1990 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

1990 Toyota 4Runner Delux 2.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired340000 kilometres
Most recent distance345000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

TOYOTA built to last!!! 4runner on and off road, no problem!!

Faults:

This is the my first 4WD, and so far I am pleased with it. I take it to camping and fishing, and have never had a problem.

The manual gear box is tight and the steering is fine. I've replaced all the oils and idler arm.

General Comments:

Great car. Toyota is not about performance and power, it's all about reliability!! The car is slow at traffic lights, but as soon as it takes off, no problem setting at 110km/h for long distances.

Change your engine oil every 5000km, and the rest of the oil every 10k, and you will have a very reliable Toyota for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2009

7th Sep 2012, 12:55

I had my head gasket changed on my 1990 Toyota pickup. Still can't believe Toyota did it. The truck is sooo old. A 2 day job. It's got 338000 km. The V6 still ran good; was using it as a plow truck, but the brakes went on it and power steering fluid was leaking, so it's now been parked for two years. Still no time to fix it, but I don't have the heart to scrap it, as I know it's still good.

1990 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Fun off-road whip

Faults:

When I first bought my 1990 4runner SR5 3.0 L V-6 auto, it ran pretty good for it being only a 3.0 V-6.

The mileage on fuel wasn't too bad til I threw on some 31x10.5 Yokohama Geolandar treads, then the mpg along with the power lowered a noticeable amount, but it still did alright.

Then I rolled it on the freeway, which caused oil to leak into the top of the piston rings, but after removing the oil and a few days of smoke coming out of the exhaust, it still ran pretty good. Later I changed some of the parts that I thought could be damaged from the oil leaking (i.e. spark plugs, spark plug wires, distributor, cap & rotor, oil & oil filter, etc...), and it eventually ran better, and is still running today almost at full power.

I think I'm averaging about 13 mpg hwy with the 31's, and around 200 +/- on a full tank.

General Comments:

I'd prefer to put a five speed in, along with a bigger V-6 and manual locking hubs on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2009

1990 Toyota 4Runner SR-5 fully loaded 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Poor experience - sorry I bought it

Faults:

Steering parts, head and head gaskets at 200,000 sunroof failed at 200,000, air conditioning failed at 180,000.

Starting problem when hot, 5 repair facilities have never found it. Starters burn up quickly.

Bought for $7800 with 157000 miles, have put $8000 into it in the 7 1/2 years I've owned it just to keep it running.

General Comments:

Pathetically underpowered, terrible gas mileage, shines the best in the snow or mud.

Don't try keep up with traffic in the mountains, you won't. Flat-lander SUV only.

Sits up high and is narrow, which makes it nice in town, just don't swerve at high speed, my friend rolled his.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2008

14th Jul 2009, 21:24

Wow. Even back in '01 $7800 was way too much for one of those. You got hosed.

22nd Jul 2012, 20:28

It's funny because I had a 89 4runner with 350,000 miles on it, and never even touched the engine with a wrench. You got a bad one; sorry for your loss.

27th Feb 2014, 12:18

My starter doesn't work after I've driven the truck and parked it. The starter seems to overheat or something. I can tap it and it always starts, or wait till it cools down.

Also, who came up with that annoying back window system? Had to replace the window motor and window supports. 700 dollars later, it still acts up because of contact points that moisture gets to. Not thrilled with it.

1990 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Faults:

The head gasket blew on the 4runner 3 litre V6. Sure, it is an old vehicle. But these are notorious for blowing head gaskets.

I phoned Toyota Canada and they say there is not recall on this engine. The person I spoke with could not tell me why some 1990s are recalled while others are not. She basically acted as if she did not know that Toyota had ever had a problem with head gaskets. This is an early 1990, built before the end of 1989.

So, what did Toyota do - just arbitrarily pick a date after which they would cover head gasket repairs? I doubt if there are any differences between the block, heads, and gaskets used on early or later 1990 V6s.

Has anyone managed to obtain the free repair from Toyota for a 1990? If so, could you tell me the manufacture date of your vehicle?

Is this engine worth fixing? Or is it a waste of money; can this again happen at any time?

(My other Toyota V6, a 1993 T100, was covered by a recall.)

General Comments:

Toyotas may be nice, but it seems that many have serious weak points. Once Toyota recognizes the problems, the company should stand behind their products. I have bought a few new Toyotas, but am not sure that I would do so again, especially after talking to the so-called "Customer Service" rep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2007

30th Nov 2007, 23:32

I don't even know what to say. How can you complain? 280,000 km's before the head gasket goes... just fix it and drive for another 125,000...Toyota's are the best, but even they begin to have problems at well over a quarter of a million miles.

7th Jan 2009, 18:07

Don't ever think about switching from a Toyota! The 3.0 are not as bullet proof as the 22re, but you don't know how much of a well built machine these things are. If you switch from a yota to a domestic, you should be ashamed! I don't know if I could show my face...

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews