2006 Subaru Legacy Exclusive 2.0L petrol from Switzerland


Could be better


Battery died.

Hard plastics at the base of the Gear selector are scratching.

Gas milage could be better.

General Comments:

The 2.0L motor is annoyingly slow off the line. (Auto-box).

The sound system is the major disapointment. Good to look at, but that's it. The worst thing is that there's almost nothing you can do about it. Impossible to replace or improve on without major surgery (as it seems to be linked to A/C controls somehow). The dealers here are not interested in offering any options. (The versions in Japan have a large selection of alternative audio components.)

Space, fit and finish, and traction all good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2007

2006 Subaru Legacy GT Limited 2.5 turbo I-4 from North America


You couldn't make a better investment


One fog-light bulb went out.

The dash marks easily.

General Comments:

This car is fabulous. Gets over the EPA rating on gas mileage, is faster than advertised, and out-handles anything I have driven. This car smokes my friends mustang to 120mph. I got 28mpg on a 3000 mile trip when I first bought it with a full cargo load. The back is roomy. The gauge pack is a must if you have the turbo. Really complements the dash. The interior is beautiful, with nice leather and well planned controls. The exterior is breathtaking, with subtle details and a real sleeper look (cops don't bother you). How can you go wrong for 27500? It's the same price as an Accord, but has more power, all wheel drive, more accessories and options. Best buy I have ever made. Even the resale is high because they hold their value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2006

15th Sep 2006, 16:25

Were you racing a GT MUSTANG? And what year Mustang were you racing?

19th Oct 2006, 13:13

2002 Mustang GT manual. 4.6 v8 5spd. Any other questions? I just ran my Legacy At the track and put down a 13.9. :-D.

17th Dec 2006, 00:47

With exceptional driver input, you may match a mustang thank to your awd grip. Better rev it. Personaly, my 235HP Grand Cherokee will leave you in the dust. 200+pound of torque at 1200 rpm. Enough to blow your drive shafts right away.

2006 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Limited 2.5 from North America


An exceptional value



General Comments:

Insurance institute rated it at the top of its class for safety.

Handles extraordinarily well.

The non-turbo model has adequate power, and gets advertised gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2006

2006 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Sedan Limited 2.5L from North America


A superb vehicle for the price


This is a new car, and no problems to date.

General Comments:

The 2006 Legacy 2.5i Limited is a great value. Definitely worth the extra money for the features, and comfort.

The GT has more horsepower, but also uses premium gas. New for 2006 is a slightly larger motor, 175hp vs. 168hp.

The car handled wonderfully on a recent road trip, navigating mountain passes to long straight stretches. Average MPG was 31-32. A best was 34 mpg, and low was 28 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

16th Jan 2006, 15:24

Your gas mileage seems off. subaru website advertises 16mpgs..

18th Jan 2006, 21:16

Subaru advertises 22/29 mpg (city/hwy) for manual, 23/30 mpg for automatic.

19th May 2006, 22:20

I own a 2006 Legacy SE Sedan and just got 35 mpg on the hwy during a trip... 31 mpg overall... love the car...

28th May 2006, 13:40

My 05 Legacy 2.5i has averaged 28 in the city and about 32 on the highway (avg. 80mph) since I've owned it. Great gas mileage!

27th Jan 2010, 08:05

My 2006 Legacy Limited wagon consistently gets 31-34 MPG on the HWY in the summer. In the winter about 3-4 MPG less. It all depends on your driving habits. City mileage is around 27-28. No complaints at all.