1995 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 11 of 16

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 22R 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 22R 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired259000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Will never leave you stranded!

Faults:

My cylinder head gasket blew after owning this car for 1 week.

It was a relatively easy repair that cost under $200.

General Comments:

This 4Runner is a 4 cylinder model and is great on highway, not so terrific in the city. My previous vehicle was also a 4Runner, but a 3.0L V6-a truly magnificent engine that cannot be killed.

4Runners seriously need larger gas tanks, a 50L tank is a real pain for a vehicle of it's size.

My other 4Runner a 1990 has 363,000 on the engine and it runs like clockwork. It has had a few age associated problems, but I cannot complain. I bought it 10 years ago for $6500 and I am selling it now for $3000.

4Runners are difficult to kill, but I would highly recommend you choose the V6 engine with manual transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2004

1995 Toyota 4Runner V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance139800 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Faults:

Blown head gasket!

I heard about the recall on these engines when it came out and asked three differnt dealers if my vehicle was included. All of them assured me that the bad engines were built three months earlier and I didn't have anything to worry about!

Guess what?

At 139,000 miles the head gasket is gone. Water passage portion sucked/blown into the water passage and deposited in the radiator!

Gee, had an '87 4Runner, put 290,000 on it in 7 years and never had a problem.

Has anyone out there had any luck getting these "supposedly OK" engines covered by Toyota?

General Comments:

Fabric has worn prematurely!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

4th Feb 2004, 13:56

I was told the same thing that my 4 runner was beyond the recall and it cost me $1800.00 to have the head gasket replaced. The mileage when it blew the first time was just over 97K miles.

Well today it blew again at 160K miles. Toyota stamped the invoice with their Lifetime Service and Parts Guarantee. Well the truck goes in tomorrow so we'll see.

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A good vehicle for the money, just don't try to deal with a Toyota dealership

Faults:

Head gasket was replaced under the recall, but never actually failed.

A small oil leak has started from the driver's side of the engine. The dealer quoted a new rear main seal, not cheap.

Poor power from the 3.0.

Rear coil springs weaken after a short time causing the 4Runner "lazy butt".

Idler arm worn out at 80k.

Small electrical draw. Whenever there's a load (turn signal, head lights) the amp meter pulsates until the RPMS increase.

Annoying noise from the air intake cover. The flapper makes a vibrating noise with the RPMS from 1k to 2500.

General Comments:

Overall the 4Runner has done well. I've spent money doing the typical maintenance, but nothing major yet. The rear main seal will end up costing a few dollars, but I will probably do the work myself. I do not baby this vehicle either. I've got a 4x4 for a reason and I intend to use it, from the beaches of North Carolina to the mountains of West Virginia. I plan to go another 100k or more before even thinking about another vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1995 Toyota 4Runner sr5 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Another 1995 4 Runner gasket problem.

General Comments:

Well at 72000 miles. my faithful 4 Runner has a head gasket leaking. Was told there was no recall on it. So it will be going to the used car lot, so I don't have to deal with it. Will I buy another Toyota? Call me stupid, but YES!!! I also own a 1986 Toyota pickup and a 1995 Tacoma pickup with no problems. Plan to buy a new Tacoma or 4 Runner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Bought it for about $18,500 used. would I buy it again? Oh yeah

Faults:

Engine check light came on, but it was my fault. I pulled a connection loose that I shouldn't have and it threw the computer off. That cost me $45 bucks to reset.

Head gasket was covered under factory recall. This was an on going problem with Toys because of the temperature difference between the cast iron block and the aluminum heads. They finally solved it with about the seventh generation of gaskets.

General Comments:

Solid 4-wheeler, will climb trees if needed!

3.0 a bit underpowered, but can be improved with minor modifications.

For starters, lose the stock muffler and open up the exhaust from the converter back. I went with a dina max muffler and a 2.5 exhaust pipe to the rear.

Next put in a K&N air cleaner.

Gap the plugs about three thousands over stock and you will be amazed at the difference.

Keep it tuned, and don't forget the all important valve adjustment at the specified time. The "Hockey Puck" adjustment must be done by a trusted pro. I wouldn't recommend a dealer. I had mine done by a trusted friend who has been a pro mechanic for years. When he was done with it, the performance blew my mind. It runs like a pup with 106,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2003

14th Aug 2005, 05:10

Resetting (turning off) the check engine light is easy. There is a fuse under the hood that you just unplug and put back in- Or you can un hook the battery for about 30 seconds.

James.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 65 reviews