1975 Toyota Corolla from North America

Summary:

Bad - don't wash the car, it will last longer

Faults:

Engine had an appetite for oil; around 300 miles per quart.

And then the worst rust rust rust all over the car. Body panel, sub-frame; everything was rusted except the radio.

General Comments:

Stay away from this car unless your name is Rusty.

Average handling.

Average comfort.

Not stellar but good fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th April, 2008

1975 Toyota Corolla SE 1.3L 4K-C from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great little powerhouse

Faults:

In the 12 months I have had the car I had to replace the flange gasket on the exhaust,

I also had to replace the brake booster, but that's about it.

Clutch and Gearbox are perfect.

General Comments:

It's a great first car as they are good on fuel, but rust does eventually get the better of them.

They don't go too bad as the will rev out and push the little car along.

You still see heaps of other mint ones out there today so it just goes to show how reliable Toyota's are.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

1975 Toyota Corolla SE 1.3 petrol 4K from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A very reliable bus

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong with this car in the 4 months I have had it.

I have changed the oil, oil filter and spark plugs.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and get's me where I want to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

22nd Jul 2004, 05:50

Don't crash it, they fold up quite nicely.

1975 Toyota Corolla 1.6 Fuel Injected from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

You can't beat a Toyota

Faults:

Nothing at all, seeing I only drove the car to a garage where I would be working on it for 3 months.

However in those 20 Kilometers to the garage I noticed the exhaust wasn't all that flash.

General Comments:

My Dad and his friend are old racers and know a lot about cars, so they helped me out considering I'm only 16.

First of all we got the new exhaust for around $400, then started with the electrics. we got rid of the tachometer (waste of space) and fiddled around with the dash a bit.

We got a lot of our goods from the wreckers and scraps, for instance we got headlights from new corollas and the rubber bumper I found on another corolla. I wanted the rubber bumper because the sharp scrap metal on there before wasn't good.

We then got new shockers and suspension and lowered it.

Then onto tires. I picked out a set of alloys (6 1/2") and we got the tires for a good $800.

We were finished in 3months and now onto the really fun part.

It really hits the spot and I enjoy maxing it a lot.

I can't exactly tell what the RPM would be, but I suspect the 1.6 would pull around 7500RPM.

Most of the guys getting 1st, 2nd cars now usually go for old Commodores, but true cars guys know. You can't beat a Toyota.

Handles good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

11th May 2004, 11:45

I completely agree. You can never beat a TOYOTA. I, myself own a KE20 corolla built in 1975 and I am pretty satisfied of this car. Under the hood is an 3K engine of 1200cc and I intend to put an 4K engine of 1600cc.

3rd Jun 2004, 11:13

I agree on the Part about never beating a TOYOTA. But I do have to say that you spent way too much money on yours. I have a '75 Corolla SR5, I got it free. I spent $400 on the title and legality fix. Then I spent $400 more and shoved a Chevy 350ci motor into the tiny body. I used a 5 speed and a narrowed 9 inch ford rear. All together I spent $1600 and I run high 8 seconds. That is the way to go. Also I race a 81' Corolla on a dirt oval track with a 1.8 motor. Its fast too.

22nd Jul 2004, 05:48

Reliable compared to most other makes, but they are ugly and a death trap.

17th Jan 2005, 20:58

Yep no beating a corolla for reliability.

I have a 1976 ke 30 that has only just turned 200000 k's.

Except for the odd bit of trouble with a dodgy battery, it's been a blast.

Not a very fast one (two speed auto), but a good time had by all.

26th Jan 2009, 06:33

I'm picking up a little 75 Corolla Wagon for 900.00. Runs great and comes with a parts car (already torn down) Cute little retro bomb. Bright yellow (enamel!) It'll keep the rust away til I get it straightened out. I'm looking for someone who would like to buy parts from me. Excited to get my first Toyota as a spare car and future car for my daughter.