2001 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

2001 Toyota 4Runner Limited 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

An overestimated rig!

Faults:

Suspension bushings.

Engine head.

Rattles and falling apart trims.

Sagging rear suspension.

Worn shocks.

General Comments:

Falls apart after five years. Lasts forever if you can endure the noise and vibration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2008

25th Oct 2008, 00:59

This post sounds pretty unbelievable. Mine = 7yrs old, 145k, same set of brakes, one tail light replaced. No rattles, solid like the day I bought her.

3rd Dec 2008, 00:15

Most Toyota owners will never admit the reliability issues. My experience with the brand is crystal clear: 4 and 6 cylinder oil sludge and oil starvation. Axle break in hard incline; rollover in extreme off-road. Suspension parts buyers for life. Premature rust and body structure matters. A must in the wreck yard!

12th Jan 2009, 17:05

Unbelievable post. My Limited 4WD 4Runner is 8 years old and still runs like new with 150K miles on her. New timing belt and water pump at 90K. Front brakes at 100K. Original tires lasted 85K. No rattles. No complaints. Will never sell.

2001 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance107290 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

4 Runners are great cars for the money, though I wish they got better gas mileage.

Faults:

Nothing at all.

Routine maintenance has kept it in tip top condition.

General Comments:

This is a superb truck for the person who wants to do light off-roading, or haul a pack of dogs and their owners to far off destinations for play dates.

Everything inside is within reach and is very comfortable.

Handles city driving well and makes quick stops.

Excellent brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

2001 Toyota 4Runner SR5 Sport 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

Reliable, great off-road, wish it was manual

Faults:

Radio antenna jammed. Fixed it myself. That's it!

General Comments:

Very reliable, never been in the shop.

Handles dirt roads, streams, snow, and mud without a problem.

Push-button 4-wheel drive and locking differential are idiot-proof.

Automatic transmission feels sluggish on the road (I wish they still made manual trannies!).

Gas mileage ranges between 16 and 20 mpg.

I keep up with all the scheduled maintenance, and have not had any problems with the engine.

Seats fold flat for lots of cargo space - two people can sleep in the back comfortably (I'm 6 feet tall).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2008

2001 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.4 - 4 cam from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 - 4 cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Cautiously optimistic it's one tough truck

Faults:

The radiator failed at 112,000 km (70,000 miles). Thought at first it was a thermostat problem as fluid was coming out of the radiator cap and the radiator overflow bottle. Driving to Dealer and watching temp the transmission started acting up. Pulled car over and shut off. Towed to Dealer. Engine never overheated.

Wondering if anyone else has had this problem with their 4Runner?

General Comments:

Had owned 1989 4Runner for 17 years. Very dependable therefore moved up to the 2001 for Toyota dependability. The 2001 has been a great vehicle until this problem.

Transmission cooling coil in radiator broke and coolant made it into transmission and torque converter. Unsure of it's dependability now.

After replacing radiator, radiator cap and flushing the transmission a couple times the transmission hesitates shifting. Was harsh in beginning although appears to be settling out.

Dealer recommends changing oil after running for 5oo kilometers or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2007

20th May 2008, 14:07

I just had the same problem with my 2001 4runner. I am attempting to do the work myself. I am replacing the radiator, transmission fluid, and transmission filter. Hopefully everything goes well, I will let you know.

2001 Toyota 4Runner SR5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Overall, I love it except for the costly repairs.

Faults:

I had to replace the solenoid switch.

I also had to replace the the torque converter.

General Comments:

This vehicle is beautiful and I enjoy driving it (when it is not in the repair shop).

I am very disappointed with the costly repairs that I have had to pay along with the car note.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th December, 2004

18th Nov 2005, 16:06

At least yours *came* with a solenoid switch. For years Toyota never put them on because they thought they knew better than everyone else. Eventually the starter system simply stops working like mine did. Re-wiring the system to add a solenoid switch will work, but is surprising to have to do since these things have been used since the dark ages. I hope your 4 Runner starts treating you better. Mine never did so I don't buy them anymore.

21st Apr 2008, 22:22

Starting problems have nothing to do with solenoids; all you have to do is take off the main cable to the starter and clean it. Even if it doesn't look that dirty, it is nasty to get to by the way. Every two years our 4runner won't start, always in the winter, but it will start if you boost it. Clean the cable and contact, and you are home free for two years.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews