1986 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1986 Toyota 4Runner SR5 2.4L 22RE from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4L 22RE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica GTS

Summary:

Dependability

Faults:

Other than routine maintenance, I've replaced the radiator, alternator, starter, pinion seals (front and rear) and the front crankshaft seal. All this was after the 10 year mark in the vehicle's life.

General Comments:

This vehicle still starts and runs better than vehicles half its age, it has never failed to start even in temperatures up to minus 40 Celsius.

The reliability of Toyota shines through in this vehicle, but as with any vehicle if you don't do the required routine maintenance it's going to cost you more in the long run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2000

1986 Toyota 4Runner SR5 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance257000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Toyota, I love what you have done for me!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing other than your usual maintenance schedules. This toy has been by far the best vehicle I have ever owned and I have purchased two Toyota products based on my trouble free experience.

I have learned to perform a major percentage of the repairs when needed such as timing chain, tune ups, brakes, clutch, etc. at a minimal cost. I'll be buried in this one.

General Comments:

Toyota models have seemed to be very reliable and have retained their resale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

7th Dec 2008, 22:30

Well here I am, back again to comment on my faithful '86 4Runner. Have compiled 360K miles and it is still going. Even the original a/c blows cold. The body and interior looks as good as the day I bought it. I've own a half dozen or so other vehicles since my last 2000 comment entry and mainly now use the 4Runner on less than average driving. She starts up on the turn of the key. I've even considered selling the old girl but hard to part with such a reliable vehicle. So to those out there who still own these magnificent machines - keep rolling fellow Toyotians....

7th Jun 2009, 11:43

I'm back agan to report on my "old faithful reliable friend". She now has almost 380K. Still starts at the turn of the key. August 1 of this year will embark on 21 years I've owned the toy. If only the original owner could see it now. I have plans to paint it. The original coat is now fading on the top and hood areas. I made the statement "I'll be buried in this one" and so far holding true. They don't build them like they use to. I'll be back to report my latest. Onward to my next adventure...

1986 Toyota 4Runner SR5 22RE from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 22RE Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel Wagon

Summary:

Good and reliable when working properly

Faults:

The automatic locking hubs went about 3 years ago and to replace them it cost around $800. This is because you have to replace both of them at the same time. And now this year they have gone again. I don't think this is common but if it is would someone write and let me know? Also at 158,000 miles the head gasket blew, I had to rebuild the whole engine because it warped the head so bad that it had to be replaced and the rest of the engine parts also were bad from the heat.

General Comments:

Although I really like this vehicle and I do not want to part with it, I would like to have the 4 wheel drive back without it costing me $800 every time it breaks....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

4th Mar 2001, 23:08

Dude - just get some aftermarket manual locking hubs - like Warren, or any other manufacturer. I did, they work great - sure I have to get out and adjust when I need them, but no big deal.

16th Jun 2001, 18:17

Man, you have had some bad luck get manual locking hubs.

18th Jun 2001, 21:54

The Reason that they are saying manual is that in all vehicles the manual locking hubs are more reliable. In case you didn't know.

Andrew Davidson.

1986 Toyota 4Runner Std 2.4L Fuel Injected from North America

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 2.4L Fuel Injected
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Head Gasket at 225,000. Replaced with used engine. Alternator at 177,000. Starter motor and very few other things.

General Comments:

I finally sold my 1986 4Runner to my son at 286,000 miles. He now has 313,000 miles on it and it runs just fine! I have a new 1997 4Runner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews