1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 from North America


WASTE of road


EVERYTHING: head gasket at 220000km, transmission clutch, CV shafts, rear window, speedo cable, fuel pump.

General Comments:

JUNK, JUNK. I had very high marks for this SUV, but I'm done with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner 4x4 3.0L gas from North America


I'd love to buy this truck again


I bought the SUV used at 171,000 miles on it. The only problem was the head gasket was blown at that time. I fixed it for the cost of $230 at a wayside shop. From that time till now, no fault.

Electricals are superb, transmission like new.

General Comments:

The truck runs smoothly. The only problem is that it runs high on gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner SRS 3.0 from North America


It is the worst car I have ever owned


At 142000, blown head gasket. The vehicle was running great, and new tires were just purchased, body work done, and now the vehicle is pretty much shot

I am not going to fix it, because I am afraid something else will happen.

120000; steering pump leaking needed replacing.

At 80000, starter, and again at 130000 at a cost of 450. You need to remove many things to get at the starter.

70000; replaced the timing chain, water pump and belts over 500, and at the same time the brakes and rotors went.

General Comments:

I will never buy a Toyota again. It has been the most expensive car to fix, with more things that went wrong than any other car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 EFI from North America


Served it purpose as I live in the country


My head gasket blew at 155,000 - no compression in 6th cylinder, Fan stopped working - radiator blew.

General Comments:

This 4Runner has been a great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2010

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3vz-e from North America


Strange thrill


My own theory about overheating on the left bank of cylinders, is big dumb knobby tires that puts a drag on the engine. Sort of like dragging an anchor. Why the left bank weakens first is a higher issue I can't fathom easily.

General Comments:

Fun truck to own; sort of like being in a cult of folks that hate small cars..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2010

5th Dec 2011, 10:57

See the first paragraph about cylinder heads.


I wonder if this has anything to do with the difference in longevity between cylinder heads?

1995 Toyota 4Runner 3.0 from North America


Wouldn't buy another one


Head gasket blew, transmission slips.

General Comments:

Great handling and looking vehicle.

Too bad Toyota couldn't fix the problem with the head gaskets.

Toyota should fix their mistakes instead of covering them up. Looks like with most recent safety recalls, that it's becoming general practice for Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2010

12th Apr 2010, 06:29

Gosh! Another 14 year old car with 200000 miles, which doesn't perform like it was new, what is the world coming to?

12th Apr 2010, 15:39

I cannot believe you are complaining about this... You're right, Toyota should definitely recall your 15 year old car with 207,000 miles on it.

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V6 4x4 3.0 EFI V6 from North America


Absolute dog unless you live on a 4x4 trail


Replaced catalytic converter because of failed smog check: $263 installed.

New radiator because original radiator's top tank separated from bending while off-roading: $229 for radiator/thermostat/hoses.

Full-tune up after purchase due to rough running at idle and lack of power, causing check engine light to come on. Plugs/wires/air filter (K&N), etc.: $135.

Electronic switches have a mind of their own. ECT trans switch works 75% of the time, rear window controller works most of the time (always works with key), cruise control is a JOKE, shifts to over 4000 rpm on a level road @ 70 mph for no reason at all. Completely useless!

OD off switch is bad, sometimes causing the truck to run in drive for several minutes until it decides to go back to OD (3600 rpm @ 60 mph in drive).

Various noises, squeaks, poor factory speakers.

Can't fit anything larger than the stock spare under the truck. I upgraded to 31x10.5x15" BFG AT KO's, and I can't carry a full size spare without spending nearly $1000 on a custom swing-arm carrier, or mounting a Safari Rack, which will further affect my horrendous mpg.

General Comments:

This truck is a dog. The 3.0 V6 (150 hp) matched with the auto trans on a 3900lb 4x4 is simply ridiculous! I imagine the 5 speed would be a little better, but I have not driven one yet.

I have owned over 30 cars, most of them old beaters, and even my 1982 Subaru GL 4 spd wagon had more pull on a grade. You have to shift to drive on even the slightest hill, then you are turning 4000+ rpm @ 65-70 mph just so you are not holding up traffic. I cannot believe they sold so many of these rigs if they all perform like this.

I did my research, and it looks like there is very little I can do to improve the situation. K & N intake, aftermarket exhaust, Nology plug wires (all pricey, btw) etc. might get me 5-10% more power, but it is still a dog... the absolute worst I have ever owned!

In its favor is its off-road prowess. Very solid and composed on a desert trail, feels like it will never let me down and can climb some frightening grades. Excellent ground clearance and low-range transfer case. Relaxed and certainly in it's element when it leaves the highway. Drove 100 miles off-road in December through Saline Valley, and had an absolute blast!

I didn't expect the truck to be an economical commuter, but I was hoping for around 18 mpg. With the tires that were on it, I managed that much a few times on long hwy stretches. But then I put the tires I really wanted on the truck (BFG's), and my mpg went into the tank. I'm now getting 14 mpg in mixed driving, 15.3 being my best tank on these tires, and even getting under 12 mpg with about 50% city driving. I CANNOT BELIEVE my eyes whenever I fill up. What a joke!

The next gen (1996-1999) 4Runner has more power, is 300 lbs lighter, is just as capable off-road and gets 3 mpg better. Do whatever it takes to avoid the 2nd gen 4Runners with the 3.0 and auto trans, they are a complete waste of time and money! You will be holding up traffic everywhere you go. Might as well be driving a motorhome! Go with a 1st gen 22RE 5 Spd or save up for a 3rd Gen (3.4 V6 DOHC, 183 hp, 217 lb/ft torque) with any tranny (they have the power to pull the auto).

The truck does look great, and I prefer the styling to any other 4Runner, but I feel I'm stuck with one of the biggest dogs on the road. A true gutless wonder, but hey, at least it gets hideous mpg, right?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2010

16th May 2010, 02:14

Wow, you hit the nail on the head with this review. I have had mine for 8 years. It is a dog for sure, but it is reliable and has a nice ride. I got it with 78000 miles. It now has 165000. Costs about $50 to go 200 miles. It needs more than 200hp to operate efficient. Good quality. It runs killer with a good exhaust system; always run premium with octane booster.