2005 Suzuki Swift Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Suzuki Swift VVT 1.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good value for your money!

Faults:

Both rear tyre had to be replaced, also new rear axles were required.

Seat covers had to be replaced after 10,000km, this was due to Velcro on my trouser pockets snagging and pulling the material.

General Comments:

A great little car, very responsive and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2006

2005 Suzuki Swift S 1.6 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Grand Vitara

Summary:

The car is good

Faults:

Excessive rear tyre wear, the car has a rear axle problem causing the rear wheels to be out of alignment. I would recommend that Swift owner's keep a close watch on the rear tyre's for excessive wear. My car need's a new rear axle and it has to come from Japan. This is a problem with the Swift model.

General Comments:

Tyre wear over the top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th November, 2006

2005 Suzuki Swift + 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles

Summary:

I have been duped

Faults:

Cylinder head replaced at 19,000kms.

Ignition coil replaced.

Gas leak.

Engine surging.

Erratic idling.

Poor fuel economy. Careful driving produces 25mpg, well below posted rate.

General Comments:

This car is not a Suzuki, it is a re badged Daewoo Kalos. That is misrepresentation.

Nine months into ownership all the problems that became evident in the first few weeks, still exist.

The gas leak, now confirmed by four separate auto repair shops, is denied by the Suzuki warranty representative.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2006

2nd Nov 2006, 15:15

That's a shame that you have had such a lemon my dad has had his swift since 1989 and it is a fabulous little car, never had any probs with it at all, never let him down. They just don't make them like they used to!

3rd Nov 2006, 05:12

This is not the same as the new Swift in Europe!

2005 Suzuki Swift GL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance9650 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

This car looks great, but needs more development and less cost cutting

Faults:

Poor Metallic Silver Paintwork on delivery.

Crease in the rear plastic bumper on delivery.

Door vinyl scratched on delivery.

Brake disks score badly, two replacement sets up to now, but still happening could be a recall issue.

Harsh road vibration.

Rapid tyre wear.

General Comments:

The New Suzuki Swift is a fantastic looking car, very exciting image with tight handling, but with unfortunately the combination of old car technology with new, which does not seem to be work in its favour.

Suzuki have broke the mould with this car, but if you look deeper the mechanics don't gel. Very poor road damping by soft rear shocks combined with over hard front shocks, rubber mountings and bushes dry out and the hydraulic clutch grabs in slow traffic.

The non asbestos brake pad set eats away the front brake disk surfaces within two weeks use.

Generally nice looking package with quality interior, but fails on drive comfort and cheap mechanics.

Suzuki Dealers, well? that's the usual story. (no Comment)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

22nd Feb 2006, 08:59

Do you know if there are any plans to bring this to the US? I loved my 2000 swift and would love to buy a new one.

2nd Mar 2006, 07:31

My New Swift had squeaky suspension on delivery, I noticed that one front spring was rubbing on the shock bottom spring seat like it had not been seated properly on manufacture. Got round this by applying grease at the point of contact.

Squeak now cured, but the car's rubber bushes and engine mounts are of poor quality anyway, they're much too weak for the pressure they're under especially after road salt and the weather sets in.

Buy some rubber lubricant and spray everything rubber on the suspension system.

Condensation could be caused by poor door seals letting cold damp air into the cabin so that when the car warms up well!! CONDENSATION.

I had water and condensation in my boot under the spare wheel, just because I left my tailgate unlocked on a cold damp day for a few hours, then when the car got warm inside from driving on the same day Well!! Hello Condensation.

Also check your front brake disks for scoring, a problem with some of these new cars. The standard brake pads used are non asbestos and are too harsh for the disks. Poor research on Suzuki's behalf, but they are aware of this problem, I told them and sent photo's. After two sets already another set of pads and disks to be fitted under warranty again?? for the last time hopefully.

The dealers are only really interested in services unfortunately and are not really bothered about fault finding. They only undertake warranty work if they can claim the cost back from Suzuki.

I won't say anymore about SUZUKI as a manufacturer, but they will only change parts on a car under warranty when they actually fail altogether, even if it is a key safety component that is failing, but not totally failed. So having a near death experience seems to be the only option to get any faulty parts changed.

Shame really, such a smart looking car.

22nd Sep 2006, 12:19

Great car.

Only a couple problems thus far:-

1. Brakes makes noise. Not yet sure of the cause, but what was mentioned could hold true for mine. will be carrying it in to be checked/serviced within the next month so expect an update then.

2. Door locking mechanism had to be changed. this worked well when using the mechanism on the key, but from the button on the driver's door, a winding sound ensued... it had to be changed. Since then, doors lock perfectly.

3. A couple days ago, had to get one of the bearings on the the passenger side, rear wheel replaced. This was cause my car was sounding like an airplane about to take off. It's been changed and my car once again sounds normal.

I still love me Swift. It's a little under a year old, and looks gorgeous... It would be perfect if someone would address the little issues that have arisen though.

18th Jan 2010, 20:03

Had my Swift 1.5 GLX for 38 months, has had 4 recalls, faulty paint from new, grinding front brakes, creaking front seat,2 dash rattles, clutch judders intermittent, and after 14k it requires new wishbones; not covered under warranty!

12th May 2011, 15:59

My 1.5 Swift (2007) is now out of warranty and the front suspension bushes are perishing and require replacement, Suzuki will not admit that this is a design or parts issue, how did you get on?

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews