far.

General Comments:

I though I was buying a 4x4 wagon able to go off the main-roads and I got a true tarmac beast! However it's perfect for the endless NZ metal roads...

I've changed the shocks for some sporty KYB and the original tyres (195/65-14) for some high spec Khumo 205/55-15: cornering and general handling are really impressive since, however the tyres will not last very long!

Love the all wheel drive cornering grip and the general balance of the car: if you push too hard, it slips gently from the 4 wheels (unlike most 2 wheel drive cars).

Amazing on any slippery surface as well (gravel, snow, rain, mud, sand...)

Sounds great over 4000 revs, but very quiet when cruising 100km/h under 3000 revs.

Seats are good even after a 5 hours no-stop drive.

Original stereo sounds like crap: get some decent speakers and a CD player.

More torque and power would be better, but at least this one is cheap to run; unlike the awesome twin turbo ones: mine takes about 10.5L /100km when driving quick.

I'll probably keep it until it dies ('will take a while...), unless I get '94 GTB Bspec!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

1992 Subaru Legacy GT 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Leone

Summary:

Poetry in motion

Faults:

In my five speed gear box the synchro wore out in second and third gear.

Have since had it repaired.

Other than that, nothing whatsoever.

General Comments:

What can I say, I love Subaru's.

I love how they sound, how they drive, the shape, the power, there's not a thing I don't like about them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

1992 Subaru Legacy GX 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240GL

Summary:

Steer well clear. This car has ruined my last 5 years!

Faults:

New clutch needed at 90,000.

New engine needed at 100,000 (big end gone).

New drive shafts needed on 4 occasions.

New suspension struts (@£500 a time) needed on all four corners.

Relay/solenoid and compressor controlling the air suspension replaced twice.

Central locking/ remote control failed at 90,000.

Reduced to manual locking, the driver's door regularly locks itself. The tailgate often refuses to lock/unlock.

Unacceptable wind noise from seal on the passenger door.

Aerial up/down does not work. Had to replace it with a screw-in one.

Need I continue...?

General Comments:

The above faults are the main reasons I wish I had never seen this car. Minor gripes are that:

The suspension (when it works) is very uncomfortable for rear seat passengers;

The position of the switches for the fog lamps and rear window heater is insanely impractical (you cannot see them);

The supplied Subaru radio is awful (the sound is good, but the reception is rubbish.

I have today accepted an offer to do a straight swap for a 1989 Justy... 3 years older and a much smaller car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

18th Mar 2001, 12:01

If you don't like the car, why the smiley face?

18th Mar 2001, 15:51

Steven@carsurvey.org:

The smiley face is based on whether or not the review said they would buy a car from the same manufacturer again. Not sure why they answered yes in this case though.

Best Wishes,

Steven.

30th Jul 2001, 05:12

The Subaru Legacy 92 model. It's a wonderful car, I have owned it since 94 and got it when there was on 35,000 on it. So far all I have had to replace is the exhaust, which has even improved it more giving it a real beast noise.

Overall I'm glad that I bought this car. And if I had the chance to replace it I wouldn't even think about it.

15th Aug 2001, 16:23

I bought a 92 Legacy with 142,000 miles on it and now have it with 170,000 miles on it and have yet to do anything to it other than wheels and tires. Probably one of the best cars I've ever owned. My old 81 Subaru has lasted to 186,000 miles and is still going and I have a 79 with over 200,000 and still running smooth. You must of gotten a lemon. Quick little Subaru fact from there website is that 98% of Subarus bought in the last ten years are still on the road.

17th Mar 2008, 10:53

Just a quick question to the person who wrote this review- Have you ever performed an oil change, or brought your car in for an inspection?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 24 reviews