24th Jun 2007, 16:12

I agree with the people the comment on Toyota's sweatshop. I used to work in one. The money for the area was not bad; got plenty of overtime yet in the end my complaint was with the crappy mottoman robots. They paused so often I could not finish my job efficiently. When you restart a robot once every sixteen parts, and in a day you run 400+ parts, it gets aggravating, since I was trying to be a good and reliable employee.

The quality checks are more so a myth as I remember they would torque check the nuts welded to the body components using a beam type torque wrench; however they never calibrated the wrenches because we had one that would read past zero with no force applied. They even had one wrench without a handle. As any mechanic would know, if one lengthens or shortens the lever via attachments such as crows feet (an open ended wrench made to fit on a ratchet or torque wrench), one has to recalculate the torque that the wrench will display as the wrench will not read accurately. So these test are merely done for the act not for their integrity.

I just think that when someone pays 23,000 for a 2.4, it had better be top notch.

I do spew a lot of sour grapes about this, but I cannot see them making any progress with such a slackened position on quality. I resented them for their willingness to blame the guy on the floor for quality, while not fixing defective machines.

25th Jun 2007, 18:03

The factory rep has just advised me, after an inspection, that my 07 Camry LE V4 5AT is operating within factory specs. I've put up with this car for a year and I can assure everybody that there is a serious hesitation problem with this car. Based upon other car websites, quite a few owners have the same problem. If anybody lives in Broward County in Florida, I'll be glad to meet at the pub (I'm buying) and you can drive my car. When you hit the gas, the hesitation will make you **** in your pants. It's off to arbitration and since I already know what that outcome will be...it's the Lemon Law after that. The 07 Camry LE V4 5AT does not belong on the road.

2nd Jul 2007, 13:15

Hello. I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry on May 20th and immediately notice major issues with the transmission. I do realize it is not affecting every Camry, but it is rather widespread. I envy the Original Poster for his/her wonderful vehicle. They are truly lucky to have purchased a vehicle without the transmission "glitches". I wish I would have been as lucky. Other than the transmission issues, I love my Camry. I am hoping for a fix from the Toyota Corp or another acceptable compromise by the dealer. I do not feel safe in this vehicle and after trading a 99 Nissan Quest which had 235,000 miles and was still going strong in on this lemon, I am very disappointed. I have not made my first payment yet and am sure I will end this relationship with the "lemon Law".

30th Jul 2007, 14:48

Toyota has always had a hesitation problem with their engines. My dad's 1999 carolla does the same thing. Also, particular to Toyota, the engine sometimes jumps and jolts the car forward. My friend had bought a new RX 330, he was parking it, he described the engine sort of "snorting and jumping" which in turn jolted the car forward into the wall.

30th Jul 2007, 14:54

Toyota tried to break out of its shell with this Camry, they tried to loose that bland look they're so well known for. I think they have done it with the Camry, but there is one problem. My dad has an 07' Camry SE, I have an 07' Sonata GLE, I get more people looking at my pearl white Sonata than when I drive my dad's candy apple red Camry. Toyota can put a big aluminum cowboy hat on the roof of the Camry or any other car, but once people see it's a Toyota, they say SEEEEN.

22nd Sep 2007, 10:16

The Canadian Dollar is now on par with the U.S. dollar. Why then, regardless of were your allegiances lie, are the prices of identical cars nearly thirty percent more in Canada than the U.S.

Here are a few examples.

A new 2008 Ford Taurus Limited AWD assembled in Canada retails for more than $11,000 cdn more in Canada than the U.S.

A new 2008 Acura MDX assembled in Canada retails for more than $12,000 cdn more in Canada than the U.S.

A new 2008 Ford Freestyle assembled in Canada retails for more than $5,000 more in Canada than the U.S.

It doesn't matter who, every automotive manufacturer, Toyota, GM, Ford, Honda etc are ripping Canadians off. I know we should be concerned about supporting Canadian business and all that, but we are getting screwed big time. I for one intend to investigate the possibility of buying a new vehicle in the U.S.

Hey, when it's all said and done, all cars turn into junk sooner or later. What really matters is how much you paid for your future pile of junk.

22nd Oct 2007, 14:26


In your case, it appears that the Polish government is primarily to blame, while here in Canada, it's greed, corporate greed, plan and simple. Auto manufacturers in Canada are price gouging and it's time we (Canadians) demand fair pricing! There are no Canadian import duties, other than a hundred dollar excise tax, for cars manufactured in Mexico or the U.S. thanks to NAFTA so why the huge price differences? Our dollar is worth $1.03 U.S. today.

Personally, I buy what ever vehicle I like because, I'm the one who's paying for it. I don't get caught up in all the rhetoric about Japanese quality or any other myths people like to yap about but I do care about being ripped off.

There's a lot of talk about domestic brand loyalty here in Canada, hometown jobs etc, but these same manufacturers are the ones, along with Toyota and Honda, who are gouging us. I have no brand or model preference, but, unless these manufacturers curtail their gouging, I'll buy my next vehicle in the U.S. and I don't care who makes it as long as it's competitively priced.

For those of you who live in the U.S. go ahead and yap about who's car is better etc but for us Canadians, it's time to rally round the flag and demand fair pricing.

29th Oct 2007, 18:56

Listen up Canadians, I just discovered that Toyota U.S. has instructed their dealers not to sell cars to Canadians. Well, all you Toyota lovers, don't you think that stinks of discrimination. You still want to buy cars from a manufacturer that discriminates? Toyota shame on you!

13th Nov 2007, 17:29

270 hp! WOW!. On the stand and awaiting SAE real rating! Sad to say that my Chrysler v8 has only 235 HP and 295 pound foot of torque. The difference is the output at low rpm. I don't believe in the 6's time.

16th Nov 2007, 11:08

14:54 Hyundai is not exactly known for it's good looks either. I know I would never give a Sonata a second look. However, if the pearl white is anything like GM's Diamond White, that is a very attractive color.

10th Jan 2008, 17:01

Actually, the latest style of the Hyundai Sonata is a VERY good-looking car. It is far more attractive than the old or new Camry, and in 2006 Car and Driver ranked it AHEAD of Camry in a 4-car comparison of the Sonata, Camry, Fusion and Accord. The Camry placed last. The Accord was first with the Fusion just barely behind it. My only gripe with the Sonata is that it is not offered in any really sporty colors (white, incidentally, is NOT a color, nor is black or gray).

10th Jan 2008, 17:19

I wanted to see just how "powerful" that new "270" horsepower (before being adjusted for inflation) Camry engine really was. The automatic I drove WAS fast, however it was no faster than a comparable V-6 Fusion, and nowhere near as fast as my V-6 Mustang, which is only rated at 210 horsepower.

Toyota does deserve credit for putting an engine in the Camry that is not an embarrassment, as the old V-6's were. Now if they can just figure out how to get it to keep running and design a transmission that actually works, I might be willing to take them more seriously.

11th Jan 2008, 12:14

17:19 The Camry is faster than the Fusion. Try citing fact other than opinion next time. And a Ford guy, of all people, criticizing ANY Toyota for how it runs, and citing transmission problems, is so ironic that it's funny.

12th Jan 2008, 15:20

Compare the Camry reviews with the Fusion reviews.

21st Nov 2008, 08:23

All I know is that I was about 27 when I started reading this review, and I'm about ready to retire now.

Thorough to say the least!