2000 Suzuki Baleno Reviews

2000 Suzuki Baleno GLX 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sierra

Summary:

Cheap to run, easy to drive, all electronic

Faults:

The only problem we have had was one electronic problem with the fuel management system which was fixed under warranty.

There have been no other electrical problems, despite having electronic everything.

General Comments:

We have had a 2000 Australian spec Baleno wagon since new, and it's living in the worst of tropical conditions: Darwin, Australia. It has got 60,000 km on it as of December 2005.

It is great to drive, very manoeuvrable, and easy to park, even as a wagon. It will sit on 140 km/hr on our open-roads, and copes well with an after-market cruise-control.

The air con keeps up with tropics, but it is either on or off; no climate control.

One minor complaint would be the quality of the trims. The exterior door handle surrounds and some of interior centre-pin type fasteners are not up to it.

Overall, I would recommend it. It was probably a bit over-priced as new, and Suzuki didn’t market it in Oz, so there aren’t too many around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

10th Jan 2008, 17:55

I own a 2000 model Suzuki Baleno hatch & have problems for the last 12 months with the engine shuddering once the car is warm, engine dying at intersections & the check engine light coming on.

I have had the car to 3 different mechanics (one of whom was a Suzuki dealer) and have spoken to numerous others, & after changing the crank angle sensor, fuel filter, spark plugs & spark plug leads, still no solution.

I was extremely happy with the car until this problem started, and given that the mechanics can't seem to figure it out, I definitely won't buy a Suzuki again.

7th Feb 2011, 15:17

Ditto to the above entry. We are having exactly the same problem and no one can fix it.

Yellowlyn February 8 2011.

8th Nov 2011, 17:51

It could be the CMP (Cam Shaft Position) sensor, rather than the crank shaft sensor. This was what was wrong with my 2001 Suzuki Baleno. We ordered a CMP sensor, fitted it ourselves (my boyfriend's dad with car knowledge helped us), and it fixed the problem, no more stalling!

2000 Suzuki Baleno GSR 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles

Summary:

Excellent for young drivers

Faults:

No faults yet.

General Comments:

This is a surprisingly fast car, not a lot of people know about the car or engine so you can imagine a lot of people are surprised at the lights.

Its MPG is not excellent, but if you drive slowly it is better???

The handling is awful to start, but I've dropped mine by 40mm and improves a lot.

Not too many companies do performance parts for this car so money is required to improve performance.

Inside the car is not bad at all, comes standard with folding bucket seats which adds to the sport feel.

This will do 0-60 in roughly 7.5secs providing you drive it right and do a couple of touches to the cars handling, but my next improvements are coming by the way of a new chip and a power flow cat converter.

As a whole I would recommend anyone to buy this car as performance is excellent compared to it rivals and it looks different. Everyone is driving Corsa's and Saxo's, so it good to be different. With tinted windows, 17 inch alloys, twin exit exhaust, power boost valve, green cotton air filter and being dropped, this car is excellent fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2005

2000 Suzuki Baleno GXi 1.3 from Pakistan

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance600000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Carry Van

Summary:

First Suzuki car with comfort in Pakistan

Faults:

The quality of the fabrics of the roof and doors is very poor.

General Comments:

The car has all the features of a good car manufactured in Pakistan.

Once both left side tyres busted due to a ditch on the road, but the car remained in control comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

2000 Suzuki Baleno GLX 1.6 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

One of the great forgotten cars on our roads

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car... it runs as smoothly as the day we got it...

General Comments:

The Suzuki Baleno is a great car and I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the market for a used car.

The car is reliable with relatively cheap service costs and running costs.

The car has all the trimmings including power windows, power mirrors, air con, remote central locking, alloy wheels, power steering, CD player and the list goes on.

The car has a very nippy engine and is perfect for highway cruising.

The cars steering is responsive and is a great drive on mountain roads.

The cars interior is not to everyones liking, in the fact that it is a tad too small for tall people and the Grey plastics are not as good as newer models, but that is to be expected with a 2000 model car.

The car is super reliable and we have never had any troubles with the car...

I would tthoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

31st May 2009, 04:53

It is true - the SUZUKI BALENO is an excellent car.

2nd May 2013, 01:16

I have just got a Suzuki Baleno as my first car. It is a perfect little car with tons of room.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews