1995 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 9 of 16

1995 Toyota 4Runner 2WD SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

I just bought her about 3 months ago (7/06). About one month ago I blew the head gasket.

Apparently there were recalls on 1995 4Runners' head gaskets, mine was built in 95 so it does not apply to me. I got a quote of $3500 to get it fixed, but that is with a used engine. I hear that if I ever wanted to buy another 4Runner to get one from 1998 or newer.

That is my 2 cents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2006

12th Feb 2007, 12:13

Why are all you guys blowing head gaskets? Where do you drive your 4runners? Off Roading?

31st May 2008, 21:57

Why are we blowing head gaskets?

Toyota had a known design flaw and for some, they replaced or repaired the engines... a lot of 4 Runners were left out of this... and their owners are not happy. Most bought Toyota's thinking they were buying a dependable truck built by a dependable company despite the premium. I fully expected to get 200k miles from a 31k truck... I got 104k before it died.

1) Exhaust system will rot first... from a coolant leak due to a leaky head gasket

2) As the problem progresses, you will have the #6 spark plug crack

3) You will then notice anti-freeze smell from exhaust

4) Once the problem progresses to this point it's only a matter of time before the leak allows coolant to pool into the combustion chamber.

5) If this happens...you'll pop a hole in the top of the piston.

6) At this point the engine is complete shot.

A slow death... unless somebody finds the problem early.

1995 Toyota 4Runner Limited 4x4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Toyota needs to look at all the posts and stand behind their vehicles

Faults:

Here's another head gasket - bought my 95 4Runner 6 month's ago with a rebuilt engine at 135k - Engine started overheating & noticed gasket material in the radiator.

I'm only at 179k - my Toyota Tacoma has 460k & no problems like this - count me in on a recall.

General Comments:

Like the 4Runner, but I need a reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V6-3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6-3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Great for 10 years, then it went to #@$%@

Faults:

Dealer replaced head gasket at 70,000 miles. I believe it was done under the recall. Had water pump and timing belt done at same time.

Had entire cooling system replaced at 115,000 miles (had cracks in radiator) Also had clutch done (normal wear).

At 140,000 miles I had the head gasket blow which cost $2500. This included timing belt, thermostat, water pump, and head work.

General Comments:

I am another victim of the Toyota head gasket problem. I am selling it immediately and never buying another Toyota. If any hears of a lawsuit against Toyota please email me at a1todd1@msn.com. Thanks and good luck to all of you in the same boat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2006

1st Dec 2006, 12:50

Let me get this straight.. you were able to go 140k with no major problems and you're angry? When you find a vehicle that will allow you to go 140k with no problems please let me know..

1st Dec 2006, 14:39

That’s right! Head gasket every 70,000 miles is OK if it’s a TOYOTA, because they’re the best. Only US made cars can ever go to #@$%@.

6th Feb 2007, 17:48

I agree. Don't buy another Toyota. They r nothing, but ugly looking crap. My moms boyfriend loves Toyota though. He's crazy though. But anyway, go try a Hyundai or Ford. I heard several good reports about them.

1995 Toyota 4Runner from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance191500 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Even though the truck has high miles, it hasn't given me any problems. After all, it's a Toyota. Today, however, when I was leaving school to get in the truck, I put the key in the ignition and it wouldn't turn. This aggrivated me highly and I had to have it towed. My opinion of Toyota went down a little. It was somewhat embarrassing.

General Comments:

The 4Runner is awesome. It's very reliable and is a great truck. Even though I've had the one incident, I still believe it's one of the best sport utility vehicles on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2005

24th Jun 2005, 06:20

I have a 1992 4Runner and have had the same problem with the key suddenly not turning in the keyhole. I remedied the problem by simply blowing powdered graphite into the keyhole. You also may want to get a new key made if your current one is worn.

23rd Aug 2007, 23:24

I find that if I turn the steering wheel slightly, the key will turn. It helps to park with your wheels straight-no problems.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 65 reviews