1995 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

Pain in the $%#^!

Faults:

I bought the car from an old man who used it as a vacation car. The truck ran fine for the summer and fall, then it all went down hill in the winter. It blew a cooling line through the block. I fixed that, but 3 months later it overheated, so I replaced your basic stuff. Nothing worked; took it to the mechanic, he tells me blown head gasket. Not covered by the recall. I won't buy another Toyota unless it has the 22re motor.

General Comments:

Fun to drive, except not much power.

Not reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2011

29th Mar 2012, 12:41

I love my 4runner... I bought it after the previous owner had replaced the head gaskets.

I've had a few problems that were easily fixed; thermostat, alternator, fan clutch, but it's not as bad as they make it seem.

Very reliable, I've put over 80K miles on it, and I paid only 5K for it.

Overall, I don't regret my 4runner... 4x4 has rarely been used, but it works great all the time.

1995 Toyota 4Runner LTD 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired164000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Disappointed

Faults:

The head gasket blew last night. My girlfriend was driving it and broke down. She called me to tell me the car had overheated, and billows of white smoke were coming out. I drove to pick her up and help, and thought it was not that big a deal, but when I tried to start it... what a nightmare. I bought a gallon of coolant and dumped that in. But it was too late. The damage was done. By the way, the coolant was spitting out of the radiator, I realized the head gasket was blown. I tried to drive it down the road to get as close to home as I could before calling AAA, but could only get a couple blocks.

Now I have to decide if the car is worth fixing or junking. Reading other stories, I don't know how difficult it would be to replace the gasket and how much other damage had been done. I guess I will flip a coin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2011

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

WASTE of road

Faults:

EVERYTHING: head gasket at 220000km, transmission clutch, CV shafts, rear window, speedo cable, fuel pump.

General Comments:

JUNK, JUNK. I had very high marks for this SUV, but I'm done with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner 4x4 3.0L gas from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0L gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance190500 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

I'd love to buy this truck again

Faults:

I bought the SUV used at 171,000 miles on it. The only problem was the head gasket was blown at that time. I fixed it for the cost of $230 at a wayside shop. From that time till now, no fault.

Electricals are superb, transmission like new.

General Comments:

The truck runs smoothly. The only problem is that it runs high on gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner SRS 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

It is the worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

At 142000, blown head gasket. The vehicle was running great, and new tires were just purchased, body work done, and now the vehicle is pretty much shot

I am not going to fix it, because I am afraid something else will happen.

120000; steering pump leaking needed replacing.

At 80000, starter, and again at 130000 at a cost of 450. You need to remove many things to get at the starter.

70000; replaced the timing chain, water pump and belts over 500, and at the same time the brakes and rotors went.

General Comments:

I will never buy a Toyota again. It has been the most expensive car to fix, with more things that went wrong than any other car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 EFI from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Served it purpose as I live in the country

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 155,000 - no compression in 6th cylinder, Fan stopped working - radiator blew.

General Comments:

This 4Runner has been a great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3vz-e from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3vz-e Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Strange thrill

Faults:

My own theory about overheating on the left bank of cylinders, is big dumb knobby tires that puts a drag on the engine. Sort of like dragging an anchor. Why the left bank weakens first is a higher issue I can't fathom easily.

General Comments:

Fun truck to own; sort of like being in a cult of folks that hate small cars..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2010

5th Dec 2011, 10:57

See the first paragraph about cylinder heads.

http://www.enginebuildermag.com/Article/2496/rebuilding_the_toyota_30l_v6.aspx

I wonder if this has anything to do with the difference in longevity between cylinder heads?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 65 reviews