1999 Toyota Avensis CDX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Seriously poor design

Faults:

Every light failed at least once.

The engine over revved itself on start up and had an irregular idle speed.

Going down the motorway a 70MPH in heavy rain the engine mysteriously cut out, but restarted on the hard shoulder 10 minutes later never occurred again, but was disconcerting.

The dashboard was little more than a joke, the "wood" wore away to reveal some nasty black plastic, it squeaked badly and is generally looking tired.

Alloy wheels corroded badly leaving bare metal on display despite being washed weekly, the paint on all sections of the car is of a generally low quality.

General Comments:

A really disappointing car this, I believed when I bought it that I was going to get something super reliable that would last forever, but instead I got a truely badly designed vehicle.

There was no headroom in the back, there were too many small buttons on the radio, the handbrake was in the wrong place - too far forward, the gearknob unscrewed itself as you went along, the magazine on the CD changer was really tricky to get out so I hardly used it and its positioning prevented me from getting to the spare wheel easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

21st Feb 2005, 10:05

If I gave a car 0/10 for comfort I wouldn't keep it for five years.

19th Nov 2009, 16:24

I do-buy quality after market discs, not the rotten OE ones sold by the main dealers that seem to be made of melted down toy soldiers.

1999 Toyota Avensis Terra Serie A 1.6 gas, from Iceland

Summary:

Avensis/Carina E= Reliability

Faults:

Nothing much really,

Drivers window didn't work one day = fix under warranty.

General Comments:

This car is quick thought it has only the 1,6 engine. It handles great on the Icelandic roads. It spends very little fuel.

The transmission is very soft, much softer then my previous car, Toyota Carina E. Very soft and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

1999 Toyota Avensis Linea Luna 1.6 from Portugal

Summary:

A Good Car

Faults:

The Clutch Disk have to be replaced at 60000km.

It seems that the Clutch Disk was made by a British company. Toyota has changed the disk to one that was made by Toyota and used in the Avensis with Face-lift.

General Comments:

The engine has a good performance, it's soft in city and very good in a sport driving.

The suspension is a little too soft, is good for comfort, but in a sport driving is not very good.

So with a good engine a and a soft suspension this car really likes the high-roads, one time I have reached at 220Km/h (was only one time), After he reaches the 140km/h he begin to spend much fuel, but if you don't pass the 140Km/h is a very economic car, I have made one time in a high-way 400km with 30L of fuel.

The exterior design is very good.

The interior design could be better, but is not bad, at least is ergonomic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

1999 Toyota Avensis Linea Sol 1.6 from Greece

Summary:

A satisfying family car

Faults:

The fuse of the radio was broken at 30000.

At 25000 the bumper had to be changed because of an accident.

At 35000 the right light was changed because of another accident.

General Comments:

This car is seriously reliable. Most of the kilometres it has done were in the city and a few on the motorway, and it's had no problems.

Its performance isn't the best in its class, but the model year 2000 is more beautiful. On the motorway it is very good. I have a family of five persons and we have nice journeys of 500 kilometres.

The brakes are very good, they have saved us from many accidents.

In overtaking it isn't brilliant, but it works.

In the traffic of the city it isn't very good because it is big and you cannot park and move on little roads easily.

Inside the quality and the assemblage of the materials is brilliant. The only thing that I don't like is the fake wood. It is very comfortable and the space for the passengers is satisfying.

The boot is very big.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

8th Mar 2003, 03:53

Typical Greek...:)

30th Apr 2003, 07:54

I have recently been driving an example of the outgoing model Avensis. Just to shut the doors and sit in it gives the impression of a very cheap car. The ride is poor and reaction to side winds is excessive; so is wind noise. Long journeys are very tiring, all other relevant factors ranging from very poor to barely adequate. I have driven other cars in the class and cannot imagine any experienced driver choosing this one if they take the trouble to test drive alternatives.

31st Jan 2004, 12:37

Three years ago I bought a Toyota Avensis diesel turbo estate... I would not say it is the worst car in the world... but it is far from the best... Although I have had no mechanical problems as of yet... the body quality of the car is beyond belief... be careful not to lean against the doors or they are likely to cause serious damage (I'm only 9 stone) the vibration is very frustrating while driving over 60 MPH... and in winter it is advisable to leave it at home... snow or ice and it just sits spinning. A good reliable car mechanically... but if your looking for something safe with a little comfort... give the Toyota Avensis a miss.