1993 Toyota Caldina CZ 2.0 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Very good if you do not require power

Faults:

No power, but is very reliable.

Just spent money on normal servicing, oil, filter, brake pads/shoes and tyres etc, no problems.

General Comments:

Only problem with this car is that it is very slow, but it makes up for that with reliability, comfort, space, and low running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2010

1998 Toyota Caldina 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Cheap reliable transport

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very economical - around 7.5 litres per 100 km is achievable with highway driving.

Usual Toyota reliability and low service costs.

Cabin interior is basic, but functional and durable.

1.8 litre 7A-FE engine is built for economy, not performance, but is adequate overall. Won't win any drag races however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2009

12th May 2012, 08:03

I agree. The 1.8L 7A-FE Caldina is my second car, owned from 150,000 Km, now at 220,000. It has had a hard life, but it still goes well and has only needed minor repairs. It’s cheap to run and nice looking. I love this car, highly recommended for a student.

1997 Toyota Caldina GT-t 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Sensible reliable performance car

Faults:

Nothing, not a thing.

I've barely even maintained it. It had a new cam-belt just before I bought it, was fully serviced 6 monthly in Japan (books were included).

Slightly uneven Tyre wear (was also noted in Japan).

General Comments:

Runs well, decent performance.

Nicely balanced turbo for a spirited road car.

VERY reliable.

Does unsealed rally quite well for a wagon, helped by 4wd.

Well designed seats and boot space.

A little more road noise than I would like (no rattles or squeaks, but tyre noise; might have been a bad choice of performance tyre).

The tiptronic design means it's hard to get a good performance standing start (no neutral).

Don't like the tiptronic controls on the steering, makes it hard to performance drive while throwing it around, would prefer nudging the column.

Would have liked to be able to turn traction control off.

Performance and fuel economy drop dramatically when running low octane fuel (91), so stick to AT LEAST 95. Avg 11Kms/Litre when driving normal, can get as low as 2 or 2 Kms/litre when kicking it around on the track.

Uses almost twice the fuel of the 2005 Astra.

I run it on 10% ethanol 98 octane (2 tanks out of 3). Not officially supported but no problems yet (1 year).

Lousy Turning circle.

Rear seat belts very short if you use baby seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2008

1st Feb 2011, 01:53

I agree. I bought my car 2009 175000km. Had full service at 190000km, never had a problem and it is the best car I have ever bought. It is now at 205000 and due a service.

Great car.

21st Mar 2011, 16:43

Hey, thanks for noting the short rear seatbelts if you have a baby seat - that's such a thoughtful observation, especially for someone like me looking into purchasing this kind of car, and having a young baby. You've pretty much covered everything, Thanks! :)

1998 Toyota Caldina G 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

I have been very happy with this car, less one or two faults as mentioned

Faults:

Blows a little blue smoke on cold start, but clears shortly after. Non-existent with warm start.

High stop light in spoiler had uneven LED brightness and failed WOF. To replace was going to cost $750 ex Japan. Had to make my own using an LED strip from an electronics shop and fix inside the cover.

Handle to open the boot was made of weak plastic and broke when the garage pulled too hard when locked. New handle ex Japan; once again expensive.

Because Caldina's are imported to New Zealand, parts are expensive if unique to this vehicle ie not generic across multiple Toyotas.

General Comments:

Good economy.

Good comfort.

Good performance.

Good mid-size wagon.

Good looks.

Good reliability.

Very practical car and great for families. Not as much room overall compared to Subaru though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2007

12th Apr 2008, 15:40

The reason for the smoke on start up is because of the engine being on a slight slant back. When you turn the vehicle off after running some oil sits on top of the head and seeps through the valve stem seals. A bit of useless info for you!

3rd May 2009, 04:26

Just with regard to the boot handles. They do come ex Japan, I've bought a few over the years. They come pre-painted in the color of the vehicle and are around $90NZ retail.

I don't think the price is too bad, but agree they are really weak.

1993 Toyota Caldina TZ 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Where's the air-conditioning

Faults:

My air-conditioning unit stopped working, took 1 year for the registered Toyota workshop to find the problem, there is a small hole in there and apparently unfixable and needed entire unit replaced (estimated price: $2,300NZD) I thought it was just a luxury so I didn't bother replacing it.

Then the engine needed a complete restore from Toyota workshop due to some technical gadget I can't understand, must be "workshop talk",

(still didn't get air-conditioning as was going to charge more than before!)

The car is going really well now, although it always started straight away as soon as you turn the key no problems (even on cold early mornings)!

General Comments:

These are great roomy cars with loads of storage even some underneath the seats!

Just watch the air-conditioning!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

1997 Toyota Caldina GTT 2.0 litre turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fantastic, but a little cramped

Faults:

It's an excellent car, but does feel a little cramped in the front.

General Comments:

It's an excellent car and has excellent performance.

The lock isn't that good.

It looks GREAT, comes with air conditioning, power steering, all electrics, climate control, and when you flick on the rear de-mister, the outside rear view mirrors heat up. How cool is that!!!???

It has 255 BHP as standard with a top mounted intercooler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2005

9th Mar 2014, 20:01

Thanks guys, learning heaps reading all your stuff above.

I also have a great story about my 98gtt, owned it 7 years, will tell it ASAP.

Urgent, I need help, now. PLEASE.

Can anyone tell me how strong the Tiptronic auto box is for towing, and if I am real careful, can I tow a medium size caravan?

Any other tips, good or bad, about the 98gtt auto box would be greatly appreciated.