1989 Toyota Camry DX from North America


Excellent! Best car ever


Repaired electrical wiring harness at 200,000 miles.

Replaced thermostat at 350,000 miles.

Replaced radiator at 345,000 miles.

Replaced alternator at 320,000 miles.

General Comments:

This was the best purchase I have made in my entire lift. This car has run reliably for the last 20 years with very few problems. I wish I had bought a pair of these cars instead of only one.

The car still gets over 36 mpg, even with almost 370,000 miles on it.

Sure, it won't win any awards for style or looks, but I drive almost 100 miles a day to and from work, and it still runs great, and has cost me very little for maintenance.

Unfortunately, I don't think they make cars like this anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2010

1st Oct 2010, 18:08

Well, TOYOTA certainly doesn't make them like this anymore. That's for sure!!

2nd Jun 2015, 02:31

You've got me beat -- I'm at 355,000 miles. Original clutch (2 teen drivers!), original 5 speed, original rear wheel bearings, and it really uses up the exhaust parts -- I'm costing Auto Zone some money on their lifetime warranty! Rear brake shoes didn't get replacements until after 300,000.

Still gets 34+ MPG with regularity.

Cruise control and A/C are history, but the automatic shoulder belts still work.

FM station indicator is burned out, but the cassette still works.

Factory cure for oil leak behind the distributor (both Honda and Toyo -- is distributor replacement). Nonsense, says I and found a jobber seal that works perfectly.

Never did new struts, but did put station wagon coils in the back, as I use a trailer hitch, sometimes.

The 5 speed gearing is perfect. If it bogs a bit on the highway with a trailer, I just leave it in fourth and run it up to about 2,800 -- no problem, at all. Pushing it up the grades, take it down to third and spin it at 3,000 -- this 2000 cc 4 could take either, all day.

1989 Toyota Camry DX 2.0 from North America


Not bad overall


Oil Leak

Struts gone

Intermittent start problem

A/C dead.

General Comments:

Car clunks when stopping. (Struts need replacing.)

Needed to add oil leak stopper (that worked so far.)

Gets me from here to there. Bought it after I sold my 1991 camy which got to 181,000.

Wish it had folding rear seats.

For $500.00 has been worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2007

1989 Toyota Camry Deluxe 4 cylinder from North America


The car maxes out credit cars at a higher rate than Nicole Ritchie


New Front End at 120,000 miles

New Struts and Mounts at 100,000 miles

The transmission and all mounts are nearly GONE!

All oil seals have vanished. It leaks like a sieve.

Defective window seals are falling out.

Radiator replaced twice.

Before electrical was rewired.. the car died randomly.. even at INTERSECTIONS

Most recent problem is terminal--valves and rods are failing.

General Comments:

This car has been a money pit. My father and I have put forth over $3000 in the past 4 years to keep this car running. The lie that Toyota feeds consumers about their cars being the best on the road is possibly the greatest marketing ploy since Triumph of The Will. If one wishes to buy, an excellent used car, take heed and purchase a Lumina. That truly was the greatest car I've driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

5th Feb 2007, 16:06

So it needed to be rewired? I bet you got some kind of East Saint Louis special or some North Murderapolis special purchase. Everything you complained about seems to have happened from lack of maintenance and bad driving.

6th Feb 2007, 08:13

An 89 ANYTHING with 150,000 miles is a worn out car. Try finding your beloved Lumina with the same age and mileage and tell me it's better. Half the cars built in '89 weren't designed to last as long as yours has so really toyota did do a good job.

1989 Toyota Camry from North America


Dependable family, work, school car


Battery 125,000 miles.

A/C recharged 128,000.

General Comments:

Very reliable, the only maintenance needed was relatively inexpensive. I've had this car for over a year and put 10,000 miles on it and the only thing that stopped it from getting me from point A to point B was the battery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2006