1983 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1983 Toyota Celica GT-S 22-RE from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 22-RE Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

I couldn't have asked for a better first car!

Faults:

Driver-side window motor was destroyed when I bought it.

The hood bar was broken when I bought it.

The cruise control was broken at 100,000 miles.

Catalytic Converter blew at 114,000 miles.

The oil pan gasket blew at 94,000 miles.

The driver-side window was off track when I bought it.

The driver-side window motor was broken when I bought it.

The head gasket was blown at 114,000,miles.

General Comments:

This car is very tough. She went about 20 miles on one spark plug!

However, it blew the catalytic converter. (You should have seen the fireballs shooting out on the highway.)

She needs a lot of work, but it is well worth the price!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1983 Toyota Celica GT 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired260000 kilometres
Most recent distance268000 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Why don't they make cars like this anymore?

Faults:

Major rust inside both rear wheel wells and rust on the rear hatch that is noticeable.

General Comments:

I love this car.

These Toyota's seem like they last forever. I am currently running at 270000kms and its still smooth sailing. hopefully it will still be running in the 400000. like so many other toyotas.

The rear wheel drive is perfect for launching and drifting alike.

The car handles better than any car I have driven except for the MR2 I used to own. I can 90` corners at 50kms if I want to.

These older cars respond very well to performance mods. I know cause I'm a weekend racer.

Overall I wish they still made cars like this now days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

3rd Apr 2004, 10:30

They do... Nissan 350Z. Just costs a bit more! I had a GT-S Coupe. It was an excellent automobile.

1983 Toyota Celica GT 2.4 22re from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 22re Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired216000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carDodge Dynasty

Summary:

There is no going back

Faults:

Completely new suspension, but at 200000 plus not exactly a shocker and speedometer cable.

General Comments:

I am just starting to spoil her and am having a blast, it is the most comfortable car I've owned and with the way it handles who cares about no power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

30th May 2004, 11:59

Is yours the original engine and everything?

1983 Toyota Celica GT-S 2.2 RE from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 RE Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

LOTS of fun at a low price!

Faults:

Worn steering rod ends - got new ones.

Battery died - got new one.

Driver seat badly worn - needs replaced.

General Comments:

This car is very responsive and corners great!

I LOVE the way it looks, beautiful black.

I had some decals put on it, and it really gives it a racing look.

Mods I'd like to do...

Open air intake mod

Doug Thorley headers

New exhaust system (for more HP and better sound).

Wider tires.

Have wheels professionally polished, powder coated, clear coated.

Get it tuned up soon

Thinking about more engine mods to make her really fly

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1983 Toyota Celica GT-S 2.4 22-REC from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.4 22-REC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles

Summary:

Highly reliable, fun to drive, the Original rice burner

Faults:

So far nothing major.

I rebuilt the motor at 198K miles which is when I got the car from my parents, other than that minor things.

The rust on the hatch (which is typical for every single one of these cars made) has been taken care of fairly well.

General Comments:

The car isn't fast like a V8 muscle car, but it has a lot of spunk in curves.

The interior is great, the GTS seats are the most comfortable I've sat in, and the power locks, windows, mirrors, and sunroof all work perfectly.

If you are out to beat rice boys with rice, this car IS the original rice, and easily beats riced civics, eclipses, integras, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

15th Aug 2004, 00:05

Out of the box, it won't beat them. However, I know from experience that the R series engines, especially the 22-R, can handle absolutely anything you can afford to throw at them. The chassis responds equally well.

My entire family is in the process of building a 1985 Celica GT with that purpose in mind: beating the new rice with the original.

25th Jan 2006, 19:10

I've noticed a few recurring themes that pop up in the 3rd gen

(82-85) Celica reviews... tough as nails, extremely fun to drive, and extreamly comfortable seats (headrests are awsome too :P).

What's up with that anyway?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 18 reviews