1989 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

1989 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 3ZVE V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.0 3ZVE V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance280101 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

The closest to mechanical perfection I've ever experienced

Faults:

Alternator went out about 8 years ago.

Power steering pump developed a leak in 2006 and needed replacement.

Rear differential became noisy, and bearings needed replacement about 10 years ago.

Needed a new set of fuel injectors at about 270k miles.

Front automatic hubs started acting up in 2009; replaced with old fashioned manual ones.

Rear tailgate lock cylinder is currently seized up.

Clutch needed replacement at 234k miles.

A/C developed a leak recently and quit working.

General Comments:

My father purchased this truck brand new in 1989, and I took it over from him in 2006. It has been nothing but an outstanding vehicle.

Even for more than a quarter of a million miles, the truck still has very good compression, and although you won't win any drag races by any means, it can still accelerate and cruise at 75 MPH all day with little effort. The truck still purrs like a kitten, has small amounts of road noise, and only has minor rattles on the interior. The removable top is a cool feature, but I rarely take it off, simply for the fact that I don't have a place to keep it when not in use.

The reliability has been incredible. Even with 280k+ miles, it still works quite well as a daily driver, doesn't leak oil, and it's up time between component failures has been quite remarkable. I took it to California a few years back, and though I was a bit nervous to drive a vehicle with these kind of miles on it that far, it did the trip quite well.

The fuel mileage is usually around 17 to the gallon, but I have gotten as high as 21 on the highway, even recently. The parts are easily available and not terribly expensive to obtain. Since this shares many parts through the 95 models and the pickups, there are A LOT of them out there, and therefore a good aftermarket.

For being as small as it is, it had decent amounts of interior space and can fit a significantly large load due to the fold down tailgate design.

The offroading ability is excellent due to its shorter wheelbase, good ground clearance and narrow body. It is able to claw through snow several feet deep with ease, even with the stock tire size.

People REALLY don't like having to crawl into the backseat, and will complain about it every time it happens. It probably is the reason you don't see too many 2-door SUVs these days.

The engine bay is somewhat cramped with the V6 stuffed in there, but it's manageable and I haven't had much difficulty in carrying out the various repairs she's needed over the years.

There's really not much else I can complain about, and it's stood up against the test of time very well compared to vehicles of a similar age. Buy one, change the oil, maintain it and keep it forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2013

1989 Toyota 4Runner KZN61 1KZ from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1KZ Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance546789 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Buy Toyota

Faults:

Minor electrical stuff; mostly due to deep water (1 - 1.5 metre) fording.

Seats wore out.

General Comments:

Totally indestructible. The door seals still seal and nothing rattles despite probably 800000 ks of hard river off roading. It has carried 1000s of pigs, deer etc, and never complained.

Goes wherever I want it to. Tows whatever is hooked on. Top family recreational vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2008

1989 Toyota 4Runner Special Edition 22-RE from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 22-RE Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired208000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres

Summary:

Never gives up!

Faults:

-Timingchain snapped while I was driving at 210,000KM. Unfortunately this truck was never maintained properly going for many years at a time without any service at all which obviously contributed to the timing chain breaking.

- Fender and rear wheel wells rusting (have been replaced)

General Comments:

Car has been in the family since I was 4 and has never left anyone stranded. Most reliable car we have ever had. Much more reliable than the previous POS Audi we had and the hyundai which was the worst.

After having the timing chain replaced as well as the head gasket and waterpump (only replaced it because the engine was being worked on anyway not because any failure). Iv had the truck for a year now as my first car and I must admit I've done gotten myself into pretty stupid situation and it has taken a beating. I've put over 6 grand into this truck now and I don't regret any of it. I hopefully will keep it forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2007

1989 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A perfectly functional body wrapped around a bulletproof engine

Faults:

Aside from the rear axle seal going out while driving from Alaska to Florida after burying the truck in a muddy river in Alaska, the truck has only needed routine maintenance:

Timing belt, other belts, wires, ball joint seals etc. (If it's rubber it will deteriorate in 15 years).

General Comments:

The truck has never ever broken down or left me stranded on the road.

I unknowingly drove through ND on the busted axle seal well above the limit, and figured it out when I hit the brakes and they felt weak, because they were lubricated with axle grease.

This truck does it all. It performs great on and off road, can tow, and looks great doing it all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

1989 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 3VZE from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 3VZE Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance200500 miles
Previous carDodge Pickup

Summary:

Takes a licken' and keeps on ticken'

Faults:

The rear window motor failed.

Regular maintenance.

General Comments:

This SUV is awesome. I bought it for $50 off my friend, and haven't had any problems.

The transmission is smooth, and the motor starts every time.

I love his first gen. 4runner so much. I wish it was a 5-speed, but that's okay.

The only other thing wrong is that it rots, like all other ones LOL.

The one thing I love is going offroading with it. The manual locking hubs are awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

1989 Toyota 4Runner 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Built to kick some tail off road.

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my FJ60 Toyota Landcruiser. It was my fathers and he allowed me to drive it before buying me my 1989 4runner.

General Comments:

God how I love this vehicle. This, I believe was the pinnacle of the Land Cruiser. It can tackle anyhthing without a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

6th Feb 2003, 20:23

Do you have any experience with the 2.4L 4 cyl engine? I like the reliability, but I want more power. Do you know of any ways to boost the power, maybe above 150 hp?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 6 reviews