1995 Toyota 4Runner Limited V6 3.0 from North America


I am pleased with the durability of my 4Runner


My first head gasket blowout was in 2002, and cost me approx. $2300 to repair. I found out about the recall notice from Toyota, and that my '95 VIN # was not included in the recall. I ate the cost myself.

My second blowout occurred at the beginning of Oct 2007, and I have yet to have it repaired.

General Comments:

Overall, my 4Runner has been good to me, and has run fairly well with minimal repairs.

I have noticed a significant decrease in power over the last 4 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th October, 2007

1995 Toyota 4Runner Limited 3.0 EVZ from North America


Possible engine trouble, but a great SUV


Overheats in slow traffic.

General Comments:

Nice big truck; I have used it for bringing lots of stuff from home Depot, airport trips and such.

Lots of space, but you pay for it with the gas efficiency.

I bought the truck with high miles, so I can't complain too much, but I do

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2007

1995 Toyota 4Runner from North America


I bought my 1995 Toyota 4runner Limited new (in 1995); last year I had to have the transmission rebuilt.

Last year there was still a lag in power when I put my foot on the gas, and it wouldn't go over 40 sometimes.

This year (after 141,000) the head gasket began to leak; there is white smoke that billows from my exhaust pipe and there is no power. It also won't start if I put too much radiator fluid into the radiator.

I was hoping my car would qualify for the recall as there is obviously a fault in the head gasket. I called two different Toyota places and both said my car doesn't qualify. I am frustrated that at minimum it will cost $1,500. to repair the head gasket. There is the potential something else may be found wrong once the mechanic takes apart the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 4 cylinder from North America


My 4Runner just won't quit.


At 250,000 miles I had to have a couple of oil leaks fixed. The oil pan gasket and the manifold seal were both leaking.

I replaced the battery at 225,000 miles.

I have gone through two speedometer cables over the last ten years.

I have replaced the brakes once.

Otherwise, the only costs have been normal maintenance.

General Comments:

I love my 4runner. I have a 4 cylinder and I know that it is underpowered. I don't feel the need to beat anyone at an intersection when the light turns green.

It is the most dependable vehicle I have owned.

Unfortunately, this truck will never quit. In our family, we keep a vehicle until the costs of keeping it running exceed the costs of a new vehicle. Consequently, it will be the last vehicle I ever own.

I consistently get 22-25 mpg. I am conservative driver-no gratuitous acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2007

1st Aug 2009, 19:47

And people say these cars don't last. They're crazy.

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 from North America


Bad design on the head gasket


Head gasket, just like everyone else, and you really need to post this info.

V06 special service campaign: http://www.brian894x4.com/V6headgasketrecall.html

Call all of the dealers, and tell them you have a recalled head gasket, and your car is part of the V06 special service campaign, and they should take care of it.

Do it now. They can discontinue this at any time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 from North America


Was a good running truck up to this point


I have a 1995 Toyota 4Runner and the head gasket blew and motor seized at 138000 miles. Like all of you, no help from Toyota.

Quotes for new motor range from $ 5800.00 to $ 10,000.00. OUCH!

Is a new engine the only option?

Can I just replace the head-gasket, put new coolant in, and drain and replace all the oil? What happens if old coolant has gotten beneath the pistons - will it kill the crankshaft? Can I flush the motor of this?

Is it worth even trying to save?

Any comments are much appreciated.

General Comments:

For the most part, the truck has been pretty reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st June, 2007

1st Jun 2007, 22:12

$10000 for a new engine?! Holy crud dude, sell that heap and buy a new Chevy!

6th Jun 2007, 19:38

I'm in the same exact situation 95 4 runner the exact same thing is wrong with mine. Same mileage as well. Maybe we got the bad bunch of toyotas. It runs, but makes that awful noise. So we figure drive it until it goes out. I was thinking of buying another engine too. I've been looking for an engine too. I figure if I spend no more than 3000.00 then its worth not having a car payment for 3 years. Good luck!!!

20th Dec 2008, 19:48

If I were you I would sell this 4runner and look for one with 22re. You cannot kill a 22r, 22re; trust me, I been trying to kill my 22r for 6 years now.