1998 Subaru Legacy LX 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand


Great family wagon with street appeal, speed and handling


Nothing actually went wrong, but my brother is a mechanic and he recommended a new cam belt as soon as I got it, and just as well, it needed one. These are supposed to be done at each 100,000kms (brother is a World Rally Championship Subaru mechanic so I think he knows what he's talking about :o)

Other than that, nothing! It's a dream car.

General Comments:

This car handles very well, as its 4 wheel drive, and I'm sure it's saved our lives a few times! Once on an ice patch, we skidded out and the car corrected itself. Also, when going a bit too fast into a corner, the car handles beautifully.

Of course, being a 4 wheel drive, it chews through tyres a bit.

Excellent room in the cabin, and a large boot -we've slept overnight in it (and my husband is over 6 foot). Loaded up with the monthly groceries, including a large chilly bin, and two kids under 5, it's still got room to spare.

Highly recommend this vehicle. Manage to get an average of 500 kilometres per 50 litre tank of gas, could get more, but sometimes I have a lead foot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2006

1998 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 from North America


Great car, wonderful ride


Well the motor went (very surprised) no one ever heard of this happening to a Subaru. I spun a rod bearing at 149,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car I will never buy another brand again if I can help it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

1998 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5L from North America


Lots to love, but one big thing to hate


My engine seized up at only 80,000 miles and now needs to be replaced and/or rebuilt.

General Comments:

I love everything about this car, but I don't know if I will ever buy another one as my Legacy should have run close to 200,000 miles without ever having the engine seize up. It was very disheartening as this was my very first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2006

13th Jun 2006, 14:05

What were the circumstances around its "seizing up"? Cause engines just don't quit like that.

21st Jan 2008, 19:21

Usually cars seize up due to poor maintenance. In many cases, Subaru's leak oil, and this problem means always having to replace oil. Not doing so could result in a premature death for the engine.

1998 Subaru Legacy TS-R EJ20 Non turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Nice to drive... the local petrol station owner loves me


Sway bar links, bushes and steering rack bushes and to be replaced at Warranty of Fitness before purchase.

Drivers window motor failed after a month of ownership.

Rear Main seal, rear crank case cover and clutch replaced at 72,000 km.

Right rear wheel bearing replaced at 77,500 km.

Engine starting to knock on cold starts.

General Comments:

Car is great on the open road. Sits nicely at 100 kph with little road noise. Handles hills and generally rough road well.

Lots of room in the interior (sedan model). Comfortable on long trips if you get out every hour or so otherwise the seat can really hurt your back.

Maintenance can be high with higher running costs. Currently getting round 350 km per tank of around town driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2004

30th Sep 2008, 00:16

Hi, only 350km? I am looking at buying a 1999 TSR wagon and have been asking round on trademe, and the people I have spoken to are getting around 9-11L per 100k (450-530km a tank =50 or 55L tank). Is this the new model 1998 (ie 1998-2003 shape) or the old model 1998 9ie 1993-1998 shape)? Thanks.

13th Nov 2008, 03:57

It's the earlier shape (mid 90's), but it is the face lift engine (the car is right on the cross over date). Getting better distance out of a tank now BP sell 98 octane fuel. Since I wrote the review, the car is now on 161,000 kms. Engine has not got any worse with its cold knock, but the gearbox had to be rebuilt at 150,000 kms (bearings were very noisy).

9th Aug 2009, 20:55

You should be getting about 400-500 km out of it around town and long distances, depending on how you drive it, about 600+km, they're very economical long distance, but around town they can chew up the gas. And it's about a 55ltr tank in the wagon, which I believe is the same as the sedan.