1994 Suzuki Swift GL 1.6 from North America


2nd toughest engine lineup built by GM after the Chevette/Acadian era


Nothing other than driver's window and door handles, no biggy. There are junkyards full of parts. Cheap fix up.

All automatic 1.0/1.3/1.6 Prizms, Swifts, Metros and Sprints will rev high at 60mph or 100 kmh, about 3500 RPM, which makes it harder on gas.

General Comments:

My 94 Swift is a 1.6 with automatic. I find it has a better launch than my standard 2003 Echo, but burns twice the gas on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

1994 Suzuki Swift GS 1.3 from Netherlands


A great car to drive cheap, luxurious and long


Dashboard Light switch 200.000 km.

Dampers back-door replaced at 175.000 km.

Door-clamp inside 120.000 Right side 210.00 Left side.

Rust on the back door after 10 years (rest of the car is almost rust free)

General Comments:

Very reliable

Fast (enough)

Cheap in repairs and petrol (avg. 6 Liters/100 km)

Service check over 200 EU is exceptional. (Unlike my Saab 900 where 400 EU was the average)

Tires replacement per 60.000 km (front) and 80.000 km (back)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2005

1994 Suzuki Swift 1.6 GLX 1.6 16v from North America


Its great in consumption!!!


Well when I bought the car, after a month I had to change the right tire ball bearings.

Two months after at 215000 I replaced the clutch plate, and that's it. Nothing else has since then gone wrong with the car.

Although I often do the general maintenance like changing oil, plugs, filter and stuff like that.

General Comments:

This is 1994 16 Valve Suzuki Swift 1.6 Litre GLX, a very rare car!!! It is almost impossible to find parts for this car unless you call up your local Suzuki dealer and they order for you from Japan or something. Most of the Swifts are 1.3 litre, but this is a 1.6 L and with standard transmission.

I am getting rid of this car because I don't want to take risks at its being at 262000 kms already on it. Though it is running perfectly fine till now.

If any one is interested here in Toronto or Around please let me know before 30th March 2005, because I am trading it in, I can sell it for as little as 700 bucks.

Mail me at fahd.shah@gmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2005

28th Mar 2005, 14:36

Man, I'd buy that from you in a heart beat if I didn't have to get it across the border! I just got a Suzuki X-90, and I love Suzuki's. That little swift can last far past 262,000km's. It's a SUZUKI! It can last forever if you keep the body in good shape!I think you should keep it, maybe as a back up car or something. I don't know, but the only reason to get rid of a Suzuki, is to get a newer, nicer looking SUZUKI!!

30th Mar 2005, 11:22


Perhaps the most comical looking car made in the last 30 years?

1st Sep 2015, 09:19

Only 262K? My Suzuki (which we had with us since new) is working on 790233KM with late oil changes and still running like a champ. Was grandma's vehicle, then gifted to me, my best buddy to this very day. It outworked a half-ton Chevy Silverado.

2nd Sep 2015, 06:48

I spend time between the US and Pakistan, and though I rarely see these in the US, I see them all the time in Pakistan. They are still sold brand new for just under $10k. It goes by the name Cultus and comes with a 1.0L engine, 5 speed manual, and not much else.

1994 Suzuki Swift 1.0L from North America


A decent vehicle for little money


So far nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The car is great on gas, less than 6L/100km, it also handles well in urban areas. Best choice for a messenger/delivery driver.

Acceleration is decent for a 3 cylinder car.

It is reasonably spacious inside, specially for those sitting in the front. The vehicle is of very simple design and construction, which in case of problems would make it easy to fix.

Unfortunatelly it does not have power steering, making it hard on the driver when trying to park.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 18:16

Swifts didn't have 3 cylinders, they all had a 1.3 liter 4 banger. Either someone swapped a 3 cylinder in, and I don't know why anyone would do that, or you're really driving a Geo Metro/Sprint/Firefly/Forsa.

7th Nov 2004, 22:58

Actually...yes, there are Suzuki Swifts in 3 cylinders; their engine capacity is 1L (or 980cc). This is a Canadian model and may not be available somewhere else. It is a 2dr. hatchback and no options, not even power steering. I believe this is the base model.