2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2005 Toyota Camry LE 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good car in need of more attention to detail

Faults:

Some rattling from the rear window for the first 500 miles.

General Comments:

The Camry handles like a sports car. However as a result the ride is a little stiffer than I expected. But, when you drive in NYC, handling is by far more important. The 4 cyl. engine is peppy, but still a little underpowered for the size of the car. It's big and very roomy. It looks to be about the same size as my boss' Grand Marquis. The brakes vibrate a little in hard stops. And it's lacking finish on some minor details. The paint underneath the doors seems a little rough. And the paint on the bumpers chip very easily. I drive on average about 20,000 miles a year and was looking for mechanical reliability. Sure I could have bought a nicer looking American car, but is it going to run at 100,000 miles. My previous cars (of which all three where American) all seemed to fall apart at 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

6th Aug 2005, 20:37

Yes, an American car will run well past 100,000 miles as I have 130,000 on my 87 Buick V-6 3.8L Why would I buy a Camry for $27,000 when I can get a FULLY loaded Ford Taurus, made for the last 20 years, for 19,995 with this employee pricing in effect? I would rather have a Chevy Impala LS 3.8 for 20,000 as well!

Toyota's are good, but the value NOW is in certain US brand vehicles...Taurus,500,Buick Lacrosse, Ford Crown Victoria, Chevy Impala, Buick Park Avenue and Lesabre and Chrsyler 300M!

2005 Toyota Camry SE-V6 3.0v6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0v6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Good balance of economy and performance with good looks

Faults:

-None- To Date.

General Comments:

My car is the sport edition Camry. Its has the sport suspension, and handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2005

2005 Toyota Camry XLE V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Serious problems with engine

Faults:

I bought my Toyota Camry XLE v6 on 12/08/2004. On 01/24/2005 air fuel ratio sensor is failed (1500 miles on it) and my engine is making terrible sound. Air fuel sensor causes engine damage, environmental problems, mileage issues. Toyota have sensors failure problem since 2002. Nobody is there to rescue Consumers on this issue. Every time sensor fails it will cost you $500 dollars.

General Comments:

Please do not buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2005

22nd Jun 2005, 11:39

I was thinking of getting a Malibu, what do you think of that one. I was thinking about the Camry, but when I saw what you said, I changed my mind.

22nd Jun 2005, 20:58

I'll add another thing about Toyota and that is that the service is terrible. Everytime my Toyota needed service for warranty issues, it took a week lead time to make an appointment to get the car looked at. Then another week to install and get the part that was not in stock. I'd hate to think what would happen if this car broke down while I was out of town. 2 weeks to replace a sensor is ridiculous. The fact that a sensor took a week to obtain when it is used on a few different Toyota models with the same engine is worse than lame. That's service you'd expect from maybe a bicycle shop. My old Chevy was always fixed the same day with a new part. I thought I was buying a reliable car when I bought Toyota. Toyota quality is a scam if you ask me and what good is a car that is such a hassle to fix? All cars need work and I dread every time something goes wrong with my Toyota and that has been too many times to call this a quality vehicle.

10th Sep 2005, 00:42

One bad experience is not the end of the world. I don't see why anyone would have to pay a dime to fix a car under warranty - maybe you should consider finding another dealer to service your car. Go buy a budget Chevy and see how fast it depreciates before you can pay it off.

18th Oct 2006, 21:12

I'm glad people are waking up to the myth of Toyota's alleged "superior build quality". In 2003 my wife and I test drove a Highlander SUV with the V-6. It was the slowest SUV we test drove, handled terribly and lurched wildly to the left (into ONCOMING traffic!!) when the brakes were applied. In addition, the interior was of EXTREMELY poor quality. This morning I read that the Highlander has been recalled (again). This time it is because the accelerator might stick on the floor "possibly causing an accident" (NO KIDDING!!). I've thanked my lucky stars we opted to buy a safe and dependable American made SUV. It now is nearing 60,000 miles with absolutely ZERO mechanical problems. It hasn't even required a brake job yet. I won't even look at another over-priced import.

24th Jun 2007, 16:45

A Corolla the ugly duckling in a flock of uglies. Great fuel economy thanks to low curb weight and tiny frictionless tires. A excellent formula for an accident as those tires do not grip well.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 18 reviews