1998 Toyota Caldina GT-t 3sgte petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

It's awesome in every way

Faults:

Nothing at all *touch wood*. It's been a great car.

General Comments:

This car is really fast and handles really well. It has a Mines aftermarket ECU, and I have put a cold air intake on it, and have lowered it and put aftermarket 17 inch rims on it, a Blitz blow off valve, and tinted the windows.

It does 0-100 km/h in under 5 seconds, and that's on stock boost with a stock muffler. It's such a sleeper, and makes me smile every time I drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2010

4th Feb 2011, 03:28

This car stock doesn't do 0-100km in under 5 seconds; it does 7.1 seconds for manual stock and 7.5 for auto.

12th Apr 2012, 00:04

Has a Mines aftermarket ECU, and I have put a cold air intake on it.

25th Apr 2012, 00:29

You may have a faulty stopwatch there... The Mines ECU is good, and a cold air set-up gives a few horsepower, but you would be very lucky to get a 6 second 0-100kmph with this set-up, and never close to 5 seconds. Sorry, but you must be getting confused.

5th Jun 2012, 21:52

What type of cold air intake did/do you have on your car? Does it have piping etc? Please advise on what you have. Thanks.

10th Aug 2012, 08:44

These numbers are easily attainable with the set up mentioned. Even a stock ST215 manual will reach 100 in under 7 seconds... 191kw factory.

1993 Toyota Caldina CZ 2.0 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Very good if you do not require power

Faults:

No power, but is very reliable.

Just spent money on normal servicing, oil, filter, brake pads/shoes and tyres etc, no problems.

General Comments:

Only problem with this car is that it is very slow, but it makes up for that with reliability, comfort, space, and low running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2010

1998 Toyota Caldina 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Cheap reliable transport

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very economical - around 7.5 litres per 100 km is achievable with highway driving.

Usual Toyota reliability and low service costs.

Cabin interior is basic, but functional and durable.

1.8 litre 7A-FE engine is built for economy, not performance, but is adequate overall. Won't win any drag races however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2009

12th May 2012, 08:03

I agree. The 1.8L 7A-FE Caldina is my second car, owned from 150,000 Km, now at 220,000. It has had a hard life, but it still goes well and has only needed minor repairs. It’s cheap to run and nice looking. I love this car, highly recommended for a student.

1997 Toyota Caldina GT-t 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Sensible reliable performance car

Faults:

Nothing, not a thing.

I've barely even maintained it. It had a new cam-belt just before I bought it, was fully serviced 6 monthly in Japan (books were included).

Slightly uneven Tyre wear (was also noted in Japan).

General Comments:

Runs well, decent performance.

Nicely balanced turbo for a spirited road car.

VERY reliable.

Does unsealed rally quite well for a wagon, helped by 4wd.

Well designed seats and boot space.

A little more road noise than I would like (no rattles or squeaks, but tyre noise; might have been a bad choice of performance tyre).

The tiptronic design means it's hard to get a good performance standing start (no neutral).

Don't like the tiptronic controls on the steering, makes it hard to performance drive while throwing it around, would prefer nudging the column.

Would have liked to be able to turn traction control off.

Performance and fuel economy drop dramatically when running low octane fuel (91), so stick to AT LEAST 95. Avg 11Kms/Litre when driving normal, can get as low as 2 or 2 Kms/litre when kicking it around on the track.

Uses almost twice the fuel of the 2005 Astra.

I run it on 10% ethanol 98 octane (2 tanks out of 3). Not officially supported but no problems yet (1 year).

Lousy Turning circle.

Rear seat belts very short if you use baby seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2008

1st Feb 2011, 01:53

I agree. I bought my car 2009 175000km. Had full service at 190000km, never had a problem and it is the best car I have ever bought. It is now at 205000 and due a service.

Great car.

21st Mar 2011, 16:43

Hey, thanks for noting the short rear seatbelts if you have a baby seat - that's such a thoughtful observation, especially for someone like me looking into purchasing this kind of car, and having a young baby. You've pretty much covered everything, Thanks! :)