1998 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1998 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance124500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Starter at 95000 miles

Ignition Key Tumbler at 123000 miles.

General Comments:

All in all a GREAT SUV. It's a truck based suspension so snow and offroading can be done seriously in this SUV unlike many crossover SUVs out there. 4WD system is great, it's like snow isn't even there at all. Plus there's plenty of room whether you're in the front or back. Cargo area is huge, especially if you lower the back seat. Wish it was a 7 seater, but overall it's a great truck for the money. The way it's going right now it seems it'll last for many more years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2007

1998 Toyota 4Runner Limited 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Reliable, Reliable, Reliable

Faults:

Absolutely Nothing!

General Comments:

This is by far the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Knowing it had 132,000 miles already, I knew it had plenty of life still left in it, and I managed to get it for a steal-of-a-deal. I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a nice looking, capable, reliable SUV. I've even managed to get 22 miles per gallon out of this SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2007

17th Mar 2007, 17:13

I totally agree! I bought my Runner w/129K on it and I now have 135 w/no problems at all. Also, I too have gotten up to 22mpg.

25th Nov 2007, 19:46

Most recently, I have hit 147k and its still running great... not a single thing has gone wrong yet! Squeezed in another couple miles per gallon as well...24 mpg. It must finally be broken in! HaHa.

23rd Jul 2009, 23:35

Just hit 170k, still no problems or loss of power. Would still buy another!

11th Jun 2011, 16:59

Sounds awesome. I'm currently looking for one.

30th Oct 2011, 10:45

Have 203k now. Still running good.

1998 Toyota 4Runner Limited 3.4L V6 unleaded from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 unleaded Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

I have driven the junk out of this car and so far so good. It just eats a little more gas than I would have expected.

General Comments:

Great car. it's a limited and completly stock. I have taken this thing off road places where I shouldn't have, and where the only other car around is a lifted jeep with fat tires and skid plates.

I do not like how the doors do not unlock from the inside when you try opening the door handles.

This is also the only SUV I have driven, out of a lot of cars, that handles more like a car than a big swishy truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2006

24th Jan 2007, 17:54

My 4runner is a beast. I've taken it offroading with a modified jeep and on several occasions outperformed the jeep. the only problem I've had so far actually occured today, I ripped the front skid plate off and I can't exactly find a replacement. that's the only bad thing that's happened to it.

16th Feb 2007, 13:46

This is the best suv ever. It handles so well in the winter. I'ved never had any problems with this car. The ride is so smooth and so very quite. It's the toughest and best looking suv there is. Nobody tops this vehicle.

24th Jan 2009, 02:14

OK. I had a 97 4runner SR5 for 2 years and loved it. It has been passed down from my mom when we bought it... to my older sister.. to me and now to my younger sister. Although I replaced my 4runner with a 2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport, I can't see myself going back to the 4runner. It's way underpowered for its weight and size. Although it is very reliable... about to break 155K miles.

The 4 wheel drive is good (not as good as my Jeeps but it's good). But the back end whips out wayyy too much just because it's long.. I have learned how to master the way this vehicle handles. But I just got bored of how slow it was... it gets the same gas mileage as my Jeep but with a gas tank that holds 2 more gallons.

29th Apr 2010, 04:41

I'm going to pick up my new (to me) 1998 4runner LTD this weekend. It has 128,000 original km on it (80,000 miles) and is in mint condition, and paying $9500 CAD for it, I think I did alright.

I bought this 4runner mainly for summer, going up old logging roads, and to find secluded spots for camping and fishing. Really this SUV is too nice for what I'm using it for, but I wanted something I could count on being 2 or 3 hours up in the back country of British Columbia, Canada. Let's just say I will be bush bombing in style...

Way to go Toyota!!!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 16 reviews