1993 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Toyota Celica GT 2.2 DOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Excellent fun to drive, affordable, economical sports coupe

Faults:

Power steering pump leaked upon purchase.

Minor oil leak in unknown location.

General Comments:

Car is a real pleasure to drive, and to look at. Has stiff suspension for a sporty feeling, but can be uncomfortable on poorly maintained roads if that kind of thing bothers you. Snow and rain handling are excellent. Dry pavement handling is superior to most other cars. Engine gets you moving quick, but this car is not the fastest thing in the world.

If you are looking for a sporty car with low maintenance and good fuel economy this car is a solid bet. Mine was recently destroyed in an accident, but it was a real pleasure while I had it.

A warning about insurance though, they tend to be pretty expensive to insure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

13th Oct 2006, 19:44

Bad luck! It was wrecked 2000 miles after you bought it?

1993 Toyota Celica GT Sport Coupe 2.2 5FSE from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 5FSE Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Another great toy from Toyota!

Faults:

My car hasn't had one problem since I bought it.

General Comments:

This is a very fast 4 cylinder which gives many Ford 302 and Chevy 350 a good view of it's tail lights.

The only improvement Toyota could have made on this car would be a stock turbo. This car is naturally aspirated and will bury the speedometer at 120mph around 5600 rpm in 4th gear with minor modification.

The Celica handles like a dream, I have no fear running double or triple the recommended speed through any corners.

I have also owned a 89 Celica GT which had a 2.0 and was a very excellent car, but the 93 has a much stronger motor and pulls twice as hard out of the hole.

I love my Celica and the only thing I would trade it for would be a Toyota Supra TT, Mitsubishi 3000GT VR4, or a 98 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

3rd Aug 2004, 20:00

A 93 Celica GT may walk away from a 1.8 Civic, but there isn't a V8 Mustang made that wouldn't easily run away from it. 130-some horsepower and a weight north of 2500 lbs. means it would be lucky to run a 1/4 mile under 16-17 seconds, and the trap speed will be less than 80 mph. For reference, a stock 96+ Mustang GTs trap over 95 mph, approaching 14 seconds flat or faster. In fact, pretty much all Mustang GTs since 1982 should be able to run a 1/4 mile time in less than 15 seconds. A Celica is slow, barely faster than the mid-level Civic.

15th Jan 2006, 18:22

I own a Celica GT 2.0 16v and believe me with the right mods there is not a lot that will catch it for the same money.

And I know I have always had sports cars i.e --- MR2s, GTis, XRs and Scoobys.

Pound for pound it's fast, you just need to tweak it right. I am a mechanic so I know what I'm doing. It's a great car, bring on any Mustangs, or come to that any American so called muscle car. The Japanese rule the speed scene.

1993 Toyota Celica ST 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

A sweet, sexy, sporty coupe with passenger features

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Aside from recharging the A/C just recently, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

It's got adequate power for me, a 20 year old college student.

Trunk size is nice.

Enough room for front passengers with no rear passengers. Gets kind of cramped with people in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

2nd Nov 2001, 09:05

It is not sweet and sexy!!!

1993 Toyota Celica GT4 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 kilometres
Most recent distance104000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort RS2000

Summary:

A reliable performance car!!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

First class machine, no problems to date. A bit thirsty, but it is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2000

1993 Toyota Celica GTi 2.0 from Israel

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Leaks from power steering pump.

Broken shock absorver.

General Comments:

Generaly a very reliable car, great looking, good handling, good brakes, quite comfortable and sporty. However the performance is a bit disappointing for a GTi, the interior is dull & fuel consumption is high (6 km per liter).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2000

1st Jul 2001, 01:57

Fuel consumption on my Celica GTI is more then 9 km per liter (70 % highway roads).

18th Jul 2013, 02:54

My '92 2.0 delivers 8.5 l/100km highway and 12 l/100km city driving (depends on the city, I know). I keep the needle between 2k and 3.5k on the rev meter, though. It only becomes really thirsty if you hit that ACIS sweep-spot at 4800 RPM and above. Fuel-consumption is very dependent on driving style.

1993 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 petrol injected from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol injected
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Leaking sunroof (never fixed).

Warped brake discs.

Wheel bearings.

Gear change has always been a bit clunky.

General Comments:

Bought it when 3 years old and put a lot of mileage on it since. Very reliable and lots of fun when you let it go.

Lack of torque under about 4k revs (but it red lines at over 7K !). Big gap between 2nd & 3rd gears.

Dealers have always been good (apart from sunroof problem above), even re-grinding the warped brakes FOC when out of warranty!

More comfortable than I expected from a sporty coupe. Not enough headroom for a 6" 2' driver (yes, it has a sunroof).

Back seats are usable and boot is HUGE (for a coupe)!

Love it to bits!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 1998

9th Feb 2001, 11:05

I own a 93 Toyota Celica. I have had the car for almost 2 years and the only things that have gone wrong are worn out tires because I drive it so much.

It has a lot of room inside, which you wouldn't expect from looking at it. I'm 6'4" and I am very comfortable in my car.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews