1998 Subaru Legacy GT Limited 2.5 from North America


Better than a Beemer, more practical than most anything else out there


The automatic transmission, when accelerating at a leisurely pace, shows inconsistencies. The 1-2 shift is rather abrupt, but the 2-3 shift takes much too long. When accelerating more briskly, all shifts work flawlessly.

A minor complaint is regarding the angle of the seat bottoms on the front seats. They are too flat, and at times make me feel like I may slide off the front of them.

General Comments:

I would really love to see Subaru's 3.0L flat-6 in the GT model. All their major competitors have a V-6, so they should follow suit (That would boost Legacy sales substantially - Americans love power under the hood!).

I love the driver's seat-height adjuster - I've seen it the SVX and the XT / XT6, and really liked it. I'm glad mine has it.

Why do the car magazine's ignore the Legacy? I feel it's better than the Camry & Accord (and has 4wd), but it doesn't get noticed by the car testers. Too bad - they don't know what they're missing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

22nd Mar 2003, 14:12

Road and Track did mention your model once when they said and I quote "the old Legacy had an interior that looked like it should be washed out with a hose!" At the time I had a '98 GT as well. Absolutely perfect car.

14th Nov 2003, 01:59

I have a 97 Subaru Legacy GT and I have also noticed that the shift between first and second can be abrupt. Other than that it is a wonderful car.

6th Jun 2004, 17:06

I love my 97 GT. I can't believe how ignored this car is, especially by aftermarket parts producers. Unlike the many unimaginative, young, slow Honda owners who spend money on performance parts; I chose to be original, young, and fast. The only problem is finding the parts meant for a WRX that will fit in my GT (I will have to have my carbon fiber hood custom made). positive/negative due to the AWD system: Great traction (stays stuck to the road in all weather conditions) / understeer during aggressive cornering. I'm waiting to see if I can fit Subaru's new b-spec 250 horsepower turbo charged 2.0 boxer 4 under the hood of a 1997.

17th Oct 2005, 19:18

"Better than a beemer"

Only someone who has never owned a nice, or driven a good condition BMW would make a statement like this.

Please disregard this statement.

17th Dec 2009, 23:52

I've owned/driven multiple Beemers, and while they do drive nice and handle excellent, all of them broke down atleast once a month.

1998 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 from North America


Good family car, easy to maintain


After regular maintenance for 100,000 miles, everything runs well. I have never had a major problem.

The only problem is that I'm told I have oil seepage that will eventually require the engine block to be taken out to fix. This will be $1000 repair.

General Comments:

This car handles very well in the snow. AWD (All Wheel Drive) really makes a difference in heavy rain and snow.

After seven years in Michigan, with lots of road salt in the winter, there is virtually no rust on the body.

Excellent gas mileage for a wagon, even when it's loaded down and the air conditioning on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2002

1998 Subaru Legacy 4 Cam Estate 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland


Roomy high performance estate


No major faults to date.

Occasional power loss during the running in period. No fault found. No recurance.

The front brake discs were replaced by the dealer at the first service - no reason given.

The cigar lighter failed due to an electrical connection becoming detached.

Infra red remote door locking which should work at 2m from car now only works when the transmitter is up against the car window - very irritating. Dealer could find no fault!

General Comments:

This car is comfortable, performs and handles well and has a cavernous loading area. Good on motorways and minor roads alike. No bad habits.

Petrol consumption is good for the engine size in my opinion (30-35mpg).

High cost of ownership due to massive depreciation, high insurance rating and service interval of 7500mls/6 months. Typical service £150 for little more than an oil change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

1998 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 from North America


Everybody should have a Subaru AWD


Absolutely nothing.

Except I wish the gas mileage could be better, getting an average of 20-21MPG.

General Comments:

Most stable car I have driven.

Handles extremely well. Awesome in the rain, and when cornering hard on dry pavement.

Surprised on how nice it rides, for a car that can corner. Cars that handle well usually sacrifice in ride quality, but not this one.

Will keep this one forever if I can. Second car will be a manual though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

2nd Jan 2004, 09:47

I have a manual 98 GT Wagon and absolutely love it.

1st Oct 2007, 16:13

Yeah I just bought a 98 2.5gt with a 5spd. I drove a wagon 2.5gt with an auto, and the 5spd in the Sedan I have makes a ton of difference in the fun factor. The engine seems way, way more peppy when you can choose what revs you want to run. Besides, any real driver will opt for a stick any day over an auto.

1998 Subaru Legacy GTB 2.0 twin turbo from UK and Ireland


Buy one


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The performance bargain of the decade. 280 bhp from a family estate car with looks that don't get you noticed. They also allow you to relax and enjoy the driving experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

1998 Subaru Legacy Outback Limited from North America


Not a single thing.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. I have had it for about 8 months and I will never regret buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 1998

1998 Subaru Legacy GTB-ltd Estate 2.0 twin turbo petrol from UK and Ireland


Tyre failure @ 6,000 miles.

General Comments:

Bridgestone said I damaged the tyre for it to fail, but I know I never hit anything.

I think it failed because the car is a grey import and the tyres were not good enough for British roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1998

26th Feb 2011, 12:56

A damaged tyre is hardly the fault of the car? All Subaru's are well made and built to last. They're next in line to Toyota for build quality.