1995 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 4 of 16

1995 Toyota 4Runner from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

Not sure if I would buy one again

Faults:

Have owned my 1995 4 Runner for seven years...

Started having problems about three years ago when the #6 plug kept fouling... took it to the mechanic four times to have the plug replaced...

In 2007 took it in for the same reason... car was missing badly... they took it apart and said the #6 head was shot... head gasket was blown... they repaired it, $1,870...

Almost two years to the day, noticed car missing badly, bad shaking at idle... took it to my mechanic... #6 head blown again... gasket shot... now needs even more extensive work... well over $3,000 to fix everything that this blown head gasket has caused.

Two blown head gaskets within two years... that's a joke.. Toyota should be held responsible for this shoddy workmanship... anyone want to buy a super clean Toyota, with a blown engine.. (LOL) Seriously, they should not be allowed to get away with this...

Anyone have any ideas as who to call at Toyota,

I'd like to give them my two cents worth.. if nothing else..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2009

1995 Toyota 4Runner Limited 3VZ-E 3.0 liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3VZ-E 3.0 liter Manual
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I like this car, and knew of the head gasket problem before purchase

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 174,000. One had been replaced by a previous owner.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable to drive and ride in. It is low on power though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th March, 2009

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3VZE from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3VZE Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles

Summary:

Could have been a great SUV... If Toyota would stand behind their vehicles and recall known problems

Faults:

Blown head gaskets.

Steering components.

Coolant leaks.

Cruise control.

Speedometer cable.

Rear window motor...

Head gaskets leaked at 174000, and Toyota will NOT cover the repairs or recall the motor for head gasket defects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

1995 Toyota 4Runner from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

It's a good SUV, but the 3VZ Engine has to go

Faults:

I got the 4Runner with 147,500 miles & the head gasket blew at 149,900 miles. I have spoken to 3 independent mechanics, who stated the 3VZ 3.0 engine has a common problem the design of the head gasket. I had 3 different quotes for the head gasket rebuild for an average of $1700. One of the shops specializes in total engine rebuilds (swaps) with a 3 year 100,000 mile warranty for under $3,000.

If you're having a head job done, make sure that a Mirrored Micro-Finish is done with the best gasket you can get. Also I was told that this is a temporary fix, considering that eventually the head gasket will blow again some time down the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It's a Toyota, enough said

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Well, I'm writing this review not because of my expertise. This is my first 4Runner I have ever bought, but I go off-roading with my friend who has a 99 4Runner and I love it. His car isn't lifted, but it gets stuck less than my other friend with a 2003 Jeep with a 4" lift. So I decided to buy a 4Runner of my own.

I didn't have much money, so a 95 was the closest I could get to my friend's 99. My 4Runner is very clean, and runs better then I ever thought a 15 year old car could. The problem is I can't let this 4Runner die because I don't have enough money for a new car.

I heard a lot about the head gaskets blowing, but this one just got a brand new one about 10,000 miles ago, and the old one didn't blow, they actually used the old one on a different 4Runner so hopefully I don't have to worry about the head gasket.

Again, I'm no expert, and outside of general engine parts, I don't know much. So I'm wondering if there is something else I should take care of before the snow melts here in Michigan and I take my 4Runner off road?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2009

1995 Toyota 4Runner 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Head gasket blew for second time at 143,000 miles. First replacement was at 89,000. Toyota refuses to repair twice.

General Comments:

Has been expensive to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2009

28th Jan 2009, 09:36

Your problem is you bought a V6 with automatic, which is no good on these cars. Had you have bought the 22R 4 cylinder with a stick shift, you would have had basically zero issues with the drivetrain. Those damn things just keep on going like a tractor :)

19th Feb 2009, 22:28

I have one of my family's 4runner's that was purchased new in 94, they also have a 93, a 91 pickup, and an 89 pickup, all with the 3.0/5spd. combo.

I bought the 4runner from my dad about 2 years ago with 205,000 miles. It still has the original head gaskets, with no issues whatsoever. It does have the usual 3.0 injector click, but that will be taken care of soon with some performance injectors.

But, my parents do own one 4runner that's 3.0/auto, and it is a total heap. Body is clean, interior clean, engine runs alright, but the auto/3.0 combo just sucks, it has no power. For instance, they live in Big Bear, I can pull the boat (30' bayliner) up the mountain with no issues, but the other one can barely get it moving, runs hot the whole climb (about 20 miles of steep sharp curves), it's just a dog with the auto.

Well, it's time for me to go clean off the mud, have a good night!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 65 reviews