1995 Toyota 4Runner Limited from North America - Comments

14th Jan 2008, 16:19

In reading all these comments, it sounds like a recall was issued for certain VIN's. However, in researching recalls, I do not find anything tied to the 1995 Toyota 4Runner, except for a minor external lighting recall. I checked the NHTSA recall data base at http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/recalls/recallsearch.cfm

Anybody have the recall information??? I have just purchased a 1995 Limited with 144K miles on the infamous V6 motor referenced in this scary chain, and would like to see if my VIN is part of this recall.

Please email me at larmendariz@netzero.net if you have the recall details.

I personally hope and pray that the head gasket issue is just an Internet frenzy and not a reality. If it's real, doing the preventive maintenance of installing a corrective head gasket prior to blowing the OEM one make sense to me. I was planning on having the timing belt and water pump changed, since I don't know the history on the motor. It would be a perfect time to get the head gaskets changed, but I don't want to go through the additional expense without the recall confirmation.

Thanks!!!

4th Feb 2008, 19:22

And yet another one bites the dust. 1995 Toyota 4 Runner 3.0 V6 head gasket, which has given me white creamy colored substance where the engine oil dip stick used to have a black oil color substance.

I called the Toyota phone # that someone back in 2005 wrote in a post about this very same problem, which was 800-331-4331, and they said the recall was for 96 V6's 4 Runners (certain VIN #'s). She said mine was involved with a steering relay rod recall, that if taken to the dealership, they will fix for free. It was campaign # 50-N involving 95 4 Runners according to Toyota.

I told her I couldn't get the truck down there, because of the head gasket getting fixed first so I can drive it! LOL.

Call that number and see if your 96 4 Runner's on the list. For us 95 owners, too bad!!

But do tell the person on the phone that your want to formally complain with Toyota and she will only get your name, # and address.

Please, please, please go to this website and file a report. I'm going to do it now as well. But go to this site:

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/complaints/complaintsearch.cfm

** BE SURE you go to COMPLAINTS (Search Complaints) and not Safety Recalls and then go through the questions it will ask you like below.

The select VEHICLE button to choose will be in the box on the right.

Select the TYPE of Search: Vehicle (submit)

Selected Year: 1995 (submit)

Select Make: TOYOTA (submit)

Select Model: 4 Runner (submit)

Then it will say: Component (optional) : (retrieve complaints)

Just mash the (retrieve complaints) button and there you go... be patient; there are a lot of complaints to load so it takes a bit.

OK, so there’s all the info, so PLEASE file another complaint for the sake of you and everyone else here. And for me for all this typing I did LOL.

I've got the time to do a class action suit, so I'm going to check into it and it looks like I can get some support here. I just don't have the money to get my Yota fixed because I can't work.

Thanks Kim

ksteele29@yahoo.com

16th Feb 2008, 18:13

My 95 4Runner also blew a gasket. Got it fixed ($2500), and within 3 months, it did it again. Still making payments on it. I will file the complaints, but if anyone finds out anything, PLEASE contact me barbie@ozarkgifts.com.

20th Feb 2008, 14:33

Add my 1995 Toyota 4runner with 136,000 miles. Had overheated several times, the last one was not too long ago. Had been leaking for many years now, the mechanic kept relating the problem to the radiator. Radiator was changed, fuel pump replaced, but still overheated. The head gasket blew up when my son was driving to the market a few weeks ago. I was very frustrated with the problem. The mechanic was charging me $2,500 to fix it.

Please contact me: alicepanganiban@hotmail.com.

4th Mar 2008, 16:51

I bought a 1995 SR5 4Runner (134K miles) two weeks ago. Immediately drove it to Durango and back (800 miles) over three days. Ran like a watch - no overheating, no white smoke, has always started right up.

Yesterday the rear window would not go down properly so I took it to the Boulder Toyota dealer. He just called me ($400 to replace the motor in the tailgate).

Also, my antifreeze was low by a quart so they looked into this and told me that my head gasket leaks. $1,000 to take it apart and another $1,000 to replace the gasket.

I asked the mechanic if it is worth replacing and he said it probably was as everything else on the truck is good.

Very disappointed (edlindgren@yahoo.com).

18th Mar 2008, 15:45

Just like everyone else, my 95 4Runner is dead. My problem seems a little different than the rest of these stories. My truck ran great except that there was a ticking noise coming from the motor. My wife had wrecked the car that she was driving and was forced to drive the Toyota for a couple of weeks. In the second week I got a call from the side of the road. The truck did not overheat but it will not turn over. Has anyone else had this problem or is this the same thing? The truck has 199,000 miles on it.

20th Mar 2008, 22:26

I too am a victim of Toyota. I have a 94 4runner. It gets hot after 5 miles. I have removed the thermostat even though the manual says not to. It will save your motor from overheating until Toyota can fix this problem. Count me in as well in this lawsuit.

5th Apr 2008, 19:02

Add me to the list, 1995 4-runner. Blew a head gasket today.

If anyone has the recall info please email me.

I have not seen anyone that has gotten the recall. Was there really one?

Fsunoles1962@optonline.net Thanks.

14th Apr 2008, 11:19

I bought a 95-4runner in 97. I took it into the Toyota dealership for an oil change and they replaced my head gasket free of charge. They said it was a recall. I now have 204,000 on original engine. My cousin had a 94-4runner and his head gasket blew. The dealership said they would not fix it. My uncle then sent documentation on his loyalty to Toyota over the years and my recall experience and asked Toyota to fix it for free. They did.

21st Apr 2008, 19:34

Well, add me to the list of suckers. I traded my $11,500 Harley Super-Glide for a 95 4runner with only 123k miles on it (Hey it's a Toyota, slap on back, slap on back) The guy even had two Christian fish on his sign. He told me that it had been WELL cared for, he knew the owner well.

I took it to the dealership for some minor work, I thought (valve cover oil leak). Had to put new timing belt, water-pump, new belts, valve cover gaskets. FIFTEENHUNDRED BUCKS!!! Two weeks ago,138k miles, it started blowing white smoke and using coolant. Went to independent shop and was told it was covered by recall for the blown head gasket. The date is right to be covered!Called Toyota... NOT COVERED! They told me to call the dealership where I had all that work done and see if they would help me. Why the Sam Hill should I need help??? The date is within the recall!!! I'm waiting for the service manager to call me back now. I'm considering parking it in front of the dealership with a BIG sign on it that says this truck is trash and Toyota won't fix a recalled problem. I've got a lot of time on my hands.

LAWSUIT??? COUNT ME IN!!! tmty05@onr.com Please contact me if you can help. I'm an old crippled up guy (that's why I traded my Harley, couldn't ride anymore) stuck on disability having to live on less than a grand a month. That Harley was the only thing I had that was worth anything. Sure wish I had done some research BEFORE getting that 4runner!!!

SUV BUYERS BEWARE!!!