2008 Suzuki SX4 GLX 1.6 petrol from Israel

Summary:

Great purchase

Faults:

Nothing. Yet.

General Comments:

Very well equipped with safety systems: 6 Air bags, Electronic brakeforce distribution, Electronic Stability Control.

Huge trunk - 515L.

Very Comfortable back seats.

Very smooth driving.

A bit noisy at 3000+ RPM.

Side mirrors are closer that in other cars. Need to get used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2008

13th Apr 2009, 12:18

Just bought a new 1.6 Automatic, like yours. Generally good, and will be reviewing it soon!

However, after 10 days mine has developed a boom period between 2000 and 2500rpm. This equates to 52-65mph approx, so is rather annoying.

I wouldn't care if it was at higher revs because I don't use them much, but I'm taking it into the dealer soon to check it out.

Anyone had this problem...?

2008 Suzuki SX4 Touring II from North America

Summary:

Could have been a great car for me

Faults:

After 6 months of owner ship the ESP light came on first and then all of the control panel lights came on and would not go out. The car went in for service and went back in a week later and it has been over two months since I have had my brand new car.

General Comments:

I did a lot of research and truly enjoyed the car when I had it. Handled well, great ride and lots of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2008

2008 Suzuki SX4 Touring II 2.0L L4 from North America

Summary:

This car is a fantastic deal

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Awesome little car. I test drove over a dozen cars. This car had twice the bang for the buck of any other car. Less than 20,000 for: 6 disc changer with sub, AWD, Traction Control, Electronic Brake Distribution, keyless start, and roof rack. The car handles well, especially on snow and ice, and has has lots of room inside. I fit a 2'x3'x4' freezer in the back with the seats up. Very under valued. 100k warranty. A little under powered, but a few readily available aftermarket parts can fix that, and mpg is low for such a small car, but on the high side for AWD's. I get around 30 mpg highway with a K&N filter. Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2008

2008 Suzuki SX4 Convenience 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Great value for the buck

Faults:

N/A.

General Comments:

I bought this car for AWD, which is great.

I expected about 26 mpg but am getting 28-30 mpg in mixed driving. Pleasant surprise.

I like the climate control, and heated mirrors.

It is fun to drive, very responsive.

I am 6'2" about 250 (+) and have plenty of room. Good cabin space.

Only draw back is size of gas tank, or the car needs to get 35 mpg so you can go ~ 300 miles on tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

2008 Suzuki SX4 JX 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Practical, solid, fun and versatile

Faults:

Nada so far.

General Comments:

Handling is a pleasant surprise. It stays flatter than it has any right to and when the AWD kicks in on a loose/slippery surface (or you're just going to fast :D) around a corner, the car just tucks in and claws it's way around the corner. All the while with a world's better ride than my 91 Civic Si with 16" wheels had. I can't wait for next winter to test the AWD!

It's no Porsche or big-block Chevy by any means but it zips through traffic easily and has no problem getting up to highway speed or passing. It even gets decent (though not great) gas mileage.

The cabin's a bit on the plasticky side -but there's not much in this price range that isn't- and it's otherwise well laid out. Only thing I'd like added is some map pockets on the seat backs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

2008 Suzuki SX4 Touring 2.0 liter gas from North America

Summary:

Great value, and really fun to drive

Faults:

None. The car has had no issues.

General Comments:

The SX-4 Crossover Touring model with automatic transmission is one of those great cars that the market has not found out about. It is small and sporty like the Mini Cooper and Honda Fit, but given it's a tall hatchback, it is in its own niche as the other two cars aren't tall and easy to see out of.

It handles like a sports car, but won't beat you up on rough roads. The AWD system handles anything that winter or tropical rains can throw at it, as we've had plenty of both in my ownership experience.

It is criticized for being under-powered, but it zips right along on the highway at 70+ mph amongst trucks, and has plenty of power to get onto the freeway and merge safely. It is rock solid in crosswinds and can handle high speed driving on crowded us highways just fine.

Gas mileage is good at about 25-26 mpg average for such a capable AWD car. The fuel tank is only 11.9 gallons, so you will need to fill-up every 270 - 280 miles, as the low fuel light comes on with a few gallons left to annoy you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

3rd May 2008, 22:14

Hey, thanks for a balanced review, and I agree that it is an impressive car. I just test drove one and loved it. The weird window near the the dash aside, it handled great, no blackout due to acceleration, however good mpg and handling, which are my interest right now. I don't believe efficiency alone is enough because you don't notice mpg when you trying to avoid a crash.

Amazing in the fit and finish department; I have an Audi so I am spoiled on that.

I am just wondering what the overall economy is to get a real world idea of the operating cost.

I also test drove a Focus 2 door 5 speed and was also impressed. The fit and finish not to mention looks of the car aren't as favorable, however it gets better mpg and with the 5 speed manual the car would take off good. All this for less than the SX4, but it doesn't have 7 year 100,000 mile warranty, so I am divided here and am looking for input.

2nd Mar 2012, 23:28

Try Edmunds true cost to own calculator. I have been using it for a while to compare cars. It changes how you view the choices you make when trying to choose.

A 2011 SX4 Technology for example would cost on average $32135 for 5 years of ownership.

Compare that with an Impreza Sportback @ $35204 or the Honda Fit @ $30545.

Pretty comparable price ranges. True cost factors in vehicle cost, gas, insurance, repairs etc. I think that's a much better way to look at the cost of a vehicle.

15th Jul 2012, 12:47

Thanks for the info. I actually got a Kizashi instead. I saw one at the dealer, drove it, and was hooked. Suzukis have a solid feel to them that mainstream makers just seem to lack. It's sad more people don't at least drive them.

2008 Suzuki SX4 Sport Convenience 2.0L l4 from North America

Summary:

If you're looking for a compact, check this car out

Faults:

No problems (still new).

General Comments:

Car is rather well-equipped for the price.

Doesn't pick up a lot of speed quickly, but doesn't take forever to get up to speed.

Interior is very comfortable for a compact car (back seat is also rather comfortable).

Not a lot of cabin cargo space, glove compartment is small, there is no cargo armrest included with the car, (only as an accessory).

Cup holders for all four passengers are molded into door compartments..

Heated side mirrors (standard on a $16k car!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2008