Toyota AYGO Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2007 Toyota AYGO 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nubira

Summary:

Probably the worst small car you can buy

Faults:

It got manufactured.

General Comments:

Avoid avoid avoid, trust me, it has the space of the SMART car, too freakin small, pick up speed is slow, scary if you pass the 70 km/h as wind will shake the car, and oh, if you have any luggage just rope them to the roof cause you ain't gonna get them through the back window!!

This is not the Toyota I know; the car is less than 1 year old and already for sale. I will never buy a small car like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2008

13th May 2008, 05:48

Did the car get smaller between the moment when you ordered it and its delivery? Does the engine have less power than when you tried the car?

What you mean is that you don't like the car - that doesn't make it crap.

9th Aug 2008, 03:02

A bit like buying a large car, you get it for a reason. I have a Yaris, but then I only ever drive it, and we have three children.

Like the other comment, I do not see your point also?

3rd Jan 2009, 16:39

This website is a very useful tool in researching a vehicle you may be considering, or reporting for others your experiences of one you own or know. Your review seems to be unfairly critical of the Aygo for being a small city car with a small engine!?

I drove my sisters Aygo (3 cylinder version) and have to say it was a fantastic little car. Sounded like a V6 with its 3 cylinders, and was nippy around town for a car with such a small engine. I agree with other comments above - why criticize the size of a good small car or its lack of power? - buy a bigger one, with a bigger engine!!!

23rd Dec 2010, 19:33

The whole point of the Aygo is to be a small, cheap, economical car. If you want a car with lots of room and a fast pickup speed, maybe you should have just bought a Corolla. You have clearly missed the point of the Aygo, it's a very unfair review.

2006 Toyota AYGO from France

Year of manufacture2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Adequate funky runabout

General Comments:

Had an AYGO as hire car for a week in South of France this October. Sounded like a 2CV on testosterone or a second world war fighter plane, which was fun; the landscape didn't pass by very quickly, but it seemed happy to bimble at 60 - 65mph.

Drove it through mountains, and along coast roads of Spain-France border. Very twisty roads, but we kept up with everything else, even though we only used second and third gear most of the time. No scary moments on the hairpins. Was a little bit skittish on a wet and windy day.

Boot was almost useless, couldn't get a small suitcase through the rear window hatch, so had to wrestle it into the back seat, so just as well there were only the two of us!

Biggest niggle was every time I tilted the drivers seat to pop shopping etc onto the back seat, the whole seat slid forward, so I had to reset the driving position every time. Good fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2007

2006 Toyota AYGO from Finland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Pontiac

Summary:

Cute econobox

Faults:

This was a rental that we drove around the country for 2 weeks straight.

No service issues were encountered during the trip.

General Comments:

The performance of this car is at par with a lawnmower, as is employs a 1.0 litre 3 cylinder engine. It is almost impossible to pass other vehicles even on a deserted highway. When you go up a hill, you must put the car in first gear or you will start rolling backwards.

Interior room is great in the front, and a little cramped up in the back. Cargo room is almost non-existant due to the minuscule size of the vehicle.

The rear seats do fold if you have no passengers, so there is plenty of room in that arrangement.

Fuel mileage is quite impressive, as we averaged approx. 600k with a full tank. The tank is only 35 litres!

Overall, I would recommend this car if you are thinking of buying one for basic transportation purposes only. It is a Toyota, so the reliability should be on par with the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2006

23rd Aug 2006, 17:44

I would have doubts about its reliabilty because the Peugeot 107 and the Citreon C1 are identical to the Aygo, so that means it's not really a Toyota, as Toyota has joined Citreon and Peugeot on this one, using a lot of their parts.

11th Sep 2006, 18:43

The Aygo is a Toyota design. As I understand it Citroen and Peugeot joined in the manufacture only. Check the Aygo factory web page for some interesting info on the Aygo. The diesel variation provides considerably more torque and incredible economy. The diesel is however a French engine.

5th Nov 2007, 15:42

All mechanical and most electrical parts in the C1 and 107 are Toyota, some body panels are different, that's it! The cars are all built on the same production line and Toyota build quality standards are applied. Finally, I drive a C1 and if you compare it to other one litre cars its surprisingly lively (you can put that down to Toyota VVTi).

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews