1989 Toyota Camry LE V6 Wagon 2.5 from North America


Great car, great brand, and the quality shows


Valve cover gaskets needed replacing, not a fun job.

Replaced rear struts and springs.

Has a slight rear main seal leak which should cost an arm and a leg.

Otherwise everything else work perfect.

General Comments:

This is the best used car I have ever bought. I bought it from the elderly original owner who took great care of the car. It was garaged which preserved it from the elements.

This car runs, drives, and handles absolutely perfect. It's hard to believe it is 16 years old. The age does not show whatsoever. I have driven newer cars that did not feel as "modern" as this one feels.

It has every option available in it, and they all work flawlessly.

I will hold on to this one for a long time to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2005

1989 Toyota Camry LE V6 from North America


A great first car


Tires blew out 4 times. Had to replace the radiator, all the belts, and numerous other parts after 6 months of driving it very rarely. Extreme rust problems!!

General Comments:

I wouldn't ever own another Camry. I had so many problems with the car.

I must say the seats are the most comfortable I've ever had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

17th Dec 2007, 12:55

Tire problems are not car problems. Radiator issues are more likely maintenance issues than car problems. It sounds like you bought a car 6 months ago without knowing what you were getting into. I bet you sold it to a more deserving person.

1989 Toyota Camry DLX 2.5L V6 from North America


Amazing piece of machinery


I haven't really had any problems with this car, except for the clutch. That was replaced at 150,000 miles, along with the water pump and timing belt.

I made a few custom adjustments and got the engine pushing out 265 horse power and plan on installing a turbo and aluminum intake manifold, that will give the car roughly around 400 horses.

General Comments:

This car will last forever and won't leave you stranded somewhere.

It has amazing acceleration and handles beautiful.

I recommend buying a toyota camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

30th Jul 2009, 10:31

There is no way this little 2.5 liter can put out this kind of horsepower with "just a few tweaks".

31st Jul 2009, 19:06

I agree. There's no way you can get a 2.5L to do that. I do agree that Camry's are excellent cars though. But you'll never get 400 HP out of one...

27th Aug 2015, 21:10

It's not uncommon to get a 5s running a turbo kit at 3-6 PSI to get 220-240 out of it. However that's not recommended. It is however very possible to get 400 out of one by swapping the head with that of a 3s based engine and building the block. Google 5SGTE and you'll find there are numerous MR2s running this setup (also shared the 5s engine with the Camry) that are pushing 800hp+.

Not trying to nitpick, just something I thought some might find interesting (owner of a 91 MR2).

1989 Toyota Camry GLi 2.0 estate from UK and Ireland


A reliable estate with great performance and comfort


Engine mountings - 129,000.

Heater matrix - 110,000.

General Comments:

Apart from the above, nothing else has really gone wrong. v.reliable. its quick for its age and can easily out perform modern 'diesel' estates. loads of room, comfortable, all electrics. it won't let you down and is great on petrol on long runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2003

1989 Toyota Camry LE 2.5 from North America


It is without a doubt the most value for the dollar spent one could get from any auto purchased


The previous owner had new calipers, lower ball joints, rotors, and an outer tie rod end replaced at about 110,000 miles. I just replaced the brakes which was a hassle free job.

A few months ago she blew a soft plug (freeze plug) on the engine block and all my coolant sprayed out overheating the car. The tow was the most expensive part of that as the fix was about 5 bucks plus the cost of new coolant.

I had to put a new exhaust system on it, converter back after it fell off one day.

During the beginning of this winter I had next to no heat so I changed the thermostat and back flushed the radiator and heater core. The thermostat turned out to be fine after all, but the heater core was severely corroded. I back flushed it at the hoses near the firewall and it works great now. It was a semi-tedious job because of the tight spaces. I think that the problem resulted from the antifreeze being too diluted before I owned it.

On the outside, there is some rust near the fenders and quarter panels. Also, I have a damaged floor on the passenger side that I think resulted from the car bottoming out sometime in the past accelerating corrosion. I currently have a torn CV boot that needs attention as well.

General Comments:

I love my car. The engine has a ton of power and runs smooth. The automatic transmission shifts just fine. All the toys on the inside work including the cruise. The sound system is kind of weak, but adequate. The handling is excellent even with worn tires. A very comfortable and fun ride. My two favorite features are the power button when you need (or want to show off) that extra kick, and my sunroof witch came standard as this is an LE model. It makes all the difference in the summertime. I will baby this car forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

19th Jun 2008, 00:47

I agree with your review except for one thing...

Not all Camry LEs have a moonroof, it was an optional feature. I had a 1989 LE V6 and it did not have one. Best car I ever owned, BTW.