1998 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1998 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This is a nice, reliable vehicle.

Faults:

Since I purchased this vehicle, I have had to replace the power antenna twice. Each time, the antenna quit working without any warning.

The leather on the driver's seat had cracked areas on one side when I purchased the vehicle off lease. Within one year, this area had spread, to become a large hole. The cushion is now exposed.

The cup/drink holder in the front of the vehicle is very flimsy. It broke within one year of my ownership.

General Comments:

In spite of the problems reported, I am pleased with this vehicle. It has been very reliable and continues to perform well, even with high mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

21st Feb 2005, 21:40

Sounds like your problems are rather minor.. atleast your truck didn't catch on fire, or you didn't blow a head gasket :)

5th Mar 2007, 08:29

Why did yours? The head gasket problem did not seem to affect the 96 and up V6's? Any vehicle can potentially catch fire.

1998 Toyota 4Runner Base 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance120345 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Should have bought an American Car

Faults:

Many things on this car are faulty. Here's the list of flaws:

1) Extremely uncomfortable.

2) Very bumpy and bouncy ride.

3) Noisy interior.

4) Bad cup holder design.

5) Flimsy.

6) Brakes keep locking up.

7) Throttle keeps wearing out.

8) Sunroof leaks.

9) Inaccessible spark plugs.

10) Wind Noise.

11) Terrible Fuel Economy.

General Comments:

I don't know why I bought this car. It has so many things gone wrong. But it does have a couple good things about it. It's good for hauling stuff around, and it has good steering. That's it, though. I should have gotten an American car. At least they're built well!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

1st Sep 2007, 23:47

I can't believe you actually think that American cars are built better than a Toyota. American cars used to be good, if not great cars. Those days are long gone. If you think Toyota's are high maintenance cars, you should AVOID completely any contact with American cars, unless you purchase some old car from the 70's. Anyway, it's nice to see that American car companies still have some loyal customers. People like you will keep the "big" three from going out of business.

1998 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

The last of the truly reliable on and off-road capable SUVs

Faults:

Squeaky clutch (U-bushing was the problem)

That's it.

General Comments:

My first 4runner was a 1999 4Runner which I gave to my brother (long story). Having driven that vehicle for two, trouble-free years, I decided to buy a used one to save money a little money to modify it to my liking. I purchased a 1998 in late 2001 and I'm just as happy if not happier with the 1998.

As others have said, reliability is the #1 reason why I purchased yet another 4runner. I've seen my brother's Isuzu Rodeo go down the drain into maintenance purgatory.

The quality, fit, and finish of the 4runner is outstanding. As it is one of the very few remaining Toyota vehicles still built in Japan, you know its been done right.

The exterior styling is classic, yet a little modern. It still looks like an SUV instead of these new current generation of poseur SUV body styles.

Interior styling is and was even back in 1998, dated. The center radio console is bland and the worst interior feature is the dash mounted cup holder.

Performance-wise, the 3.6L V6 is good enough for me. With a load of gear and 4 people though, the engine struggles slightly to get up 20 deg freeway inclines.

Off-road, it is highly capable unlike many of the pretenders out there like the national SUV sales leader, Ford Explorer.

Maintenance is easy on the 4runner. The commonality of the parts between the 4runner and Tacoma make it easy to find out advice from both communities. I'd say the most awkward basic maintenance item to change is getting out the oil filter, but if you go through the fender wheel well skirt, its not as big of a problem as say a mid-80's Nissan Maxima!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

1st May 2006, 23:31

You can actually get to the filter easier topside, but you have to get more than half your body into the engine compartment.

16th Jan 2008, 01:36

I'm looking to buy my first car. I am 6'3 and I'm looking for a nice spacing car like the 4runner. My main concern is the amount of mileage that the one that I have my eye on is going to be reliable. It has 112,000 miles and its is selling for 10,955 I'm wondering if it is a good deal?

1st Feb 2008, 12:15

Depending on the truck it self, but I would say that might be a little high. I have seen a lot between the 8 and 9 range. again it depends on the truck. I would definitely get a carfax report and make sure you trust the dealer/person you are buying it from. Good luck!

8th Feb 2010, 22:02

Woo hoo, I have a 1998 Sport base whatever, black handles and bumpers, 4runner with 191k, and I love it. It runs strong, and everything works, even the antenna.

No rips in the seats or anything. I do however take care of it; oil changes every 3 months or 3k, no matter what.

I also have only had to put on 3 sets of tires; the last set, I put on smaller ones, which makes a dream of a difference.

This car outlived my 2000 VW Jetta VR6, which crapped out last month - and I took care of it too... I'm bitter about that...

1st Jun 2010, 22:22

So why did you give your 4runner to your brother?

1998 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Typical Toyota outstanding reliability and quality

Faults:

The power antenna had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This has been a very nice and very reliable vehicle.

We absolutely love it's on and off road manners.

The only thing we have had to do besides have the power antenna fixed is change the oil.

Though I have noticed the exhaust shroud rattle, but was able to fix that by simply bending the shroud slightly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 16 reviews