2007 Toyota Avanza VVTi 1.5 from South Africa


The engine design is too complex, it probably has an inherent design fault in it


My 2007 Avanza VVTi 1.5's motor suddenly blew up with all eight exhaust valves bent and burnt, three heads broken off and motor destroyed. The car had only done 87000 km at the time a week ago.

The Toyota dealer had a report done which stated that the probable cause was over-revving. I am a 67 year old man, rarely drive over 100 km/hr, and know I have not over-revved the engine. The vehicle had previously been in for service and other work to the same garage two months ago. I suspect there is an inherent flaw with this motor's VVT system, or the valve gaps were incorrect, or Toyota staff over-revved the engine, but am now faced with paying an R87000 bill to have the motor repaired.

I shall not ever buy a Toyota again. Has anyone experienced a similar problem?

General Comments:

It was fine up until the engine blew out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2016

2011 Toyota Avanza VVTI 1.3 petrol from Sri Lanka


Very good and it's my buddy... owned it since 2012


There was no DVD player; only a CD player was there... I had to replace it with a good DVD player.

General Comments:

One of the best cars ever I've used.

The space in between seats makes the ride more comfortable. Ideal for long rides, especially at a low cost and with the whole family, as 6-7 passengers can easily sit comfortably. After folding the back seats down, there is more room for carrying the luggage.

Very much affordable. The market in Sri Lanka for the Avanza is steadily improving. Usually when I park my vehicle in the town, at every month 2 or 3 people ask for any resales.

I've modified the car with door visors, DVD player, reverse camera, hood bar, seat covers, side mirrors, leather under carpets, a side mirror and a flag holder in the side of the bonnet, and blue glass sticker for the front lights. These have given it a very rich look, and at a distant view my car looks like a Prado. My neighbours even think so. This gives me even a rich feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2016

2014 Toyota Avanza G 1.5 petrol from Malaysia


It's better than the previous one in almost every way


There is a minor scratch on the door trim ever since the first time I received the car from the dealership. Other than that, I haven't got any problems yet.

General Comments:

I bought this car to replace my 6 year old Avanza. Compared to the previous generation, the new Avanza has a more spacious cabin (the most obvious one is the width). Even the additional width itself really affects the comfort of my arm. My child, who likes to spend his time sitting on the third row seat on certain occasions, told me how much more spacious the third row space is.

Even though I've already loved the previous Avanza, the new one is much better. The interior feels a lot more expensive and stylish than the previous one, with some interesting details and complicated 3 dimensional sculptures. The seats are somehow more comfortable (and wider I think). The arm rests in the previous Avanza are not bad, but the ones in this car are a lot more functional to actually rest your arms.

Another major difference is the driving experience. It's a lot more stable and controlled, which might have something to do with the increasing width. The ride quality is also better.

In terms of exterior styling, I personally think the new Avanza looks more modern and interesting, especially in metallic grey. I don't really like the design of the rear lights, which I find to be odd. Overall, I quite like the transformation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2015

2015 Toyota Avanza 1.5 from United Arab Emirates


Don't buy if you want a quick to repair car


Terrible car. Owned one for 8 months until it met with an small accident in Aug 2015. The front left side was damaged and went in by half a foot. The vehicle was declared a total loss by the insurance due to the very expensive repair cost and no parts availability in UAE. This is very bad - if a vehicle has no parts available, then why sell the vehicle?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 2015

27th Oct 2015, 07:46

Thinking of buying an Avanza here in Abu Dhabi because it is less expensive and spacious. Should I buy or not?

28th Oct 2015, 12:26

Don't buy if you want a quick to repair car.