1983 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1983 Toyota Celica GT Coupe 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 miles
Most recent distance256000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Sporty, reliable, a blast to drive

Faults:

I've owned the car for more than 9 years, so many things have been replaced.

Headliner.

Driver's seat recovered.

Power steering system.

Rack and pinion twice.

Radiator.

A/C twice.

Painted car twice.

Those are all the major things I can think of, I'm sure there are lots of smaller things I've fixed or replaced.

General Comments:

I love this car. I used to drive it crazy, but no matter what I do, I can't seem to destroy this engine.

The car isn't what I would call fast, but it is very quick for a 4 cylinder. There's still plenty of pep left in an engine with over a quarter million miles on it, and the car corners like a dream. It's very fun to drive.

What amazes me is that most of the major components of this car are original, the engine and suspension system have never been touched.

I recently spent a few thousand on it. I had the A/C repaired with all new parts, I had some body work done and also had it repainted, the car looks brand new. I get lots of comments and questions on it when I'm out and about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

1983 Toyota Celica GT 22 RE from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 22 RE Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The perfect example of quality!

Faults:

Alternator replaced twice due to heavy stereo draw.

Clutch plate etc. at 90k.

Clutch master cylinder at 162k.

Seat belts (warranty!) at 175k.

Clutch slave cylinder at 180k.

Needs timing chain soon.

General Comments:

This is the most dependable car I have ever owned. I still drive it to work every day. It has been run into 4 times on all 4 sides, but was repaired every time,and it is still fantastic. I have had this car so long, I probably could never sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2002

1983 Toyota Celica GT 2.4L 22RE from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L 22RE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Do they make anything better?

Faults:

Exhaust system rusted out.

Alternator and alternator belt.

2 clutches, 5 sets of tires.

New headlights and tail lights replaced.

Front brakes have a coolant leak that I can't figure out.

Rusted out completely, but I have replaced both doors, the hood, the hatch, and plan on replacing the rear quarter panels and rocker panels.

General Comments:

I love this car. I have maybe spent $700 on it total, which is a great deal for a car that is this sporty, even with 150,000 miles on it. It still surprises a lot of V-8 cars out there.

I don't think I will ever get rid of this car. If you own one, you know what I'm talking about. If you don't own one, you're missing out, and I suggest you get one before they are all owned by people like me who won't sell them. I have to admit I own two of them, and use one for parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

22nd Oct 2004, 08:21

Hey man I love my car to its just has given me a lot of problems lately, but like you said these cars are rust buckets, but I think their the coolest cars ever and I won't get rid of mine ever, and I'm only sixteen so I plan on keeping this car awhile.

1983 Toyota Celica GT 22RE from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 22RE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired290000 kilometres
Most recent distance291000 kilometres

Summary:

Oh baby

Faults:

Since I owned this car, nothing has gone wrong, other than the battery going dead, from leaving the lights on.

General Comments:

Great car, fast reliable and cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002

1983 Toyota Celica GT 2.4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

It's faster then I can fart!

Faults:

Rear differential exploded.

A couple of radiator hose cracking.

Replaced water pump and thermostat.

General rusting.

Ripping in the headliner, but the car is old so no kidding.

General Comments:

For the money I paid this car it is great.

Surprisingly fast, can blow the doors off my buds supra.

With a performance muffler, wing, fog lights, decals, and other pimped effects, this car looks pretty damn sweet and sounds killer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1983 Toyota Celica GT turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired187500 kilometres
Most recent distance187600 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Good car for the price I paid

Faults:

Battery has gone dead, clutch is going, lots of rust, fronts window leaks into car, ignition is going. driver side door will not unlock from the outside.

Nice interior, no rips of cuts on seats. Comfortable, good car for $200.

If there was a new battery it would run fine, and reliable. No power steering.

General Comments:

Toyota's rust easily, good reliable car, nice look. Good torque when running. nice hum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

15th Nov 2002, 01:16

I bought a 83 Celica GTS about 6 months ago, for 300 dollars.

The things wrong with the car were driver's side door handle on the outside was missing, the passenger side window would not roll down, some dents and rust on the exterior, and someone had hit a curb on the passenger side.

All that I have done to the car is replace the back passenger control arm, because it was bent real bad. That set me back a big 40 dollars.

I got the passenger side window to roll down, but now it is stuck (electric windows).

To be honest, I've driven the car hard, and put it away wet. With 198,000 miles and change, it's the best 350 dollars I've spent on a car.

I love it. Everyone should own one at least once in their lifetime.

If there was no 83 Celica or the 22re motor, there would be no Lexus and no Supra Turbos. Toyota Celicas should get some sort of award. Heck, every "old school" Toyota should.

1983 Toyota Celica GT-S 22REC 2.4 L EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 22REC 2.4 L EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 miles
Most recent distance241000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

The greatest 80's car you can buy

Faults:

The fuel pump quit at around 205,000 miles and right after that I had to put a new radiator in it (at around 212,000 miles). Apart from that it has been flawless.

General Comments:

This car fits me perfectly and is cheap to maintain, not to mention getting around 28 mpg consistently. It is still running around on the original motor and transmission, and I expect them both to go quite a ways yet. It is totally reliable and I would not consider trading it for one of the front-wheel-drivers. The Saturn I had before broke down with less than 50K on the clock and left me stranded in the rain. This car has never stranded me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 18 reviews